
Surety Bond Requirements for Wholesalers and Nonresident Wholesalers 
Questions and Answers 

 
Q. What documentation does our company need to provide to verify that our annual 

sales are less than $10,000,000? 
 
A. Please submit a copy of the companies tax return for the previous year. 
 
Q. Our company is a manufacturer licensed by the FDA and appears to be exempt from 

the bonding requirement.  Is that correct? 
 
A. A licensed manufacturer who only distributes drugs of its own manufacture, all of 

which have an approved new drug manufacturing application on file with the FDA, 
are exempt from the surety bond requirement.  (See Business and Professions Code 
sections 4162 and 4162.5) 

 
Q. How do we communicate with the board that our business is exempt from the 

bonding requirement? 
 
A. To document this exemption, please provide the board with a list of manufactured 

drugs, including the respective NDC number along with a statement certifying that 
the business only distributes its own products. 

 
Q. We are a licensed wholesaler that only distributes products to pharmacies with the 

same ownership.  Are we required to comply with the surety bond requirement? 
 
A Yes.   
 
Q. We have a surety bond on file with the State of Florida.  Will this bond satisfy 

California’s requirement? 
 
A. No.  A surety bond must be on file with the California State Board of Pharmacy. 
 
Q. We have checked the board’s Web site, but are unable to locate the forms.  Where 

are they? 
 
A. The $100,000 surety bond form, standby letter of credit form and cash deposit form 

are now available on the board’s Web site, under Licensee Information.  Select Site 
Permits and Licenses. 

 



Q. What sections of California law require wholesalers to obtain a surety bond of other 
equivalent form of security? 

 
A. See California Business and Professions Code section 4162 for wholesalers and 

section 4162.5 for nonresident wholesalers. 
 
Q. I do not want to provide the board with evidence that our company’s annual sales 

are less than $10,000,000 to qualify for the $25,000 bond.  Will the board accept a 
$25,000 bond without documentation of annual sales volume? 

 
A. No.  The bonding requirement is $100,000 unless the wholesaler provides the board 

with proof of its annual sales volume that it qualifies for the $25,000 bond. 
 
Q. We have four licensed wholesaler sites?  Do we need to obtain a bond for each 

location? 
 
A. No.  The owner of the sites need to post a single $100,000 bond for all sites that are 

commonly owned. 
 
Q. Do I need to provide evidence of the surety bond by January 1, 2006? 
 
A. The bonding requirement is required to obtain an initial license or to renew a 

license, so a company needs to provide evidence of the bond when it applies for or 
renews it license, or the first of any of its wholesale licenses expire throughout the 
year.  For companies with licenses that expire in January, February or March 2006, 
the board will accept proof that the company is obtaining a bond.  By April 1, 2006, 
the board will not renew a wholesale license without a bond. 

 
Q. We are a new company applying for a wholesaler license and as such do not have 

documented proof of annual gross receipts?  Are we able to secure a $25,000 surety 
bond? 

 
A. No.  New businesses must obtain a $100,000 bond.  However, should the business 

in the future demonstrate annual gross receipts of $10 million or less, a new surety 
bond of $25,000 may be obtained in lieu of the higher amount. 

 
Q. Our company owns several subsidiary companies reflected as the owners of 

wholesalers.  Are each of the subsidiary companies required to obtain their own 
respective bonds? 

 
A. No, a single bond is required.  Please provide the board with a copy of an 

organization chart documenting the ultimate owner of the subsidiary companies 
verifying the common ownership. 


