### Graduates of Foreign Pharmacy Schools

Graduates of foreign pharmacy schools applying for an intern pharmacist license or pharmacist license must be certified by the Foreign Pharmacy Graduate Equivalency Committee (FPGEC). The board will no longer require the submission of a foreign graduate application and will no longer require the submission of transcripts. For more information on the FPGEC, please contact the National Association of Boards of Pharmacy (NABP) directly at <a href="http://www.nabp.pharmacy/">http://www.nabp.pharmacy/</a>.

California law requires foreign graduates to be FPGEC certified. As the NABP/FPGEC administers the FPGEC certification program, any questions should be directed to them. If they direct you back to the board, there is no other information that can be provided. California law does not provide for waivers or exemptions. If you are unable to obtain the FPGEC certification, a possible option might be to pursue a nontraditional PharmD program in the US at an Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education (ACPE) accredited college of pharmacy or school of pharmacy recognized by the board ACPE's directory of schools can be found at <a href="https://www.acpe-accredit.org/pharmd-program-accreditation/">https://www.acpe-accredit.org/pharmd-program-accreditation/</a>.

**Disclosure of your U.S. social security number or Individual Taxpayer Identification Number (ITIN) is mandatory.** Section 30 of the Business and Professions Code (BPC), section 17520 of the Family Code, and Public Law 94-455 (42 USC § 405(c)(2)(C)) authorize collection of your social security number or individual taxpayer identification number. Your social security number or individual taxpayer identification number will be used exclusively for tax enforcement purposes, for purposes of compliance with any judgment or order for child or family support in accordance with section 17520 of the Family Law Code, or for verification of license or examination status by a licensing or examination entity, which utilizes a national examination and where licensure is reciprocal with the requesting state. If you fail to disclose your social security number or individual taxpayer identification number, your application will not be processed and you may be reported to the Franchise Tax Board, which may assess a \$100 penalty against you.

**NOTICE:** The State Board of Equalization and the Franchise Tax Board may share taxpayer information with the board. You are obligated to pay your state tax obligation. This application may be denied or your license may be suspended if your state tax obligation is not paid. Below portion of the pharmacy laws and regulations pertaining to pharmacist examination and licensure. You may download the pharmacy laws and regulations from the Board's Web site at www.pharmacy.ca.gov.

## BPC section 4200. Pharmacist License Requirements: Age; Education; Experience; Examination; Proof of Qualifications; Fees

(a) The board may license as a pharmacist an applicant who meets all the following requirements:

(1) Is at least 18 years of age.

(2) (A) Has graduated from a college of pharmacy or department of pharmacy of a university recognized by the board; or

(B) If the applicant graduated from a foreign pharmacy school, the foreign-educated applicant has been certified by the Foreign Pharmacy Graduate Examination Committee.

(3) Has completed at least 150 semester units of collegiate study in the United States, or the equivalent thereof in a foreign country. No less than 90 of those semester units shall have been completed while in resident attendance at a school or college of pharmacy.

(4) Has earned at least a baccalaureate degree in a course of study devoted to the practice of pharmacy.

(5) Has completed 1,500 hours of pharmacy practice experience or the equivalent in accordance with Section 4209.

(6)Has passed a version of the California Practice Standards and Jurisprudence Examination for Pharmacists that, at the time of application for licensure, was based on an occupational analysis that is either current or that was replaced by another occupational analysis no more than one year before the application for licensure and the applicant meets either of the following requirements:

(A) Has passed the North American Pharmacist Licensure Examination on or after January 1, 2004, and holds an active pharmacist license in another state or territory of the United States.(B) Has passed the North American Pharmacist Licensure Examination that, at the time of application for licensure, was based on an occupational analysis that is either current or that was replaced by another occupational analysis no more than one year before the application for licensure.

(b) Proof of the qualifications of an applicant for licensure as a pharmacist, shall be made to the satisfaction of the board and shall be substantiated by affidavits or other evidence as may be required by the board.

(c) Each person, upon application for licensure as a pharmacist under this chapter, shall pay to the executive officer of the board, the fees provided by this chapter. The fees shall be compensation to the board for investigation or examination of the applicant.

#### **BPC section 4208. Intern Pharmacist License**

(a) At the discretion of the board, an intern pharmacist license may be issued for a period of:

(1) One to six years to a person who is currently enrolled in a school of pharmacy recognized by the board.

(2) Two years to a person who is a graduate of a school of pharmacy recognized by the board and who has applied to become licensed as a pharmacist in California.

(3) Two years to a foreign graduate who has met educational requirements described in paragraphs (1) and (2) of subdivision (a) of Section 4200.

(4) One year to a person who has failed the pharmacist licensure examination four times and has reenrolled in a school of pharmacy to satisfy the requirements of Section 4200.1.

(b) The board may issue an intern pharmacist license to an individual for the period of time specified in a decision of reinstatement adopted by the board.

(c) An intern pharmacist shall notify the board within 30 days of any change of address.

(d) An intern pharmacist whose license has been issued pursuant to paragraph (1) or (4) of subdivision (a) shall return his or her license, by registered mail, within 30 days of no longer being enrolled in a school of pharmacy. The intern pharmacist license shall be canceled by the

board. Notwithstanding subdivision (c), an intern pharmacist license may be reinstated if the student reenrolls in a school of pharmacy recognized by the board to fulfill the education requirements of paragraphs (1) to (4), inclusive, of subdivision (a) of Section 4200. (e) A person who has not completed the experience requirements necessary to be eligible for the licensure examination may have his or her intern license extended for a period of up to two years at the discretion of the board if he or she is able to demonstrate his or her inability to exercise the privileges of the intern license during the initial license period.

#### BPC section 4209. Intern Pharmacist; Minimum Hours of Practice to Apply for Pharmacist

**Exam** (a) (1) An intern pharmacist shall complete 1,500 hours of pharmacy practice experience before applying for the pharmacist licensure examination.

(2) This pharmacy practice experience shall comply with the Standards of Curriculum established by the Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education (ACPE) or with regulations adopted by the board.

(3) This pharmacy practice experience shall include 900 hours of pharmacy practice experience in a pharmacy as a pharmacist and shall include pharmacy practice experience in both a community and institutional pharmacy practice setting.

(b) An intern pharmacist shall submit proof of his or her pharmacy practice experience on board-approved affidavits, or another form specified by the board, which shall be certified under penalty of perjury by a pharmacist under whose supervision such the experience was obtained or by the pharmacist-in-charge at the pharmacy while the pharmacist intern obtained the experience. Intern hours Pharmacy practice experience earned in another state may be certified by the licensing agency of that state to document proof of those hours.

(c) An applicant for the examination who has been licensed as a pharmacist in any state for at least one year, as certified by the licensing agency of that state, may submit this certification to satisfy the required 1,500 hours of intern pharmacy practice experience, provided that the applicant has obtained a minimum of 900 hours of pharmacy practice experience in a pharmacy as a pharmacist and has pharmacy practice experience in both a community and institutional pharmacy practice setting. Certification of an applicant's licensure in another state shall be submitted in writing and signed, under oath, by a duly authorized official of the state in which the license is held.

(d) An applicant for the examination who has graduated after January 1, 2016, from an ACPE accredited college of pharmacy or school of pharmacy recognized by the board shall be deemed to have satisfied the pharmacy practice experience requirements specified in subdivisions (a) and (b).

## Title 16, California Code of Regulation (CCR) section 1720.1. Graduates of Foreign Pharmacy Schools.

Graduates of foreign pharmacy schools who have been certified by the Foreign Pharmacy Graduate Equivalency Committee shall be deemed by the board to have satisfied the requirements of paragraphs (3) and (4) of Business and Professions Code Section 4200(a). Candidates who have been certified by the Foreign Pharmacy Graduate Equivalency Committee before January 1, 1998, must also provide the board with a score on the Test of Spoken English of least 50. For candidates who took the Test of Spoken English before June 30, 1995, a score of at least 220 must be achieved. Authority cited: Section 4005, Business and Professions Code. Reference: Sections 851 and 4200, Business and Professions Code.

### CCR section 1728. Requirements for Examination.

(a) Prior to receiving authorization from the board to take the pharmacist licensure examinations required by section 4200 of the Business and Professions Code, applicants shall submit to the board the following:

(1) Proof of 1500 hours of pharmacy practice experience that meets the following requirements:

(A) A minimum of 900 hours of pharmacy practice experience obtained in a pharmacy.

(B) A maximum of 600 hours of pharmacy practice experience may be granted at the discretion of the board for other experience substantially related to the practice of pharmacy.

(C) Experience in both community pharmacy and institutional pharmacy practice settings.

(D) Pharmacy practice experience that satisfies the requirements for both introductory and advanced pharmacy practice experiences established by the Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education.

(2) Satisfactory proof that the applicant graduated from a recognized school of pharmacy.

(3) Fingerprints to obtain criminal history information from both the Department of Justice and the United States Federal Bureau of Investigation pursuant to Business and Professions Code section 144.

(4) A signed copy of the examination security acknowledgment.

(b) Applicants who hold or held a pharmacist license in another state shall provide a current license verification from each state in which the applicant holds or held a pharmacist license prior to being authorized by the boar to take the examinations.

(c) Applicants who graduated from a foreign school of pharmacy shall provide the board with satisfactory proof of certification by the Foreign Pharmacy Graduate Examination Committee prior to being authorized by the board to take the examinations.

Authority cited: Sections 851, and 4005, Business and Professions Code. Reference: Sections 144, 851, and 4200, Business and Professions Code.

# BPC section 4200.1 Multiple Failures of License Examination; Additional Education Requirements

(a) Notwithstanding Section 135, an applicant may take the North American Pharmacist Licensure Examination four times, and may take the California Practice Standards and Jurisprudence Examination for Pharmacists four times.

(b) Notwithstanding Section 135, an applicant may take the North American Pharmacist Licensure Examination and the California Practice Standards and Jurisprudence Examination for Pharmacists four additional times each if he or she successfully completes, at minimum, 16 additional semester units of education in pharmacy as approved by the board.

(c) The applicant shall comply with the requirements of Section 4200 for each application for reexamination made pursuant to subdivision (b).

(d) An applicant may use the same coursework to satisfy the additional educational requirement for each examination under subdivision (b), if the coursework was completed within 12 months of the date of his or her application for reexamination.

(e) For purposes of this section, the board shall treat each failing score on the pharmacist licensure examination administered by the board prior to January 1, 2004, as a failing score on both the North American Pharmacist Licensure Examination and the California Practice Standards and Jurisprudence Examination for Pharmacists.

# CCR section 1725. Acceptable Pharmacy Coursework for Examination Candidates with Four Failed Attempts.

(a) Coursework that meets the requirements of section 4200.1 of the Business and Professions Code is any pharmacy coursework offered by a recognized school of pharmacy.

(b) A final examination must be a part of the course of study.

(c) When a candidate applies for reexamination after four failed attempts, he or she shall furnish evidence of successful completion of at least 16 semester units or the equivalent of pharmacy coursework. Evidence of successful completion must be posted on a transcript from the pharmacy school sent directly to the board.

Authority cited: Section 4005, Business and Professions Code. Reference: Section 4200.1, Business and Professions Code.