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Title 16.  BOARD OF PHARMACY 

Proposed Regulation 

Proposal to add new Article 3.5 of Division 17 of Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations and 

a new Article title as follows: 

Article 3.5.  Advanced Practice Pharmacist 

 

 

Proposal to add §1730 of Article 3.5 of Division 17 of Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations 

as follows: 

§1730 Acceptable Certification Programs 

 

The board recognizes the pharmacy patient care certification programs that are accredited by the 

National Commission for Certifying Agencies for purposes of satisfying the requirements in 

Business and Professions Code section 4210(a)(2)(A).  

 

Note: Authority cited: Section 4005, 4210 and 4400, Business and Professions Code.  Reference: 

Sections 4052.6, 4210 and 4400, Business and Professions Code. 
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Title 16.  BOARD OF PHARMACY 

Proposed Regulation 

 

Proposal to add §1730.1 of Article 3.5 of Division 17 of Title 16 of the California Code of 

Regulations as follows: 

§1730.1 Application Requirements for Advanced Practice Pharmacist Licensure 

 

For purposes of 4210 an applicant for advanced practice pharmacist licensure must satisfy two 

of the following subdivisions. 

 

(a) Demonstrate possession of a current certification as specified in Business and Professions 

Code section 4210(a)(2)(A), an applicant shall provide either:  

 

(1)  A copy of the certification award that includes the name of the applicant 

pharmacist, the area of specialty and date of completion, or 

 

(2)  A letter from the certification program confirming the award of the certification 

that includes the name of the applicant pharmacist, the area of specialty and the 

date of completion. 

 

(b)      Demonstrate completion of a postgraduate residency earned in the United States through 

an accredited postgraduate institution as specified in Business and Professions Code 

section 4210(a)(2)(B), an applicant shall provide either: 

 

(1) A copy of the residency certificate awarded by the postgraduate institution that 

includes the name of the applicant pharmacist, the area of specialty, and dates of 

participation and completion, or 

 

(2)  A letter of completion of a postgraduate residency signed by the dean or residency 

program director of the postgraduate institution and sent directly to the board from 

the postgraduate institution that lists the name of the applicant pharmacist, the dates 

of participation and completion, and area(s) of specialty. 

 

(c) Demonstrate that experience earned under a collaborative practice agreement or protocol 

has been earned within 10 years of the time of application for advanced practice pharmacist 

licensure.  Additionally, the one year of experience must be composed of no fewer than 

1,500 hours of experience providing clinical services to patients, and must be earned within 

four consecutive years. The experience earned under a collaborative practice agreement or 

protocol must include initiating, adjusting,  and discontinuing drug therapy of patients as 

authorized by law.  An applicant shall demonstrate possession of experience 

by providing both of the following: 
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(1)  A written statement from the applicant attesting under penalty of perjury that 

he or she has: 

 (A)  Earned the clinical experience within the required time frame; 

(B) Completed the required number of hours of clinical services to patients, as 

specified in this subdivision and in Business and Professions Code section 4210 

(a)(2)(C), which includes initiating, adjusting, and discontinuing drug therapy of 

patients; and 

 

(i)   The applicant shall provide a copy of the collaborative practice agreement or 

protocol. 

(ii)   If a copy of the collaborative practice agreement or protocol is not 

available, the applicant shall provide a description of the collaborative 

practice agreement or protocol, including examples of the clinical services 

the applicant provided to patients. 

(2) A written statement from the supervising practitioner, program director or health 

facility administrator attesting under penalty of perjury that the applicant  has 

completed  at least one year of experience providing clinical services to patients. 

 

 

Note: Authority cited:  Section 4005, 4210 and 4400, Business and Professions Code.  Reference:  

Section 4052.1, 4052.2, 4052.6, 4210 and 4400, Business and Professions Code. 
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Title 16.  BOARD OF PHARMACY 

 

Proposal to amend §1749 of Article 6 of Division 17 of Title 16 of the California Code of 

Regulations to read as follows: 

§1749 (Fee Schedule) 

The fees for the issuance and renewal of licenses, certificates, and permits, and the penalties to be 

assessed for failure to renew in accordance with sections 163.5, 4110, 4127.5, 4128.2, 4196, and 

4400 of the Business and Professions Code are hereby fixed as follows: 

(a) The fee for the issuance of a pharmacy license is five hundred twenty dollars ($520). The fee for 

the annual renewal of pharmacy license is three hundred twenty-five dollars ($325). The penalty 

for failure to renew is one hundred fifty dollars ($150). 

(b) The fee for the issuance of a temporary license is three hundred twenty-five dollars ($325). 

(c) The fee for the issuance of a pharmacy technician license shall be one hundred five dollars 

($105). The fee for the biennial renewal of a pharmacy technician license shall be one hundred 

thirty dollars ($130). The penalty for failure to renew a pharmacy technician license is sixty-five 

dollars ($65). 

(d) The fee for application and examination as a pharmacist is two hundred sixty dollars ($260). 

(e) The fee for regrading an examination is one hundred fifteen dollars ($115). 

(f)(1) The fee for the issuance of an original pharmacist license is one hundred ninety-five dollars 

($195). 
(2) The fee for application of an advanced practice pharmacist license is three hundred dollars 

($300).  If granted, there is no fee for the initial license issued, which will expire at the same time 

the pharmacist’s license expires. 
(g)(1) The fee for the biennial renewal of a pharmacist's license is two hundred seven dollars 

($207). The penalty fee for failure to renew is ninety-seven dollars fifty cents ($97.50). 
(2) The fee for the biennial renewal of an advanced practice pharmacist license is three 

hundred dollars ($300).  The penalty fee for failure to renew is one hundred fifty dollars 

($150).  The fees in this paragraph are in addition to the fees required to renew the 

pharmacist’s license as specified in paragraph 1. 
 (h) The fee for the issuance or renewal of a wholesaler's license is seven hundred eighty dollars 

($780). The penalty for failure to renew is one hundred fifty dollars ($150). 

(i) The fee for the issuance or renewal of a hypodermic license is one hundred sixty five dollars 

($165). The penalty for failure to renew is eighty two dollars fifty cents ($82.50). 

(j) The fee for the issuance of a license as a designated representative pursuant to Section 4053 of 

the Business and Professions Code shall be three hundred thirty dollars ($330). The fee for the 

annual renewal of a license as a designated representative shall be one hundred ninety-five dollars 

($195). The penalty for failure to renew is ninety seven dollars and fifty cents ($97.50). 

(k) The fee for the issuance or renewal of a license as a nonresident wholesaler is seven hundred 

eighty dollars ($780). The penalty for failure to renew is one hundred fifty dollars ($150). 

(l) The fee for an intern pharmacist license is one hundred fifteen dollars ($115). The fee for 

transfer of intern hours or verification of licensure to another state is thirty dollars ($30). 
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(m) The fee for the reissuance of any permit, license, or certificate, or renewal thereof, which must 

be reissued because of change in the information, other than name change, is one hundred dollars 

($100). 

(n) The fee for evaluation of continuing education courses for accreditation is forty dollars ($40) for 

each hour of accreditation requested. 

(o) The fee for the issuance of a clinic license is five hundred twenty dollars ($520). The fee for the 

annual renewal of a clinic license is three hundred twenty-five dollars ($325) . The penalty for 

failure to renew is one hundred fifty dollars ($150). 

(p) The fee for the issuance of a nongovernmental license, or renewal of a license, to compound 

sterile drug products is seven hundred eighty dollars ($780). The penalty for failure to renew is one 

hundred fifty dollars ($150). 

(q) The fee for the issuance of a license as a designated representative for a veterinary food-animal 

drug retailer shall be three hundred thirty dollars ($330). The fee for the annual renewal of a 

license as a designated representative shall be one hundred and ninety-five dollars ($195). The 

penalty for failure to renew is ninety-seven dollars and fifty cents ($97.50). 

(r) The fee for a veterinary food-animal drug retailer license is four hundred twenty-five dollars 

($425). The annual renewal fee for a veterinary food-animal drug retailer is three hundred twenty-

five dollars ($325). The fee for the issuance of a temporary license is two hundred and fifty dollars 

($250). The penalty for failure to renew is one hundred twenty-five dollars ($125). 

(s) The fee for the issuance of a retired pharmacist license shall be forty-five dollars ($45). 

(t) The fee for the issuance of a centralized hospital packaging pharmacy license shall be $800. The 

annual renewal fee for a centralized hospital packaging pharmacy license shall be $800. The penalty 

for failure to renew is one hundred fifty dollars. 

 

Note: Authority cited: Sections 163.5 and 4005, Business and Professions Code. Reference: Sections 

163.5, 4005, 4110, 4112(h), 4120, 4128.2, 4196, 4200, 4210, 4400, 4401 and 4403, Business and 

Professions Code. 


