Title 16. Board of Pharmacy
Proposed Language

To Amend 1793.5. in Article 11 of Division 17 of Title 16 of the California Code of
Regulations to read as follows:

§ 1793.5. Pharmacy Technician Application.
The application for a pharmacy technician license (Form 17A-5 (Rev. 9/94 01/11))

required by this section is available from the Board of Pharmacy upon request.

(a) Each application for registrationas-a pharmacy technician license shall include:

(1) Information sufficient to identify the applicant.

(2) A description of the applicant's qualifications and supporting documentation for those

gualifications.

(3) A criminal background check that will require submission of fingerprints in a manner

specified by the board and the fee authorized in Penal Code section 11105(e).

(4) A sealed, original Self-Query from the National Practitioner Data Bank - Healthcare

Inteqgrity and Protection Data Bank (NPDB-HIPDB) dated no earlier than 60 days of the

date an application is submitted to the board.

(b) The applicant shall sign the application under penalty of perjury and shall submit it

to the Board of Pharmacy.



(c) The board shall notify the applicant within 30 days if an application is deficient; and
what is needed to correct the deficiency. Once the application is complete, and upon

completion of any investigation conducted pursuant to section 4207 of the Business and

Professions Code, the board will notify the applicant within 60 days of a license

decision.

(d) Before expiration of a pharmacy technician license, a pharmacy technician must

renew that license by payment of the fee specified in Seection-1749,-subdivision{c}

subdivision (r) of section 4400 of the Business and Professions Code.

Note: Authority cited: Sections 163.5, 4005, 4007, 4038, 4115,-and 4202, 4207, and
4400 Business and Professions Code. Reference: Sections 163.5, 4005, 4007, 4038,
4115, and-4202, 4207, 4402, and 4400 Business and Professions Code, Section 11105
of the Penal Code, and sections 1706.2. and 1793.6. of Title 16 of the California Code
of Requlations.




