Skip to Main Content
California State Board of Pharmacy

Personal License Information/Renewal

Approximately six weeks before the expiration date of your license, a renewal application will be mailed to your last known address of record. Licensees are responsible for renewing their licenses even if they do not receive a renewal notice. The board does not send duplicate renewal applications.

If you have not received the renewal notice within 4 weeks of expiration of the license, you may renew your license by submitting a Request for Renewal form. Do not submit a renewal request more than 60 days before the expiration date of the license.

It takes a minimum of three weeks to process your renewal and another three weeks to receive the renewed license in the mail. It will take longer if your renewal application is deficient. Examples of deficiencies are: Failure to have the proper signatures(s) in the designated area on the renewal notice, failing to enter CE hours, or failure to submit name change documents. You will be notified in writing of any deficiencies. Frequently facilities undergoing name changes, ownership changes, location changes or changes in key officers must submit a more detailed application. The board will contact you if this is necessary.

The board is unable to verify receipt of renewal fees over the phone. If your fee has been received and processed, it will be reflected on the board's Web site on the license verification screen, even if you have not received your renewed license in the mail. You may verify that your license has been renewed by clicking on the Verify a License. For purpose of license verification, California law allows the printout of a license record from the board's website.

To report a change of name or address, please go to Change of Name and/or Address.

Military Personnel Renewal Information