
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 

Regulation 

Attachment 1
 



           

               
             
     

 
 
       
 
                       

                           
 

 
               

                         
                       
                              
             

 
                         
                 

 
                         

     
 

            

                            
                         
            

                     

                           
                          

          
 

                         
 
                               

                           
                             

 

Approved by the Office of Administrative Law 3/13/13 
Filed with the Secretary of State 3/13/13 
Effective Date 7/1/13 

§ 1746. Emergency Contraception 

(a) A pharmacist furnishing emergency contraception pursuant to Section 4052.3(a)(2) of the 
Business and Professions Code shall follow the protocol specified in subdivision (b) of this 
section. 

(b) Protocol for Pharmacists Furnishing Emergency Contraception (EC). 

(1) Authority: Section 4052.3(a)(2) of the California Business and Professions Code authorizes a 
pharmacist to furnish emergency contraception pursuant to a protocol approved by the 
California State Board of Pharmacy and the Medical Board of California. Use of the protocol 
specified in this section satisfies that requirement. 

(2) Purpose: To provide timely access to emergency contraceptive medication and ensure that 
the patient receives adequate information to successfully complete therapy. 

(3) Procedure: When a patient requests emergency contraception, the pharmacist will ask and 
communicate the following: 

	 Are you allergic to any medications? 

	 Timing is an essential element of the product's effectiveness. EC should be taken as 
soon as possible after unprotected intercourse. Treatment may be initiated up to five 
days (120 hours) after unprotected intercourse. 

EC use will not interfere with an established or implanted pregnancy. 

If more than 72 hours have elapsed since unprotected intercourse, the use of ella™ 
(ulipristal) may be more effective than levonorgestrel. For other options for EC, consult 
with your health care provider. 

Please follow up with your health care provider after the use of EC. 

(4) The pharmacist shall provide a fact sheet and review any questions the patient may have 
regarding EC. In addition, the pharmacist shall collect the information required for a patient 
medication record required by Section 1707.1 of Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations. 
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Fact Sheet: The pharmacist will provide the patient with a copy of the current EC fact sheet 
approved by the Board of Pharmacy as required by Business and Professions Code Section 
4052.3(e). 

(5) Referrals and Supplies: If emergency contraception services are not immediately available at 
the pharmacy or the pharmacist declines to furnish pursuant to conscience clause, the 
pharmacist will refer the patient to another emergency contraception provider. The pharmacist 
shall comply with all state mandatory reporting laws, including sexual abuse laws. 

(6) The pharmacist may provide up to 12 non‐spermicidal condoms to each Medi‐Cal and Family 
PACT client who obtains emergency contraception. 

(7) Advanced provision: The pharmacist may dispense emergency contraception medication for 
a patient in advance of the need for emergency contraception. 

(8) EC Product Selection: The pharmacist will provide emergency contraception medication 
from the list of products specified in this protocol. This list must be kept current and maintained 
in the pharmacy. Along with emergency contraception products, the list will include adjunctive 
medications indicated for nausea and vomiting associated with taking EC containing estrogen. 
Patients will be provided information concerning dosing and potential adverse effects. 

(9) Documentation: Each prescription authorized by a pharmacist will be documented in a 
patient medication record as required by law. 

(10) Training: Prior to furnishing emergency contraception, pharmacists who participate in this 
protocol must have completed a minimum of one hour of continuing education specific to 
emergency contraception. 
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(11) Medications Used for Emergency Contraception 

Dedicated Approved Products for Emergency Contraception 

Ethinyl Estradiol 
Brand Dose 

per dose (mcg) 
One Tablet Regimens 

Plan B™ One‐Step 1 tablet 0 
1.5mg 

levonorgestrel 
ella™ 1 tablet 0 30mg ulipristal 

Levonorgestrel 1 tablet 0 
1.5mg 

levonorgestrel 

Two Tablet Regimens 

Next Choice™ 

2 tablets at once 
(1.5mg total dose) 

or 
1 tablet (0.75mg) followed by 
1 tablet (0.75mg) 12 hours later 

0 
Each tablet is 

0.75 mg 
levonorgestrel 

Levonorgestrel 

2 tablets at once 
(1.5mg total dose) 

or 
1 tablet (0.75mg) followed by 
1 tablet (0.75mg) 12 hours later 

0 
Each tablet is 

0.75 mg 
levonorgestrel 

Oral Contraceptive Pills 

Brand 
Tablets per Dose 

(two doses 12 hours apart*) 
Ethinyl Estradiol 
per dose (mcg) 

Levonorgestrel 
per dose (mg)* 

Alesse 5 pink tablets 100 0.50 

Aviane 5 orange tablets 100 0.50 

Levlen 4 light‐orange tablets 120 0.60 

Levlite 5 pink tablets 100 0.50 

Levora 4 white tablets 120 0.60 

Lo/Ovral 4 white tablets 120 0.50 

Low‐Ogestrel 4 white tablets 120 0.60 

Nordette 4 light‐orange tablets 120 0.60 

Ogestrel 2 white tablets 100 0.50 

Ovral 2 white tablets 100 0.50 

Tri‐Levlen 4 yellow tablets 100 0.50 

Triphasil 4 yellow tablets 120 0.50 

Trivora 4 pink tablets 120 0.50 

Ovrette 20 yellow tablets 0 0.75 
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*The progestin in Ovral, Lo/Ovral, and Ovrette is norgestrel, which contains two isomers, only one of which 
(levonorgestrel) is bioactive; the amount of norgestrel in each dose is twice the amount of levonorgestrel. 

In addition to the products specified in this paragraph, generic equivalent products may be furnished. Estrogen 
containing regimens are not preferred and should be used only when the other options are not available. 

(12) Anti‐nausea Treatment Options for use with Emergency Contraception 

Non‐Prescription Drugs Dose Timing of Administration 

Meclizine hydrochloride 
(Dramamine II, Bonine) 

One or two 25 mg tablets 
1 hour before first EC dose; 
Repeat if needed in 24 hours 

Diphenhydramine hydrochloride 
(Benadryl) 

One or two 25 mg 
tablets or capsules 

1 hour before first EC dose; 
repeat as needed every 

4‐6 hours 

Dimenhydrinate (Dramamine) 
One or two 50 mg tablets or 

4‐8 teaspoons liquid 

30 minutes to 1 hour before first 
EC dose; repeat as needed every 

4‐6 hours 

Cyclizine hydrochloride 
(Marezine) 

One 50 mg tablet 
30 minutes before first EC dose; 

repeat as needed 
every 4‐6 hours 

Note: Authority cited: Section 4005, Business and Professions Code. Reference: Sections 4052 
and 4052.3, Business and Professions Code. 
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Order of Adoption
Board of Pharmacy

California Code of Regulations 

To Amend Section 1745 of Article 5 of Division 17 of Title 16 of the California Code of 
Regulations to read as follows: 

§ 1745. Partial Filling of Schedule II Prescriptions. 
(a) A prescription for a Schedule II controlled substance (as defined in Health and Safety Code 
section 11055) may be partially filled, as defined in paragraph (b), if: 

(1) The prescription is for an inpatient of a skilled nursing facility as defined in Health and Safety 
Code section 1250; or 

(2) The prescription is for a terminally ill patient. “Terminally ill” as used herein means a patient 
for whom a licensed physician and surgeon has made and documented a diagnosis of illness or 
disease that will result in death. 

(b) A “partially filled” prescription is a prescription from which only a portion of the amount for 
which the prescription is written is filled at any one time; provided that regardless of how many 
times the prescription is partially filled, the total amount dispensed shall not exceed that 
written on the face of the prescription. 

(c) When partially filling a prescription pursuant to subsection (a), all of the following conditions 
must be met: 

(1) The prescription must be tendered and at least partially filled within 60 days following the 
date of issue; 

(2) The pharmacist records the date and amount of each partial filling in a readily retrievable 
form and or on the original prescription, also recording the initials of the pharmacist dispensing 
the prescription; 

(3) No portion of the prescription is dispensed more than 60 days from the date of issuance of 
the prescription; and 

(d) A pharmacist may partially fill a prescription for a controlled substance listed in Schedule II, 
if the pharmacist is unable to supply the full quantity ordered by the prescriber. The pharmacist 
shall make a notation of the quantity supplied on the face of the written prescription. The 
remaining portion of the prescription may be filled within 72 hours of the first partial filling. If 
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the remaining portion is not filled within the 72‐hour period, the pharmacist shall notify the 
prescriber. The pharmacist may not supply the drug after 72 hour period has expired without a 
new prescription. 

Note: Authority cited: Section 4005, Business and Professions Code. Reference: Section 4301, 
Business and Professions Code; and Sections 11055, 11153, 11154, 11166, 11200, Health and 
Safety Code. 

To Add Section 1762 to Article 8 of Division 17 of Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations 
to read as follows: 

§ 1762. Unprofessional Conduct Defined. 
In addition to those acts detailed in Business and Professions Code Section 4301, the following 
shall also constitute unprofessional conduct: 

(a) Including or permitting to be included any of the following provisions in an agreement to 
settle a civil dispute arising from the licensee’s practice, whether the agreement is made before 
or after the filing of an action: 

(1) A provision that prohibits another party to the dispute from contacting, cooperating, or 
filing a complaint with the board; or, 

(2) A provision that requires another party to the dispute to attempt to withdraw a complaint 
the party has filed with the board. 

(b) Failure without lawful excuse to provide records requested by the board within 15 days of 
the date of receipt of the request or within the time specified in the request, whichever is later. 

(c) Failure or refusal to comply with any court order issued in the enforcement of a subpoena, 
mandating the release of records to the board. 

(d) Commission of any act resulting in the requirement that a licensee or applicant registers as 
a sex offender. The board may revoke the license of any licensee and deny the application of 
any applicant who is required to register as a sex offender pursuant to Section 290 of the Penal 
Code or any other equivalent federal, state or territory’s law that requires registration as a sex 
offender. 

Authority: Section 4005, Business and Professions Code. Reference: Sections 726, 4300 and 
4301, Business and Professions Code. 
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To Amend Section 1769 of Article 8 of Division 17 of Title 16 of the California Code of 
Regulations to read as follows: 

§ 1769. Criteria for Rehabilitation. 

(a) In addition to any other requirements for licensure, when considering the approval of an 
application, the board or its designee may require an applicant to be examined by one or more 
physicians and surgeons or psychologists designated by the board if it appears that the 
applicant may be unable to safely practice due to mental illness or physical illness affecting 
competency. An applicant’s failure to comply with the examination requirement shall render 
his or her application incomplete. The board shall pay the full cost of such examination. The 
board shall seek that the evaluation be conducted within 60 days of the date the applicant is 
advised that an examination is required. The board shall receive the examiner’s evaluation 
within 60 days of the date the examination is completed. The report of the examiner shall be 
made available to the applicant. 

If after receiving the report of the evaluation, the board determines that the applicant is 
unable to safely practice, the board may deny the application. 

(a) (b) When considering the denial of a facility or personal license under Section 480 of the 
Business and Professions Code, the board, in evaluating the rehabilitation of the applicant and 
his present eligibility for licensing or registration, will consider the following criteria: 

(1) The nature and severity of the act(s) or offense(s) under consideration as grounds for denial. 

(2) Evidence of any act(s) committed subsequent to the act(s) or crime(s) under consideration 
as grounds for denial under Section 480 of the Business and Professions Code. 

(3) The time that has elapsed since commission of the act(s) or crime(s) referred to in 
subdivision (1) or (2). 

(4) Whether the applicant has complied with any terms of parole, probation, restitution or any 
other sanctions lawfully imposed against the applicant. 

(5) Evidence, if any, of rehabilitation submitted by the applicant. 

(b) (c) When considering the suspension or revocation of a facility or a personal license on the 
ground that the licensee or the registrant has been convicted of a crime, the board, in 
evaluating the rehabilitation of such person and his present eligibility for a license will consider 
the following criteria: 
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(1) Nature and severity of the act(s) or offense(s). 

(2) Total criminal record. 

(3) The time that has elapsed since commission of the act(s) or offense(s). 

(4) Whether the licensee has complied with all terms of parole, probation, restitution or any 
other sanctions lawfully imposed against the licensee. 

(5) Evidence, if any, of rehabilitation submitted by the licensee. 

Note: Authority cited: Section 4005, Business and Professions Code. Reference: Sections 4030, 
4200 and 4400, Business and Professions Code. 
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Order of Adoption 

Board of Pharmacy 

California Code of Regulations 

Article 5.5. Pedigree Requirements. 

1747. Unique Identification Number. 

For the purposes of Section 4034 of the Business and Professions Code, the "unique 
identification number" that is to be established and applied to the smallest package or 
immediate container as defined in subdivision (d) of Section 4034 by the manufacturer or 
repackager shall conform to requirements for Standardized Numerical Identifiers (SNIs) set 
forth in a March 2010 publication by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) titled 
“Guidance for Industry, Standards for Securing the Drug Supply Chain – Standardized Numerical 
Identification for Prescription Drug Packages,” (FDA’S Guidance Document), hereby 
incorporated by reference. As stated therein, an SNI consists of a serialized National Drug Code 
(NDC) product identifier combined with a unique numeric or alphanumeric serial number of no 
more than twenty (20) digits or characters. For dangerous drugs for which no NDC product 
identifier is assigned or is in use, an equivalent serialized product identifier may be used in 
place of the NDC consistent with the FDA’s Guidance Document. This number shall be 
combined with a unique numeric or alphanumeric serial number that is not more than 20 digits 
or characters in length to establish the unique identification number. 

This regulation shall become operative on January 1, 2015. 

Note: Authority cited: Sections 4005, 4034, and 4163.2, Business and Professions Code. 
Reference: Sections 4034, 4034.1, 4163, 4163.1, 4163.2, 4163.4, 4163.5, Business and 
Professions Code. 

1747.1. Specification of Pedigreed Dangerous Drugs; Specification of Existing Stock 

(a)(1) To comply with Business and Professions Code section 4163.5, each manufacturer of a 
dangerous drug distributed in California shall submit to the board no later than December 31, 
2014, a declaration signed under penalty of perjury by an owner, officer, or employee with 
authority to bind the manufacturer, containing the following: 

(A) A list and quantity of dangerous drugs by name and product package (SKU) type 
representing at least fifty (50) percent of the manufacturer’s total that are ready for initial 
implementation of the serialized electronic pedigree requirements as of January 1, 2015; 
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(B) A statement identifying which one of the following methods was used to measure the 
percentage of drugs ready to be serialized: (i) unit volume, (ii) product package (SKU) type, or 
(iii) drug product family; 

(C) A statement describing the calculation(s) used to arrive at the percentage figure of 
dangerous drugs ready for serialized pedigree requirements; 

(D) A list and quantity of dangerous drugs by name and product package (SKU) type that are 
in the remaining percentage not yet ready to be serialized or subject to pedigree requirements; 
and, 

(E) a statement specifying the technology employed to meet the pedigree requirements, 
including but not limited to any platform(s), vendor(s), hardware, software, and communication 
technologies deployed. 

(2) To comply with Business and Professions Code section 4163.5, each manufacturer of a 
dangerous drug distributed in California shall also submit to the board no later than 
December 31, 2015, a declaration signed under penalty of perjury by an owner, officer, or 
employee with authority to bind the manufacturer, containing the following: 

(A) A list and quantity of its remaining dangerous drugs by name and product package (SKU) 
type that are ready for implementation of serialized electronic pedigree requirements as of 
January 1, 2016. 

(B) A statement identifying which one of the following methods was used to measure the 
final percentage of drugs to be serialized: (i) unit volume, (ii) product package (SKU) type, or 
(iii) drug product family; 

(C) A statement describing the calculation(s) used to arrive at the final percentage figure; 
and, 

(D) A statement specifying the technology employed to meet the pedigree requirements, 
including but not limited to any platform(s), vendor(s), hardware, software, and communication 
technologies deployed. 

(3) Any failure to submit to the board a declaration compliant with subdivision (a)(1) by 
December 31, 2014, any failure to submit to the board a declaration compliant with 
subdivision (a)(2) by December 31, 2015, or any failure to re‐submit either declaration to the 
board in fully compliant form within ten (10) days after notice of deficiency by the board, shall 
constitute a violation of the Pharmacy Law. 

(b) For the purposes of Business and Professions Code sections 4163.2 and 4163.4, any 
manufacturer, wholesaler or repackager seeking to designate dangerous drugs it possesses, 
owns, or controls that are not subject to the serialized electronic pedigree requirements, shall 
submit to the Board, by no later than July 31, 2016, a declaration signed under penalty of 
perjury by an owner, officer, or employee with authority to bind the manufacturer, wholesaler 
or repackager, containing the following: 
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(1) a list and quantity of dangerous drugs by name, product package (SKU) type and 
National Drug Code (NDC) product identifier in the possession, ownership, or control of the 
manufacturer, wholesaler or repackager that were acquired prior to July 1, 2016; 

(2) a statement that specifies the means and source of acquisition; and, 

(3) a statement that specifies the anticipated means of any subsequent distribution or 
disposition. 

(c) For the purposes of Business and Professions Code sections 4163.2 and 4163.4, any 
pharmacy or pharmacy warehouse seeking to designate dangerous drugs it possesses, owns, or 
controls that are not subject to the serialized electronic pedigree requirements, shall submit to 
the Board, by no later than July 31, 2017, a declaration signed under penalty of perjury by an 
owner, officer, or employee with authority to bind the pharmacy or pharmacy warehouse, 
containing the following: 

(1) A list and quantity of dangerous drugs by name, product package (SKU) type and 
National Drug Code (NDC) product identifier in the possession, ownership, or control of the 
pharmacy or pharmacy warehouse that were acquired prior to July 1, 2017; 

(2) A statement that specifies the means and source of acquisition; and, 

(3) a statement that specifies the anticipated means of any subsequent distribution or 
disposition. 

(d) The Board or its designee shall have sole discretion to determine whether any of the 
declarations submitted pursuant to this Section are compliant, and to reject and require 
re‐submission of any non‐compliant declaration(s) until determined to be fully compliant. 

Note: Authority cited: Sections 4005, 4034, 4163, 4163.2 and 4163.5, Business and Professions 
Code. Reference: Sections 4034, 4034.1, 4163, 4163.1, 4163.2, 4163.4, 4163.5, Business and 
Professions Code. 
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1 Title 16. Board of Pharmacy
 
2 Proposed Language
 
3 


4 To Amend § 1732.05 in Article 4 of Division 17 of Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations to
 

read as follows: 

29 agency by the board. 

31 Note: Authority cited: Section 4005, Business and Professions Code. Reference: Section 4232,
 

32 Business and Professions Code.
 

33 


6 § 1732.05. Accreditation Agencies for Continuing Education. 

7 (a) The following organizations are approved accreditation agencies: 

8 (1) The Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education. 

(2) The Pharmacy Foundation of California California Pharmacists Association.9 

(b) Accreditation agencies shall: 

11 (1) Evaluate each continuing education provider seeking accreditation in accordance with the 

12 provider's ability to comply with the requirements of section 1732.1 of this Division. 

13 (2) Maintain a list of the name and address of the person responsible for the provider's continuing 

14 education program. The accreditation agency shall require that any change in the responsible person's 

identity shall be reported to the accreditation agency within 15 days of the effective date of the 

16 change.

17 (3) Provide the board with the names, addresses and responsible party of each provider, upon request. 

18 (4) Respond to complaints from the board, providers or from pharmacists concerning activities of any 

19 of its accredited providers or their coursework. 

(5) Review at least one course per year offered by each provider accredited by the agency for 

21 compliance with the agency's requirements and requirements of the board and, on request, report the 

22 findings of such reviews to the board. 

23 (6) Take such action as is necessary to assure that the continuing education coursework offered by its 

24 providers meets the continuing education requirements of the board. 

(7) Verify the completion of a specific continuing education course by an individual pharmacist upon 

26 request of the board. 

27 (c) Substantial failure of an approved accreditation agency to evaluate continuing education providers 

28 as set forth in subdivision (b) shall constitute cause for revocation of its approval as an accreditation 
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34 To Amend § 1732.2 in Article 4 of Division 17 of Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations to read 

35 as follows: 

36 § 1732.2. Board Accredited Continuing Education 

37 

38 (a) Individuals may petition the board to allow continuing education credit for specific coursework 

39 

40 

41 

42 

43 

44 

45 

46 

47 

48 

49 

50 

51 

52 

53 

54 

55 

56 

57 

58 

59 

60 

61 

62 (f) An individual may be awarded three hours of continuing education for successfully passing the 

63 examination administered by the Commission for Certification in Geriatric Pharmacy. 

64 

65 Note: Authority cited: Section 4005, Business and Professions Code. Reference: Section 4232, 

66 Business and Professions Code. 

which is not offered by a provider but meets the standards of Section 1732.3. 

(b) Notwithstanding subdivision (a) of this section, coursework which meets the standard of relevance 

to pharmacy practice and has been approved for continuing education by the Medical Board of 

California, the California Board of Podiatric Medicine, the California Board of Registered Nursing or the 

Dental Board of California shall, upon satisfactory completion, be considered approved continuing 

education for pharmacists. 

(c) A pharmacist serving on a designated subcommittee of the board for the purpose of developing 

the California Practice Standards and Jurisprudence Examination for pharmacists pursuant to 

section 4200.2 of the Business and Professions Code may annually be awarded up to six hours of 

continuing education for conducting a review of exam test questions. A subcommittee member shall 

not receive continuing education hours pursuant to this subdivision if that subcommittee member 

requests reimbursement from the board for time spent conducting a review of exam test questions. 

(d) A pharmacist or pharmacy technician who attends a full day board meeting may be awarded six 

hours of continuing education per renewal period. The board shall designate on its public agenda 

which day shall be eligible for continuing education credit. A pharmacist or pharmacy technician 

requesting continuing education pursuant to this subdivision must sign in and out on an attendance 

sheet at the board meeting that requires the individual to provide his or her first and last name, license 

number, time of arrival and time of departure from the meeting. 

(e) A pharmacist or pharmacy technician who attends a full committee meeting of the board may be 

awarded two hours of continuing education per renewal period. A pharmacist or pharmacy technician 

requesting continuing education hours pursuant to this subdivision must sign in and out on an 

attendance sheet at the committee meeting that requires the individual to provide his or her first and 

last name, license number, time of arrival and time of departure from the meeting. 
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72 Division, each applicant for renewal of a pharmacist license shall submit proof satisfactory to the 

73 board, that the applicant has completed 30 hours of continuing education in the prior 24 months. 

(b) At least six of the 30 units required for pharmacist license renewal shall be completed in one or 74 

more of the following subject areas: 75 

1. Emergency/Disaster Response 76 

2. Patient Consultation 77 

3. Maintaining Control of a Pharmacy’s Drug Inventory 78 

4. Ethics 79 

5. Substance Abuse 80 

Pharmacists renewing their licenses which expire on or after July 1, 2015, shall be subject to the 81 

requirements of this subdivision. 82 

(b) (c) All pharmacists shall retain their certificates of completion for four years following completion 83 

84 of a continuing education course. 

85 

86 Note: Authority cited: Section 4005, Business and Professions Code. Reference: Sections 4231 and 

87 4232, Business and Professions Code. 

88 /

89 /

90 /

91 /

92 /

93 /

94 /

67 To Amend § 1732.5 in Article 4 of Division 17 of Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations to read 

68 as follows: 

69 § 1732.5. Renewal Requirements for Pharmacist. 

70 

71 (a) Except as provided in Section 4234 of the Business and Professions Code and Section 1732.6 of this 

95 / 

96 / 

97 / 

98 / 

99 / 
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100 To Add § 1751.9 to Division 17 of Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations to read as follows: 

101 

102 § 1751.9. Accreditation Agencies for Pharmacies that Compound Injectable Sterile Drug Products 

103 (a) An agency seeking to become an approved accrediting agency for pharmacies or nonresident 

104 pharmacies that compound sterile injectable drug products pursuant to Business and Professions Code 

sections 4127.1 or 4127.2 shall submit evidence satisfactory to the board as described in 

subdivision (b) that: 

(1) The accrediting agency performs site inspections and re‐accreditation reviews of each accredited 

pharmacy at least annually. Site inspections shall be conducted to ensure compliance with Article 4.5 

(commencing with Section 1735) and Article 7 (commencing with Section 1751) of Division 17 of 

Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations governing the compounding of sterile injectable drug 

products. 

(2) The standards for granting accreditation shall reflect the Pharmacy Law. 

(3) The surveyors who perform site inspections possess qualifications necessary to evaluate the 

professional practices subject to accreditation. At least one member of the survey team must be a 

licensed pharmacist. All health care practitioner surveyors must maintain current, active and 

unrestricted licensure to practice their respective professions. 

(4) The accrediting agency has sufficient personnel and resources to accredit California and non‐

resident pharmacies. 

(5) The accrediting agency has been operating for a minimum of two years with a history of 

accrediting health care facilities. 

(6) The accrediting agency shall provide the board access to an approved accrediting agency's report 

on individual pharmacies for a three‐year period following issuance of the report. Upon request of the 

board, the agency shall provide the report within 10 business days. 

(b) An agency seeking approval from the board must submit a formal written request to the board 

signed by an authorized representative that includes the applicant owner’s name, the company name, 

address of record, and contact information along with the following information: 

(1) A side‐by‐side comparison showing the agency's sterile compounding standards and describing 

128 how each standard complies with each of the requirements of this Section. 

129 (2) A list of employees performing survey inspections that also sets forth the name, title, license 

130 number, license type, state of licensure and licensure status for each employee. 

131 (3) A list of payers or organizations that the agency is recognized by, if applicable. 

105 

106 

107 

108 

109 

110 

111 

112 

113 

114 

115 

116 

117 

118 

119 

120 

121 

122 

123 

124 

125 

126 

127 
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132 (4) A list of health care facility sites currently accredited by the agency including the name, location, 

133 license type and license number of each site. 

134 (5) A detailed description of the process used to evaluate health care facility sites seeking 

135 accreditation or reaccreditation. 

136 (6) Documentation of compliance with the requirements listed in the self‐assessment form referenced 

137 

138 

139 

140 

141 

142 

143 

144 

145 

146 

147 

148 

149 

150 

151 

152 

153 

154 

155 

156 

157 

158 

159 

160 accrediting agency. 

161 (f) On an annual basis, no later than July 1 of each year, an approved accrediting agency shall submit a 

162 report to the board listing all board‐licensed pharmacies or nonresident pharmacies that are currently 

163 accredited and have been accredited during the past 12 months with a notation of the outcome of 

164 each inspection conducted by the accrediting agency. 

in section 1735.2(j) of Title 16 of the California of Code of Regulations in evaluating pharmacies and 

non‐resident pharmacies. 

(7) Documentary or other evidence of a process to address non‐compliance that may include any or 

all of the following: (a) a requirement for correction of any identified deficiencies within a set 

timeframe; (b) a requirement that failure to comply shall result in the accrediting agency issuing a 

reprimand or suspending or revoking the accreditation; or, (c) a process for suspending or revoking the 

licensed sterile injectable drug compounding pharmacy’s accreditation. 

(c) The Board of Pharmacy shall take action on a completed application at a scheduled board meeting, 

as follows: 

(1) If granted, the approval shall be valid for three years from the date of action by the board. 

(2) If the approval is denied, the agency will be notified of the basis for the denial, including a 

description of the standards that were not met. The agency may submit additional information to the 

board for reconsideration of the denial within 30 days of the date of the notice of denial. The 

reconsideration shall be considered at a scheduled board meeting and the accrediting agency may 

show compliance with the standards set forth in this Section by producing new documentary evidence, 

providing testimony or submitting other evidence demonstrating why the approval should be granted. 

(d) After approval, an approved accreditation agency shall continue to meet the standards provided in 

this Section and meet any conditions under which it is approved by the board. Failure to comply with 

the standards set forth in this section or any conditions set by the board shall be grounds for rescission 

of the board’s approval. 

(e) The accreditation agency shall, within 24 hours, report to the board any licensed sterile injectable 

drug compounding pharmacy issued a reprimand or any licensed sterile injectable drug compounding 

pharmacy whose accreditation has been suspended, revoked, or otherwise restricted by the 
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165 (g) The board may conduct unannounced inspections of accredited sites to determine if the licensed 

166 facility is in compliance with the Pharmacy Law. An accrediting agency shall cooperate with any board 

167 investigation or inspection conducted by the board. 

168 (h) Three months before the end of an approval or re‐approval period, an approved accrediting 

169 agency must submit a formal, written request for re‐approval to the board or its designee for 

170 

171 

172 

173 

174 

175 

176 

177 

178 

179 

180 

181 

182 

183 

184 

185 

186 

187 

188 

189 

190 

191 

192 

193 Administrative Procedure Act (commencing with Section 11445.10 of the Government Code). 

194 

195 Note: Authority cited: Sections 4005 and 4127, Business and Professions Code. Reference: 

196 Section 4127.1, Business and Professions Code. 

continued recognition as an approved accrediting agency. The re‐approval request shall provide the 

information set forth in subdivision (b). If the re‐approval application fails to demonstrate compliance 

with this Section, or the board has evidence that the accrediting agency has failed to meet the 

requirements of this section, the Board or its designee may issue and serve a notice of denial of re‐

approval on the accrediting agency at its address of record with the board. The denial shall set forth 

the factual and legal basis for the denial. Within 30 days of the date of the notice, the accrediting 

agency may request an appeal of the decision to deny re‐approval. If no appeal is requested, the 

denial shall become final. If the board receives a request for an appeal of the notice, the request for an 

appeal shall be considered a request for an informal hearing under the Administrative Procedure Act 

(commencing with Section 11445.10 of the Government Code). 

(i) Recognition of an approval shall continue pending the outcome of any appeal from a notice of 

denial or rescission of any approval. However, if either a denial or rescission of an approval is upheld 

after appeal, the accrediting agency shall notify all affected pharmacies or nonresident pharmacies of 

the loss of the board’s approval. 

(j) The board may evaluate the performance of an approved accreditation agency and may rescind its 

approval of the accreditation agency for failure to conform with the Pharmacy Law and standards 

relating to sterile injectable drug compounding or any of the provisions of this section. The Board or its 

designee may issue and serve a notice of rescission of approval on the accrediting agency at its address 

of record with the board. The rescission notice shall set forth the factual and legal basis for the 

rescission and set forth the process for appealing the notice. Within 30 days of the date of the notice, 

the accrediting agency may request an appeal of the decision to rescind approval. If no appeal is 

requested, the denial shall become final. If the board receives a request for an appeal of the notice, 

the request for an appeal shall be considered a request for an informal hearing under the 
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