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1. FOR INFORMATION: Updated on the Evaluation of the Text for Criminal Conviction
Questions on Board Applications

Background
Currently, the board’s applications for individual licenses (e.g., pharmacists, pharmacy

technicians) ask:

“Have you ever been convicted of any crime in any state, the USA and its territories,
military court or foreign country?

Check the box next to “YES” if you have ever been convicted or plead guilty to any
crime. “Conviction” includes a plea of no contest and any conviction that has been set
aside or deferred pursuant to Sections 1000 or 1203.4 of the Penal Code, including
infractions, misdemeanor, and felonies. You do not need to report a conviction for an
infraction with a fine of less than $300 unless the infraction involved alcohol or
controlled substances. You must, however, disclose any convictions in which you
entered a plea of no contest and any convictions that were subsequently set aside
pursuant or deferred pursuant to sections 1000 or 1203.4 of the Penal Code.

Check the box next to “NO” if you have not been convicted of a crime.

In addition, the board encourages (but does not require) applicants to provide certain
information along with their application as way to help expedite the review. These items
include:
1) certified copies of the arresting agency report;
2) certified copies of the court documents;
3) a descriptive explanation of the circumstances surrounding the conviction (i.e.
dates and location of incident and all circumstances surrounding the incident.) If
documents were purged by the arresting agency and/or court, a letter of
explanation from these agencies is required.
The applicant is also advised that failure to disclose a disciplinary action or conviction may
result in the license being denied or revoked for falsifying the application. Attach additional
sheets if necessary.”
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The Legal Office has asked boards to review these questions and consider changes to ensure
consistency with legal requirements.

Committee Discussion and Action

The committee discussed briefly the need for review of the application questions used by
the board to ascertain arrest and conviction history as part of its process in evaluation an
application for licensure. Counsel suggested that this review should include conformance
with legal requirements that may have changed since the questions were originally
developed.

The committee took no formal action on this item, but directed staff to work with counsel
to complete the necessary review and bring the matter back to the committee for further
discussion and possible action.

FOR REVIEW AND DISCUSSION: Update on Discussion of the Pharmacist Intern Hours
Requirements from Business and Professions Code Section 4209 and 16 California Code
of Regulations Section 1728

Attachment 1
Relevant Statutes
Business and Professions Code Section 4209 establishes the requirements for intern
pharmacist to earn 1500 hours of experience.

California Code of Regulation Section 1728 further specifies the types of practice
environments and experience areas where intern hours that must be earned prior to
eligibility for the pharmacist licensure examination.

To confirm compliance with the above requirements, the board uses a pharmacy intern
hours affidavit (form 17A-29), which includes two areas where the intern hours earned can
be recorded:

1) Number of hours of pharmacy practice experience obtained in a pharmacy, and

2) Number of hours of pharmacy practice experience substantially related to the

practice of pharmacy

Background
Periodically, usually in response to inquiries from the public, the board has scheduled

discussions on the intern hours requirement and how this information is reported to the
board as a requirement for admission to the California pharmacist licensure examination.
At the October 2013 Board Meeting, President Weisser requested that intern hours be
added to the agenda of the Licensing Committee at the request of Board Member Victor
Law.

Committee Discussion and Action
The committee discussed the process currently used by board staff to substantiate intern
experience and was advised that the board will also accept a letter from the dean of a




school of pharmacy as sufficient documentation of completion of the hours earned under
the auspices of the program.

The committee was advised that representatives from California Northstate University have
expressed concern about the current process used to verify intern experience, but have not
submitted any written information.

The committee discussed the current legal requirements and considered if changes should
be made to the current internship requirements or how the board confirms this
information.

Public comment received during the meeting included that the board should consider
rescinding the affidavit requirement.

The committee did not take formal action on this item, but requested that the topic be
included on the agenda for a future meeting. The committee requested that staff extend
invitations to the California schools of pharmacy to participate in the discussion and also
requested that board staff research internship requirements in other states.

Attachment 1 includes a copy of Business and Professions Code Section 4209, California

Code of Regulations Section 1728 and the intern hour affidavit form.

FOR REVIEW AND DISCUSSION: Update on the Implementation Schedule for SB 809
(DeSaulnier, Chapter 400, Statutes of 2013)

Attachment 2
Relevant Statutes
Health and Safety Code Sections 11165 — 11165.3 establish and define the parameters and
use of the CURES Program within the California Department of Justice. Included within
these provisions are requirements that have existed for a number years, including the
requirement for prescribers and pharmacies to report dispensing information each week to
the CURES system.

Background
In 2013, the CURES Program received additional funding through SB 809 to rebuild and

replace its aging computer system and provide minimal, but essential, staffing to support
the program in the future. (This funding was needed because CURES had been housed in
the DOJ’s Bureau of Narcotic Enforcement, a unit that was totally defunded several years
ago in response to General Fund budget cuts made by Governor Brown in response to the
state’s fiscal crisis.)

The new CURES funding source identified for this system is from licensees of several healing
arts boards that regulate prescribers and dispensers. Beginning in April 2014, every



practitioner eligible to prescribe (e.g., physicians, nurse practitioners, optometrists,
veterinarians, dentists) or dispense (pharmacists, pharmacies), wholesalers and clinics will
pay an ongoing fee of $6 per year fee as part of their renewal. Additionally, before January
1, 2016, every pharmacist (and each of the prescriber classifications) will be required to
submit an application to obtain approval to access CURES data as part of the renewal
process. This process is intended to ensure widespread eligibility for prescribers and
pharmacists to access CURES data on an individual patient — when the practitioners so
choose — at the time of prescribing or dispensing.

Additionally, due to a trailer bill to the 2013/14 California State Budget, the board is funding
for two years (2013/14 and 2014/15) an additional $215,000 (in addition to ongoing annual
funding of $92,000 that we have been providing for approximately 10 years) that will be
used to replace the aging CURES computer and replace it with a more robust system,
capable of providing better access to the state’s prescribers and dispensers, who are
checking the controlled substances dispensed to specific patients as part of the prescription
drug monitoring program (PDMP). The prescriber boards are also contributing sizeable
amounts to secure a new computer system.

Collection of CURES funding from board licensees will begin with renewals due April 1, 2014
and thereafter. The department’s Legal Office has approved the following language to be
added to impacted renewal notices from the board:

FOR BIENNIAL RENEWALS:

Pursuant to SB 809 (DeSaulnier, Chapter 400, Statutes of 2013), you are assessed $6
ANNUALLY which is collected at the time of renewal to cover the operation and
maintenance of the Controlled Substance Utilization Review and Evaluation System
(CURES). The amount of $12 per renewal cycle is hereby added to the renewal fee.

FOR ANNUAL RENEWALS:

Pursuant to SB 809 (DeSaulnier, Chapter 400, Statutes of 2013), you are assessed $6
ANNUALLY which is collected at the time of renewal to cover the operation and
maintenance of the Controlled Substance Utilization Review and Evaluation System
(CURES).

Meanwhile, senior board staff members are participating in development of the parameters
for the new CURES computer system. They are also involved in establishing a simplified
mechanism by which pharmacists will be able to sign up for CURES without needing
documents certified by notary publics as part of the approval process.

Committee Discussion and Action
The committee discussed the CURES system and SB 809. The committee did not take action
on this item.




Attachment 2 includes a copy SB 809.

3. FOR REVIEW AND DISCUSSION: Updated on Implementation Schedule for SB 493
(Hernandez, Chapter 469, Statutes of 2013)

Attachment 3

Background
Senate Bill 493(Hernandez, Chapter 469, Statutes of 2013) establishes an “advanced

practice pharmacist” (APP) category of licensure, allowing such pharmacists to perform
advanced patient care functions, such as to perform physical assessments; order and
interpret medication-related tests; refer patients to other providers; initiate, adjust and
discontinue medications under physician protocol or as part of an integrated system such
as an ACO; and participate in the evaluation and management of health conditions in
collaboration with other providers. In addition, this legislation provides for expanded
duties all pharmacists can perform.

The APP provisions include the ability to:

write or issue a prescription in specific settings under 4052.2(a)

issue an order for controlled substances in specific settings

Perform patient assessments

Order and interpret drug therapy related tests

Refer patients to other health care providers

Participate in the evaluation and management of diseases and health conditions in
collaboration with other health care providers

Initiate, adjust or discontinue drug therapy; must provide notification back to
diagnosing prescriber or enter info into patient record shared with the prescriber

Further, depending on the services provided, a pharmacist may require registration with
DEA to issue an order for controlled substances.

The law also establishes the following general requirements for an APP including:

An active CA pharmacist license — in good standing -- as a pharmacist

Submission of an application and fee (maximum of $300)

License good for 2 years, and will be linked to RPh renewal

An additional 10 units of CE each renewal cycle is required in an area of practice

relevant to the pharmacist’s clinical practice

Satisfy two of the following educational requirements:
1. Earn certification in relevant area of practice (ambulatory care, critical
care, geriatric, nuclear, nutrition support, oncology, pediatric,
pharmacotherapy, psychiatric practice recognized by ACPE or another entity
recognized by the board)



2. Complete postgraduate residency in accredited postgraduate institution
where 50 percent of experience includes direct patient care with
interdisciplinary teams

3. Have provided clinical services to patients for at least one year under a
collaborative practice agreement or protocol with a physician, APP, a
pharmacist practicing collaborative drug therapy management, or health
system

Regulations will be needed to implement multiple provisions in SB 493 including the
parameters for the education requirements provided above.

As stated above, the legislation also established expanded duties for all pharmacists.
Under these provisions a pharmacist may perform all of the following:
e Administer drugs and biological products that have been ordered by a prescriber
e Independently initiate and administer vaccines listed on routine immunization
schedules of the CDC for persons three years of age or older as specified
e Furnish nicotine replacement products in accordance with a state treatment
protocol to be developed jointly by the Pharmacy and Medical boards, provided:
= Records are retained of drugs and devices furnished for at least 3 years so
as to notify health provides or monitoring of the patient
= The pharmacist notifies the patients primary care provider of drugs and
devices furnished or into a patient record -- the pharmacist must
complete 1 hour of CE on smoking cessation therapy biennially
e Furnish self-administered hormonal contraceptives in accordance with a state
protocol developed by the Pharmacy and Medical boards of California pursuant to
the guidelines of the CDC.
e Furnish prescription medications not requiring a diagnosis recommended by the CDC
for individuals traveling outside the US (travel medications)

Some of these provisions will also require the board to implement regulations.

Committee Action and Discussion

The committee discussed the legislation and was provided with a brief presentation by the
California Pharmacists Association (CPhA) and California Society of Health System
Pharmacists (CSHP). The associations have joined together with some of their members
and multiple California schools of pharmacy to develop components to comply with some
of the provisions in SB 493. The board is not involved in this process.

The committee was reminded that the board is charged with the implementation of SB 493
and the development of the necessary regulations will need to be done publicly, either in
subcommittees or through the Licensing Committee. The committee/board may choose to
use the work product of the CPhA/CSHP workgroups as one source of consideration in
development of these requirements.



Several participants expressed interest in working with the board and committee as it
moves forward with development of the necessary regulations.

The committee did not take formal action on this item, but will reconvene on
February 12, 2014, to focus efforts on implementation.

Attachment 3 is a copy of SB 493.

4. FOR REVIEW AND DISCUSSION: Update on the Implementation Schedule for SB 294
(Emmerson, Chapter 565, Statutes 2013)

Attachment 4
Background
SB 294 is the board’s sponsored legislation to strengthen the board’s ability to regulate
specialized pharmacies within and outside California that compound sterile drug products —
that is, those that are compounded for injection, administration to the eye or for inhalation.
The provisions provide for implementation of the requirements beginning July 1, 2014.

Committee Discussion and Action

The committee discussed the legislation and was advised of the implementation efforts
being made by staff to ensure full implementation by July 1, 2014 as the legislation calls for.
The committee was advised that inspector staff members received specific training and are
beginning to complete inspections that are necessary as a condition of licensure. In
response to public comment, all in attendance were advised that the board’s inspections
will include nonresident sterile compounding pharmacies and those located in California,
however, the former mentioned inspections may not occur in advance of July 1, 2014.

The committee did not take action on this item.
Attachment 4 is a copy of SB 294.

5. FOR REVIEW AND DISCUSSION: Report on the New Pharmacy Technician Accreditation
Commission

Relevant Statutes
Business and Professions Code Section 4202 establishes the requirements for licensure as a
pharmacy technician.

California Code of Regulations Section 1793.6 further defines the requirements for a
training course, which is one of the pathways to licensure.

Background
The board learned that the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists (ASHP) and the

Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education (ACPE) have announced their collaboration to



accredit pharmacy technician education and training programs, beginning in late 2014. The
collaboration will result in the creation of the Pharmacy Technician Accreditation
Commission (PTAC), which will be tasked with assuring and advancing the quality of
pharmacy technician education and training programs.

The PTAC will conduct document reviews and site surveys and advise the ASHP/ ACPE
boards of directors, which will then agree on final accreditation actions. The establishment
of the PTAC expands upon ASHP’s 31-year history as a national accrediting body for
pharmacy technician training programs. The ACPE also accredits educational programs
involving pharmacy — specifically all schools of pharmacy in the US are accredited by ACPE.

According to information provided to the board, there are currently 258 programs in the
ASHP accreditation process. Through the work of its Commission on Credentialing, ASHP will
continue to accredit pharmacy technician programs until the PTAC officially begins its work
in the fall of 2014. ASHP will also provide ongoing accreditation support for the PTAC.

Committee Action/Discussion

The committee briefly discussed this item. No public comment was provided and the
committee did not take formal action. They did, however, request that staff research and
provide more information at a future meeting about the new ASHP technician program
approval process so the committee can determine if action is necessary, including possible
changes to CCR 1793.6.

Review and Discussion: Report on the Pharmacy Compounding Accreditation Board
(PCAB) Pharmacy Technician Certification Requirement Changes

The board was advised by the Pharmacy Compounding Accreditation Board (PCAB) that as a
result of concerns raised by their applicants regarding technician certification, the PCAB's
Standards Committee reviewed the interpretation of PCAB Standard 1.20.

Standard 1.20 states:
“The pharmacy provides documentation that all ... technicians ... who are engaged in
compounding and dispensing in the pharmacy are ... certified, or otherwise
credentialed, if applicable, by the states in which they practice, by an appropriate ...
certifying agency...”

After review (apparently) the Standards Committee recommended no change in Standard
1.20 to the PCAB Board of Directors. Instead, the recommendation was to continue with
the current interpretation of Standard 1.20 and cancel the pending January 1, 2015,
recommended change.

Consequently, a proposed requirement for pharmacy technician certification that had been
slated to begin on January 1, 2015, has been eliminated. Thus, PCAB will continue with
their current interpretation of Standard 1.20 directing that pharmacy technicians will be



certified or otherwise credentialed by an appropriate certifying agency only when required
by the state(s) in which they practice.

Committee Action/Discussion
The item was brought to the committee for informational purposes only. No committee or
public comments were provided and the committee took no action.

FOR INFORMATION: Competency Committee Report

California Practice Standards and Jurisprudence Examination for Pharmacists (CPJE)
Effective December 1, 2013, the board instituted a quality assurance review of the
California Practice Standards and Jurisprudence Examination for Pharmacists (CPJE). This
means that there is currently a delay in the release of all CPJE examination scores. This
process is done periodically to ensure the reliability of the examination. The board expects
to release the scores in February 2014, however, will release exam scores more quickly if
the review is completed.

Examination Development

The Competency Committee workgroups continued to meet throughout 2013 for
examination development. Both Competency Committee workgroups met once during the
fall to discuss examination development.

FOR INFORMATION: Licensing Statistics

Attachment 5
Provided in Attachment 5 is the second quarter’s licensing statistics. During the first half of
the fiscal year, the board received more than 8,900 applications and issued more than 7,500
licenses. The number of applications received increased almost 14 percent and the number
of licenses issued decreased almost 5 percent when compared to the same time periods last
fiscal year.

FOR INFORMATION: Second Quarterly Report on the Committee’s Goals for 2013/14

Attachment 6

The second quarterly report on the Licensing Committee’s goals is provided in Attachment 6.

As demonstrated in the quarterly update, the board is meeting the acceptance parameters
for Success Indicators 2C — Review Received Deficiency Items to Determine Application
Completeness within five working days of receipt and 2E — Update Information Changes to
Licensing Records within five working days.

The board is not meeting the acceptance parameters for the following Success Indicators



e 2A — Cashier All Revenue Received within three working days

e 2B -—Review Initial Applications within 30 working days

e 2D —Issue Licenses within three working days of Completed Application.
In these success indicators, board staff is working diligently to move towards the goal. Itis
our hope that as vacancies are filled and training is completed additional progress will be
made in these three areas.

Attachment 7 includes the draft minutes from the Licensing Committee.
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BUSINESS AND PROFESSIONS CODE - BPC =
DIVISION 2. HEALING ARTS [500 - 4999.129] ( Division 2 enacted by Stats. 1937, Ch. 399.)
CHAPTER 9. Pharmacy [4000 - 4426] ( Chapter 9 repealed and added by Stats. 1996, Ch.
890, Sec. 3.)

ARTICLE 16. Applications [4200 - 4210] ( Article 16 added by Stats. 1996, Ch. 890, Sec. 3.)

4209 (3) (1) An intern pharmacist shall complete 1,500 hours of pharmacy practice before applying for
the pharmacist licensure examination.

(2) This pharmacy practice shall comply with the Standards of Curriculum established by the
Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education or with regulations adopted by the board.

(b) An intern pharmacist shall submit proof of his or her experience on board-approved affidavits, or
another form specified by the board, which shall be certified under penalty of perjury by a pharmacist
under whose supervision such experience was obtained or by the pharmacist-in-charge at the pharmacy
while the pharmacist intern obtained the experience. Intern hours earned in another state may be
certified by the licensing agency of that state to document proof of those hours.

(c) An applicant for the examination who has been licensed as a pharmacist in any state for at least one
year, as certified by the licensing agency of that state, may submit this certification to satisfy the
required 1,500 hours of intern experience, provided that the applicant has obtained a minimum of 900
hours of pharmacy practice experience in a pharmacy as a pharmacist. Certification of an applicant’s
licensure in another state shall be submitted in writing and signed, under oath, by a duly authorized
official of the state in which the license is held.

(Amended by Stats. 2012, Ch. 799, Sec. 22. Effective January 1, 2013.)

http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/printCodeSectionWindow.xhtml 1/17/2014
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8§ 1728. Requirements for Examination.

(a) Prior to receiving authorization from the board to take the pharmacist licensure examinations
required by section 4200 of the Business and Professions Code, applicants shall submit to the board
the following:

(1) Proof of 1500 hours of pharmacy practice experience that meets the following requirements:

(A) A minimum of 900 hours of pharmacy practice experience obtained in a pharmacy.

(B) A maximum of 600 hours of pharmacy practice experience may be granted at the discretion of the
board for other experience substantially related to the practice of pharmacy.

(C) Experience in both community pharmacy and institutional pharmacy practice settings.

(D) Pharmacy practice experience that satisfies the requirements for both introductory and advanced
pharmacy practice experiences established by the Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education.

(2) Satisfactory proof that the applicant graduated from a recognized school of pharmacy.

(3) Fingerprints to obtain criminal history information from both the Department of Justice and the
United States Federal Bureau of Investigation pursuant to Business and Professions Code section 144.

(4) A signed copy of the examination security acknowledgment.

(5) A sealed, original Self Query Report from the National Practitioner Data Bank-Healthcare Integrity
and Protection Data Bank (NPDB-HIPDB), dated no earlier than 60 days before the date an application
for examination as a pharmacist is submitted to the board.

(b) Applicants who hold or held a pharmacist license in another state shall provide a current license
verification from each state in which the applicant holds or held a pharmacist license prior to being
authorized by the board to take the examinations.

(c) Applicants who graduated from a foreign school of pharmacy shall provide the board with
satisfactory proof of certification by the Foreign Pharmacy Graduate Examination Committee prior to
being authorized by the board to take the examinations.



California State Board of Pharmacy BUSINESS, CONSUMER SERVICES AND HOUSING AGENCY
1625 N. Market Blvd, Suite N219, Sacramento, CA 95834 DEPARTMENT OF CONSUMER AFFAIRS
Phone (916) 574-7900 GOVERNOR EDMUND G. BROWN JR.
Fax (916) 574-8618

www.pharmacy.ca.gov

Pharmacy Intern Hours Affidavit
Completed by the Supervising Pharmacist or Pharmacist-in-Charge

Prior to receiving authorization from the board to take the pharmacist licensure examination required by section
4200 of the Business and Professions Code, applicants shall submit to the California State Board of Pharmacy
satisfactory evidence of obtaining 1,500 intern hours of pharmacy practice experience when he or she submits
the pharmacist application. This affidavit must be completed by the pharmacist under whose supervision such
experience was obtained or by the pharmacist-in-charge at the pharmacy while the pharmacist intern obtained
the experience. Original affidavits are required. Photocopies or faxes will not be accepted. Any pharmacist
alterations or changes must be initialed by the supervising pharmacist or pharmacist-in-charge. All dates must
include the month, day, and year in order for the form to be accepted (present or current will not be accepted).

A. TO BE COMPLETED BY APPLICANT: (Please print or type)

Name of Applicant: Intern Number Date Issued Expiration Date

Residence Address: Number and Street City State Zip Code

B. TO BE COMPLETED BY THE SUPERVISING PHARMACIST OR PHARMACIST-IN-CHARGE

Name of Pharmacy Pharmacy License Number
Address of Pharmacy Number and Street City State Zip Code
Name of Supervising Pharmacist or Pharmacist-in- Pharmacist Contact Phone | Pharmacist License State Licensed
charge Number Number
( )
This is to certify that was employed or volunteered

as an intern pharmacist during the time set forth as follows:

From: / / to / /
(month/day/year) (month/day/year)

A total of 1,500 intern hours is required but does not have to be obtained in one pharmacy location. Please
indicate below the number of hours the intern pharmacist obtained while under your supervision.

Number of hours of pharmacy practice experience obtained in a pharmacy.

Number of hours of pharmacy practice experience substantially related to the practice of
Pharmacy. NOTE: A maximum of 600 hours may be granted at the discretion of the board.

| certify under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that all statements given under
section “B” of this form herein are true, and that to the best of my knowledge the experience thus gained by
this applicant meets the pharmacy practice experience obtained in a pharmacy as required by law. | further
certify that my license is not revoked, suspended, or on probation in any state in which | am now or have been
registered.

Pharmacist’'s Signature Date
17A-29 (6.13)


http:www.pharmacy.ca.gov

Attachment 2



Bill Text - SB-809 Controlled substances: reporting. Page 1 of 6

& Tu/
ANy é(('--['(l

foraeeet,
([]da / LEGISLATIVE INFORMATION
S, ’

SB-809 Controlled substances: reporting. (2013-2014)

Senate Bill No. 809

CHAPTER 400

An act to add Sections 208, 209, and 2196.8 to the Business and Professions Code, and to amend
Sections 11164.1, 11165, and 11165.1 of, and to add Section 11165.5 to, the Health and Safety Code,
relating to controlled substances.

[ Approved by Governor September 27, 2013. Filed with Secretary of State
September 27, 2013. ]

LEGISLATIVE COUNSEL'S DIGEST

SB 809, DeSaulnier. Controlled substances: reporting.

(1) Existing law classifies certain controlled substances into designated schedules. Existing law requires the
Department of Justice to maintain the Controlled Substance Utilization Review and Evaluation System (CURES)
for the electronic monitoring of the prescribing and dispensing of Schedule Il, Schedule 111, and Schedule 1V
controlled substances by all practitioners authorized to prescribe or dispense these controlled substances.

Existing law requires dispensing pharmacies and clinics to report, on a weekly basis, specified information for
each prescription of Schedule 11, Schedule Ill, or Schedule IV controlled substances, to the department, as
specified.

This bill would establish the CURES Fund within the State Treasury to receive funds to be allocated, upon
appropriation by the Legislature, to the Department of Justice for the purposes of funding CURES, and would
make related findings and declarations.

This bill would, beginning April 1, 2014, require an annual fee of $6 to be assessed on specified licensees,
including licensees authorized to prescribe, order, administer, furnish, or dispense controlled substances, and
require the regulating agency of each of those licensees to bill and collect that fee at the time of license
renewal. The bill would authorize the Department of Consumer Affairs to reduce, by regulation, that fee to the
reasonable cost of operating and maintaining CURES for the purpose of regulating those licensees, if the
reasonable regulatory cost is less than $6 per licensee. The bill would require the proceeds of the fee to be
deposited into the CURES Fund for the support of CURES, as specified. The bill would also permit specified
insurers, health care service plans, qualified manufacturers, and other donors to voluntarily contribute to the
CURES Fund, as described.

(2) Existing law requires the Medical Board of California to periodically develop and disseminate information and
educational materials regarding various subjects, including pain management techniques, to each licensed
physician and surgeon and to each general acute care hospital in California.

This bill would additionally require the board to periodically develop and disseminate to each licensed physician
and surgeon and to each general acute care hospital in California information and educational materials relating
to the assessment of a patient’s risk of abusing or diverting controlled substances and information relating to
CURES.

(3) Existing law permits a licensed health care practitioner, as specified, or a pharmacist to apply to the
Department of Justice to obtain approval to access information stored on the Internet regarding the controlled

http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/bilINavClient.xhtml?bill 1d=201320140SB809&sear... 1/17/2014
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substance history of a patient under his or her care. Existing law also authorizes the Department of Justice to
provide the history of controlled substances dispensed to an individual to licensed health care practitioners,
pharmacists, or both, providing care or services to the individual.

This bill would require, by January 1, 2016, or upon receipt of a federal Drug Enforcement Administration
registration, whichever occurs later, health care practitioners authorized to prescribe, order, administer, furnish,
or dispense controlled substances, as specified, and pharmacists to apply to the Department of Justice to obtain
approval to access information stored on the Internet regarding the controlled substance history of a patient
under their care. The bill would require the Department of Justice, in conjunction with the Department of
Consumer Affairs and certain licensing boards, to, among other things, develop a streamlined application and
approval process to provide access to the CURES database for licensed health care practitioners and
pharmacists. The bill would make other related and conforming changes.

Vote: majority Appropriation: no Fiscal Committee: yes Local Program: no

THE PEOPLE OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA DO ENACT AS FOLLOWS:

SECTION 1. The Legislature finds and declares all of the following:

(a) The Controlled Substance Utilization Review and Evaluation System (CURES) is a valuable preventive,
investigative, and educational tool for health care providers, regulatory agencies, educational researchers, and
law enforcement. Recent budget cuts to the Attorney General’s Division of Law Enforcement have resulted in
insufficient funding to support CURES and its Prescription Drug Monitoring Program (PDMP). The CURES PDMP is
necessary to ensure health care professionals have the necessary data to make informed treatment decisions
and to allow law enforcement to investigate diversion of prescription drugs. Without a dedicated funding source,
the CURES PDMP is not sustainable.

(b) Each year CURES responds to more than 800,000 requests from practitioners and pharmacists regarding all
of the following:

(1) Helping identify and deter drug abuse and diversion of prescription drugs through accurate and rapid
tracking of Schedule |1, Schedule 111, and Schedule IV controlled substances.

(2) Helping practitioners make prescribing decisions.
(3) Helping reduce misuse, abuse, and trafficking of those drugs.

(c) Schedule 11, Schedule 111, and Schedule 1V controlled substances have had deleterious effects on private
and public interests, including the misuse, abuse, and trafficking in dangerous prescription medications
resulting in injury and death. It is the intent of the Legislature to work with stakeholders to fully fund the
operation of CURES which seeks to mitigate those deleterious effects and serve as a tool for ensuring safe
patient care, and which has proven to be a cost-effective tool to help reduce the misuse, abuse, and trafficking
of those drugs.

(d) The following goals are critical to increase the effectiveness and functionality of CURES:

(1) Upgrading the CURES PDMP so that it is capable of accepting real-time updates and is accessible in real-
time, 24 hours a day, seven days a week.

(2) Upgrading the CURES PDMP in California so that it is capable of operating in conjunction with all national
prescription drug monitoring programs.

(3) Providing subscribers to prescription drug monitoring programs access to information relating to controlled
substances dispensed in California, including those dispensed through the United States Department of
Veterans Affairs, the Indian Health Service, the Department of Defense, and any other entity with authority to
dispense controlled substances in California.

(4) Upgrading the CURES PDMP so that it is capable of accepting the reporting of electronic prescription data,
thereby enabling more reliable, complete, and timely prescription monitoring.

SEC. 2. Section 208 is added to the Business and Professions Code, to read:

208. (a) Beginning April 1, 2014, a CURES fee of six dollars ($6) shall be assessed annually on each of the
licensees specified in subdivision (b) to pay the reasonable costs associated with operating and maintaining
CURES for the purpose of regulating those licensees. The fee assessed pursuant to this subdivision shall be
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billed and collected by the regulating agency of each licensee at the time of the licensee’s license renewal. If the
reasonable regulatory cost of operating and maintaining CURES is less than six dollars ($6) per licensee, the
Department of Consumer Affairs may, by regulation, reduce the fee established by this section to the
reasonable regulatory cost.

(b) (1) Licensees authorized pursuant to Section 11150 of the Health and Safety Code to prescribe, order,
administer, furnish, or dispense Schedule Il, Schedule Ill, or Schedule IV controlled substances or pharmacists
licensed pursuant to Chapter 9 (commencing with Section 4000) of Division 2.

(2) Wholesalers and nonresident wholesalers of dangerous drugs licensed pursuant to Article 11 (commencing
with Section 4160) of Chapter 9 of Division 2.

(3) Nongovernmental clinics licensed pursuant to Article 13 (commencing with Section 4180) and Article 14
(commencing with Section 4190) of Chapter 9 of Division 2.

(4) Nongovernmental pharmacies licensed pursuant to Article 7 (commencing with Section 4110) of Chapter 9
of Division 2.

(c) The funds collected pursuant to subdivision (a) shall be deposited in the CURES Fund, which is hereby
created within the State Treasury. Moneys in the CURES Fund shall, upon appropriation by the Legislature, be
available to the Department of Consumer Affairs to reimburse the Department of Justice for costs to operate
and maintain CURES for the purposes of regulating the licensees specified in subdivision (b).

(d) The Department of Consumer Affairs shall contract with the Department of Justice on behalf of the Medical
Board of California, the Dental Board of California, the California State Board of Pharmacy, the Veterinary
Medical Board, the Board of Registered Nursing, the Physician Assistant Board of the Medical Board of
California, the Osteopathic Medical Board of California, the Naturopathic Medicine Committee of the Osteopathic
Medical Board, the State Board of Optometry, and the California Board of Podiatric Medicine to operate and
maintain CURES for the purposes of regulating the licensees specified in subdivision (b).

SEC. 3. Section 209 is added to the Business and Professions Code, to read:

209. The Department of Justice, in conjunction with the Department of Consumer Affairs and the boards and
committees identified in subdivision (d) of Section 208, shall do all of the following:

(a) ldentify and implement a streamlined application and approval process to provide access to the CURES
Prescription Drug Monitoring Program (PDMP) database for licensed health care practitioners eligible to
prescribe, order, administer, furnish, or dispense Schedule 11, Schedule Ill, or Schedule IV controlled
substances and for pharmacists. Every reasonable effort shall be made to implement a streamlined application
and approval process that a licensed health care practitioner or pharmacist can complete at the time that he or
she is applying for licensure or renewing his or her license.

(b) Identify necessary procedures to enable licensed health care practitioners and pharmacists with access to
the CURES PDMP to delegate their authority to order reports from the CURES PDMP.

(c) Develop a procedure to enable health care practitioners who do not have a federal Drug Enforcement
Administration (DEA) number to opt out of applying for access to the CURES PDMP.

SEC. 4. Section 2196.8 is added to the Business and Professions Code, to read:

2196.8. The board shall periodically develop and disseminate information and educational material regarding
assessing a patient’s risk of abusing or diverting controlled substances and information relating to the
Controlled Substance Utilization Review and Evaluation System (CURES), described in Section 11165 of the
Health and Safety Code, to each licensed physician and surgeon and to each general acute care hospital in this
state. The board shall consult with the State Department of Public Health, the boards and committees specified
in subdivision (d) of Section 208, and the Department of Justice in developing the materials to be distributed
pursuant to this section.

SEC. 5. Section 11164.1 of the Health and Safety Code is amended to read:

11164.1. (a) (1) Notwithstanding any other provision of law, a prescription for a controlled substance issued by a
prescriber in another state for delivery to a patient in another state may be dispensed by a California pharmacy,
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if the prescription conforms with the requirements for controlled substance prescriptions in the state in which
the controlled substance was prescribed.

(2) All prescriptions for Schedule I, Schedule 111, and Schedule IV controlled substances dispensed pursuant to
this subdivision shall be reported by the dispensing pharmacy to the Department of Justice in the manner
prescribed by subdivision (d) of Section 11165.

(b) Pharmacies may dispense prescriptions for Schedule 111, Schedule 1V, and Schedule V controlled substances
from out-of-state prescribers pursuant to Section 4005 of the Business and Professions Code and Section 1717
of Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations.

SEC. 6. Section 11165 of the Health and Safety Code is amended to read:

11165. (a) To assist health care practitioners in their efforts to ensure appropriate prescribing, ordering,
administering, furnishing, and dispensing of controlled substances, law enforcement and regulatory agencies in
their efforts to control the diversion and resultant abuse of Schedule Il, Schedule 1Il, and Schedule IV
controlled substances, and for statistical analysis, education, and research, the Department of Justice shall,
contingent upon the availability of adequate funds in the CURES Fund, maintain the Controlled Substance
Utilization Review and Evaluation System (CURES) for the electronic monitoring of, and Internet access to

information regarding, the prescribing and dispensing of Schedule 11, Schedule 111, and Schedule IV controlled
substances by all practitioners authorized to prescribe, order, administer, furnish, or dispense these controlled
substances.

(b) The Department of Justice may seek and use grant funds to pay the costs incurred by the operation and
maintenance of CURES. The department shall annually report to the Legislature and make available to the
public the amount and source of funds it receives for support of CURES.

(c) (1) The operation of CURES shall comply with all applicable federal and state privacy and security laws and
regulations.

(2) CURES shall operate under existing provisions of law to safeguard the privacy and confidentiality of patients.
Data obtained from CURES shall only be provided to appropriate state, local, and federal public agencies for
disciplinary, civil, or criminal purposes and to other agencies or entities, as determined by the Department of
Justice, for the purpose of educating practitioners and others in lieu of disciplinary, civil, or criminal actions.
Data may be provided to public or private entities, as approved by the Department of Justice, for educational,
peer review, statistical, or research purposes, provided that patient information, including any information that
may identify the patient, is not compromised. Further, data disclosed to any individual or agency as described
in this subdivision shall not be disclosed, sold, or transferred to any third party. The Department of Justice shall
establish policies, procedures, and regulations regarding the use, access, evaluation, management,
implementation, operation, storage, disclosure, and security of the information within CURES, consistent with
this subdivision.

(d) For each prescription for a Schedule 11, Schedule 111, or Schedule IV controlled substance, as defined in the
controlled substances schedules in federal law and regulations, specifically Sections 1308.12, 1308.13, and
1308.14, respectively, of Title 21 of the Code of Federal Regulations, the dispensing pharmacy, clinic, or other
dispenser shall report the following information to the Department of Justice as soon as reasonably possible, but
not more than seven days after the date a controlled substance is dispensed, in a format specified by the
Department of Justice:

(1) Full name, address, and, if available, telephone number of the ultimate user or research subject, or contact
information as determined by the Secretary of the United States Department of Health and Human Services,
and the gender, and date of birth of the ultimate user.

(2) The prescriber’'s category of licensure, license number, national provider identifier (NPI) number, if
applicable, the federal controlled substance registration number, and the state medical license number of any
prescriber using the federal controlled substance registration number of a government-exempt facility.

(3) Pharmacy prescription number, license number, NPI number, and federal controlled substance registration
number.

(4) National Drug Code (NDC) number of the controlled substance dispensed.

(5) Quantity of the controlled substance dispensed.
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(6) International Statistical Classification of Diseases, 9th revision (ICD-9) or 10th revision (ICD-10) Code, if
available.

(7) Number of refills ordered.

(8) Whether the drug was dispensed as a refill of a prescription or as a first-time request.
(9) Date of origin of the prescription.

(10) Date of dispensing of the prescription.

(e) The Department of Justice may invite stakeholders to assist, advise, and make recommendations on the
establishment of rules and regulations necessary to ensure the proper administration and enforcement of the
CURES database. All prescriber and dispenser invitees shall be licensed by one of the boards or committees
identified in subdivision (d) of Section 208 of the Business and Professions Code, in active practice in California,
and a regular user of CURES.

(f) The Department of Justice shall, prior to upgrading CURES, consult with prescribers licensed by one of the
boards or committees identified in subdivision (d) of Section 208 of the Business and Professions Code, one or
more of the boards or committees identified in subdivision (d) of Section 208 of the Business and Professions
Code, and any other stakeholder identified by the department, for the purpose of identifying desirable
capabilities and upgrades to the CURES Prescription Drug Monitoring Program (PDMP).

(g) The Department of Justice may establish a process to educate authorized subscribers of the CURES PDMP on
how to access and use the CURES PDMP.

SEC. 7. Section 11165.1 of the Health and Safety Code is amended to read:

11165.1. (a) (1) (A) (i) A health care practitioner authorized to prescribe, order, administer, furnish, or dispense
Schedule 11, Schedule 111, or Schedule IV controlled substances pursuant to Section 11150 shall, before January
1, 2016, or upon receipt of a federal Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA) registration, whichever occurs
later, submit an application developed by the Department of Justice to obtain approval to access information
online regarding the controlled substance history of a patient that is stored on the Internet and maintained
within the Department of Justice, and, upon approval, the department shall release to that practitioner the
electronic history of controlled substances dispensed to an individual under his or her care based on data
contained in the CURES Prescription Drug Monitoring Program (PDMP).

(ii) A pharmacist shall, before January 1, 2016, or upon licensure, whichever occurs later, submit an application
developed by the Department of Justice to obtain approval to access information online regarding the controlled
substance history of a patient that is stored on the Internet and maintained within the Department of Justice,
and, upon approval, the department shall release to that pharmacist the electronic history of controlled
substances dispensed to an individual under his or her care based on data contained in the CURES PDMP.

(B) An application may be denied, or a subscriber may be suspended, for reasons which include, but are not
limited to, the following:

(i) Materially falsifying an application for a subscriber.
(ii) Failure to maintain effective controls for access to the patient activity report.
(iii) Suspended or revoked federal DEA registration.

(iv) Any subscriber who is arrested for a violation of law governing controlled substances or any other law for
which the possession or use of a controlled substance is an element of the crime.

(v) Any subscriber accessing information for any other reason than caring for his or her patients.

(C) Any authorized subscriber shall notify the Department of Justice within 30 days of any changes to the
subscriber account.

(2) A health care practitioner authorized to prescribe, order, administer, furnish, or dispense Schedule II,
Schedule 111, or Schedule IV controlled substances pursuant to Section 11150 or a pharmacist shall be deemed
to have complied with paragraph (1) if the licensed health care practitioner or pharmacist has been approved to
access the CURES database through the process developed pursuant to subdivision (a) of Section 209 of the
Business and Professions Code.
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(b) Any request for, or release of, a controlled substance history pursuant to this section shall be made in
accordance with guidelines developed by the Department of Justice.

(c) In order to prevent the inappropriate, improper, or illegal use of Schedule Il, Schedule Ill, or Schedule IV
controlled substances, the Department of Justice may initiate the referral of the history of controlled substances
dispensed to an individual based on data contained in CURES to licensed health care practitioners, pharmacists,
or both, providing care or services to the individual.

(d) The history of controlled substances dispensed to an individual based on data contained in CURES that is
received by a practitioner or pharmacist from the Department of Justice pursuant to this section shall be
considered medical information subject to the provisions of the Confidentiality of Medical Information Act
contained in Part 2.6 (commencing with Section 56) of Division 1 of the Civil Code.

(e) Information concerning a patient’s controlled substance history provided to a prescriber or pharmacist
pursuant to this section shall include prescriptions for controlled substances listed in Sections 1308.12,
1308.13, and 1308.14 of Title 21 of the Code of Federal Regulations.

SEC. 8. Section 11165.5 is added to the Health and Safety Code, to read:

11165.5. (a) The Department of Justice may seek voluntarily contributed private funds from insurers, health care
service plans, qualified manufacturers, and other donors for the purpose of supporting CURES. Insurers, health
care service plans, qualified manufacturers, and other donors may contribute by submitting their payment to
the Controller for deposit into the CURES Fund established pursuant to subdivision (c) of Section 208 of the
Business and Professions Code. The department shall make information about the amount and the source of all
private funds it receives for support of CURES available to the public. Contributions to the CURES Fund pursuant
to this subdivision shall be nondeductible for state tax purposes.

(b) For purposes of this section, the following definitions apply:

(1) “Controlled substance” means a drug, substance, or immediate precursor listed in any schedule in Section
11055, 11056, or 11057 of the Health and Safety Code.

(2) “Health care service plan” means an entity licensed pursuant to the Knox-Keene Health Care Service Plan
Act of 1975 (Chapter 2.2 (commencing with Section 1340) of Division 2 of the Health and Safety Code).

(3) “Insurer” means an admitted insurer writing health insurance, as defined in Section 106 of the Insurance
Code, and an admitted insurer writing workers’ compensation insurance, as defined in Section 109 of the
Insurance Code.

(4) “Qualified manufacturer” means a manufacturer of a controlled substance, but does not mean a wholesaler
or nonresident wholesaler of dangerous drugs, regulated pursuant to Article 11 (commencing with Section
4160) of Chapter 9 of Division 2 of the Business and Professions Code, a veterinary food-animal drug retailer,
regulated pursuant to Article 15 (commencing with Section 4196) of Chapter 9 of Division 2 of the Business and
Professions Code, or an individual regulated by the Medical Board of California, the Dental Board of California,
the California State Board of Pharmacy, the Veterinary Medical Board, the Board of Registered Nursing, the
Physician Assistant Committee of the Medical Board of California, the Osteopathic Medical Board of California,
the State Board of Optometry, or the California Board of Podiatric Medicine.
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SB-493 Pharmacy practice. (2013-2014)

Senate Bill No. 493

CHAPTER 469

An act to amend Sections 733, 4040, 4050, 4051, 4052, 4052.3, 4060, 4076, 4111, and 4174 of, and
to add Sections 4016.5, 4052.6, 4052.8, 4052.9, 4210, and 4233 to, the Business and Professions
Code, relating to pharmacy.

[ Approved by Governor October 01, 2013. Filed with Secretary of State
October 01, 2013. ]

LEGISLATIVE COUNSEL'S DIGEST

SB 493, Hernandez. Pharmacy practice.

The Pharmacy Law provides for the licensing and regulation of pharmacists by the California State Board of
Pharmacy in the Department of Consumer Affairs. The law specifies the functions pharmacists are authorized to
perform, including to administer, orally or topically, drugs and biologicals pursuant to a prescriber’s order, and
to administer immunizations pursuant to a protocol with a prescriber. Pharmacists may also furnish emergency
contraception drug therapy pursuant to standardized procedures if they have completed a training program. A
violation of the Pharmacy Law is a crime.

This bill, instead, would authorize a pharmacist to administer drugs and biological products that have been
ordered by a prescriber. The bill would authorize pharmacists to perform other functions, including, among
other things, to furnish self-administered hormonal contraceptives, nicotine replacement products, and
prescription medications not requiring a diagnosis that are recommended for international travelers, as
specified. Additionally, the bill would authorize pharmacists to order and interpret tests for the purpose of
monitoring and managing the efficacy and toxicity of drug therapies, and to independently initiate and
administer routine vaccinations, as specified. This bill also would establish board recognition for an advanced
practice pharmacist, as defined, would specify the criteria for that recognition, and would specify additional
functions that may be performed by an advanced practice pharmacist, including, among other things,
performing patient assessments, and certain other functions, as specified. The bill would authorize the board,
by regulation, to set the fee for the issuance and renewal of advanced practice pharmacist recognition at the
reasonable cost of regulating advanced practice pharmacists pursuant to these provisions, not to exceed $300.

Because a violation of these provisions would be a crime, the bill would impose a state-mandated local
program.

The bill would make other conforming and technical changes.

This bill would incorporate additional changes in Section 4076 of the Business and Professions Code proposed
by SB 205, that would become operative only if SB 205 and this bill are both chaptered and become effective on
or before January 1, 2014, and this bill is chaptered last.

The California Constitution requires the state to reimburse local agencies and school districts for certain costs
mandated by the state. Statutory provisions establish procedures for making that reimbursement.

This bill would provide that no reimbursement is required by this act for a specified reason.

Vote: majority Appropriation: no Fiscal Committee: yes Local Program: yes
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THE PEOPLE OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA DO ENACT AS FOLLOWS:
SECTION 1. Section 733 of the Business and Professions Code is amended to read:

733. (a) A licentiate shall not obstruct a patient in obtaining a prescription drug or device that has been legally
prescribed or ordered for that patient. A violation of this section constitutes unprofessional conduct by the
licentiate and shall subject the licentiate to disciplinary or administrative action by his or her licensing agency.

(b) Notwithstanding any other law, a licentiate shall dispense drugs and devices, as described in subdivision (a)
of Section 4024, pursuant to a lawful order or prescription unless one of the following circumstances exists:

(1) Based solely on the licentiate’s professional training and judgment, dispensing pursuant to the order or the
prescription is contrary to law, or the licentiate determines that the prescribed drug or device would cause a
harmful drug interaction or would otherwise adversely affect the patient’s medical condition.

(2) The prescription drug or device is not in stock. If an order, other than an order described in Section 4019,
or prescription cannot be dispensed because the drug or device is not in stock, the licentiate shall take one of
the following actions:

(A) Immediately notify the patient and arrange for the drug or device to be delivered to the site or directly to
the patient in a timely manner.

(B) Promptly transfer the prescription to another pharmacy known to stock the prescription drug or device that
is near enough to the site from which the prescription or order is transferred, to ensure the patient has timely
access to the drug or device.

(C) Return the prescription to the patient and refer the patient. The licentiate shall make a reasonable effort to
refer the patient to a pharmacy that stocks the prescription drug or device that is near enough to the referring
site to ensure that the patient has timely access to the drug or device.

(3) The licentiate refuses on ethical, moral, or religious grounds to dispense a drug or device pursuant to an
order or prescription. A licentiate may decline to dispense a prescription drug or device on this basis only if the
licentiate has previously notified his or her employer, in writing, of the drug or class of drugs to which he or she
objects, and the licentiate’s employer can, without creating undue hardship, provide a reasonable
accommodation of the licentiate’s objection. The licentiate’s employer shall establish protocols that ensure that
the patient has timely access to the prescribed drug or device despite the licentiate’s refusal to dispense the
prescription or order. For purposes of this section, “reasonable accommodation” and “undue hardship” shall
have the same meaning as applied to those terms pursuant to subdivision (I) of Section 12940 of the
Government Code.

(c) For the purposes of this section, “prescription drug or device” has the same meaning as the definition in
Section 4022.

(d) This section applies to emergency contraception drug therapy and self-administered hormonal
contraceptives described in Section 4052.3.

(e) This section imposes no duty on a licentiate to dispense a drug or device pursuant to a prescription or order
without payment for the drug or device, including payment directly by the patient or through a third-party
payer accepted by the licentiate or payment of any required copayment by the patient.

(f) The notice to consumers required by Section 4122 shall include a statement that describes patients’ rights
relative to the requirements of this section.

SEC. 2. Section 4016.5 is added to the Business and Professions Code, to read:

4016.5. “Advanced practice pharmacist” means a licensed pharmacist who has been recognized as an advanced
practice pharmacist by the board, pursuant to Section 4210. A board-recognized advanced practice pharmacist
is entitled to practice advanced practice pharmacy, as described in Section 4052.6, within or outside of a

licensed pharmacy as authorized by this chapter.

SEC. 3. Section 4040 of the Business and Professions Code is amended to read:

4040. (a) “Prescription” means an oral, written, or electronic transmission order that is both of the following:
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(1) Given individually for the person or persons for whom ordered that includes all of the following:
(A) The name or names and address of the patient or patients.

(B) The name and quantity of the drug or device prescribed and the directions for use.

(C) The date of issue.

(D) Either rubber stamped, typed, or printed by hand or typeset, the name, address, and telephone number of
the prescriber, his or her license classification, and his or her federal registry number, if a controlled substance
is prescribed.

(E) A legible, clear notice of the condition or purpose for which the drug is being prescribed, if requested by the
patient or patients.

(F) If in writing, signed by the prescriber issuing the order, or the certified nurse-midwife, nurse practitioner,
physician assistant, or naturopathic doctor who issues a drug order pursuant to Section 2746.51, 2836.1,
3502.1, or 3640.5, respectively, or the pharmacist who issues a drug order pursuant to Section 4052.1, 4052.2,
or 4052.6.

(2) Issued by a physician, dentist, optometrist, podiatrist, veterinarian, or naturopathic doctor pursuant to
Section 3640.7 or, if a drug order is issued pursuant to Section 2746.51, 2836.1, 3502.1, or 3460.5, by a
certified nurse-midwife, nurse practitioner, physician assistant, or naturopathic doctor licensed in this state, or
pursuant to Section 4052.1, 4052.2, or 4052.6 by a pharmacist licensed in this state.

(b) Notwithstanding subdivision (a), a written order of the prescriber for a dangerous drug, except for any
Schedule 11 controlled substance, that contains at least the name and signature of the prescriber, the name and
address of the patient in a manner consistent with paragraph (2) of subdivision (a) of Section 11164 of the
Health and Safety Code, the name and quantity of the drug prescribed, directions for use, and the date of issue
may be treated as a prescription by the dispensing pharmacist as long as any additional information required by
subdivision (@) is readily retrievable in the pharmacy. In the event of a conflict between this subdivision and
Section 11164 of the Health and Safety Code, Section 11164 of the Health and Safety Code shall prevail.

(c) “Electronic transmission prescription” includes both image and data prescriptions. “Electronic image
transmission prescription” means any prescription order for which a facsimile of the order is received by a
pharmacy from a licensed prescriber. “Electronic data transmission prescription” means any prescription order,
other than an electronic image transmission prescription, that is electronically transmitted from a licensed
prescriber to a pharmacy.

(d) The use of commonly used abbreviations shall not invalidate an otherwise valid prescription.

(e) Nothing in the amendments made to this section (formerly Section 4036) at the 1969 Regular Session of
the Legislature shall be construed as expanding or limiting the right that a chiropractor, while acting within the
scope of his or her license, may have to prescribe a device.

SEC. 4. Section 4050 of the Business and Professions Code is amended to read:

4050. (a) In recognition of and consistent with the decisions of the appellate courts of this state, the Legislature
hereby declares the practice of pharmacy to be a profession.

(b) Pharmacy practice is a dynamic, patient-oriented health service that applies a scientific body of knowledge
to improve and promote patient health by means of appropriate drug use, drug-related therapy, and
communication for clinical and consultative purposes. Pharmacy practice is continually evolving to include more
sophisticated and comprehensive patient care activities.

(c) The Legislature further declares that pharmacists are health care providers who have the authority to
provide health care services.

SEC. 5. Section 4051 of the Business and Professions Code is amended to read:
4051. (a) Except as otherwise provided in this chapter, it is unlawful for any person to manufacture, compound,

furnish, sell, or dispense a dangerous drug or dangerous device, or to dispense or compound a prescription
pursuant to Section 4040 of a prescriber unless he or she is a pharmacist under this chapter.
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(b) Notwithstanding any other law, a pharmacist may authorize the initiation of a prescription, pursuant to
Section 4052.1, 4052.2, 4052.3, or 4052.6, and otherwise provide clinical advice, services, information, or
patient consultation, as set forth in this chapter, if all of the following conditions are met:

(1) The clinical advice, services, information, or patient consultation is provided to a health care professional or
to a patient.

(2) The pharmacist has access to prescription, patient profile, or other relevant medical information for
purposes of patient and clinical consultation and advice.

(3) Access to the information described in paragraph (2) is secure from unauthorized access and use.
SEC. 6. Section 4052 of the Business and Professions Code is amended to read:

4052. (a) Notwithstanding any other law, a pharmacist may:

(1) Furnish a reasonable quantity of compounded drug product to a prescriber for office use by the prescriber.
(2) Transmit a valid prescription to another pharmacist.

(3) Administer drugs and biological products that have been ordered by a prescriber.

(4) Perform procedures or functions in a licensed health care facility as authorized by Section 4052.1.

(5) Perform procedures or functions as part of the care provided by a health care facility, a licensed home
health agency, a licensed clinic in which there is a physician oversight, a provider who contracts with a licensed
health care service plan with regard to the care or services provided to the enrollees of that health care service
plan, or a physician, as authorized by Section 4052.2.

(6) Perform procedures or functions as authorized by Section 4052.6.

(7) Manufacture, measure, fit to the patient, or sell and repair dangerous devices, or furnish instructions to the
patient or the patient’s representative concerning the use of those devices.

(8) Provide consultation, training, and education to patients about drug therapy, disease management, and
disease prevention.

(9) Provide professional information, including clinical or pharmacological information, advice, or consultation to
other health care professionals, and participate in multidisciplinary review of patient progress, including
appropriate access to medical records.

(10) Furnish the medications described in subparagraph (A) in accordance with subparagraph (B):

(A) (1) Emergency contraception drug therapy and self-administered hormonal contraceptives, as authorized by
Section 4052.3.

(2) Nicotine replacement products, as authorized by Section 4052.9.

(3) Prescription medications not requiring a diagnosis that are recommended by the federal Centers for Disease
Control and Prevention for individuals traveling outside of the United States.

(B) The pharmacist shall notify the patient’s primary care provider of any drugs or devices furnished to the
patient, or enter the appropriate information in a patient record system shared with the primary care provider,
as permitted by that primary care provider. If the patient does not have a primary care provider, the
pharmacist shall provide the patient with a written record of the drugs or devices furnished and advise the
patient to consult a physician of the patient’s choice.

(11) Administer immunizations pursuant to a protocol with a prescriber.

(12) Order and interpret tests for the purpose of monitoring and managing the efficacy and toxicity of drug
therapies. A pharmacist who orders and interprets tests pursuant to this paragraph shall ensure that the
ordering of those tests is done in coordination with the patient’s primary care provider or diagnosing prescriber,
as appropriate, including promptly transmitting written notification to the patient’s diagnosing prescriber or
entering the appropriate information in a patient record system shared with the prescriber, when available and
as permitted by that prescriber.
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(b) A pharmacist who is authorized to issue an order to initiate or adjust a controlled substance therapy
pursuant to this section shall personally register with the federal Drug Enforcement Administration.

(c) This section does not affect the applicable requirements of law relating to either of the following:
(1) Maintaining the confidentiality of medical records.

(2) The licensing of a health care facility.
SEC. 7. Section 4052.3 of the Business and Professions Code is amended to read:

4052.3. (a) (1) Notwithstanding any other law, a pharmacist may furnish self-administered hormonal
contraceptives in accordance with standardized procedures or protocols developed and approved by both the
board and the Medical Board of California in consultation with the American Congress of Obstetricians and
Gynecologists, the California Pharmacists Association, and other appropriate entities. The standardized
procedure or protocol shall require that the patient use a self-screening tool that will identify patient risk factors
for use of self-administered hormonal contraceptives, based on the current United States Medical Eligibility
Criteria (USMEC) for Contraceptive Use developed by the federal Centers for Disease Control and Prevention,
and that the pharmacist refer the patient to the patient’s primary care provider or, if the patient does not have
a primary care provider, to nearby clinics, upon furnishing a self-administered hormonal contraceptive pursuant
to this subdivision, or if it is determined that use of a self-administered hormonal contraceptive is not
recommended.

(2) The board and the Medical Board of California are both authorized to ensure compliance with this
subdivision, and each board is specifically charged with the enforcement of this subdivision with respect to its
respective licensees. This subdivision does not expand the authority of a pharmacist to prescribe any
prescription medication.

(b) (1) Notwithstanding any other law, a pharmacist may furnish emergency contraception drug therapy in
accordance with either of the following:

(A) Standardized procedures or protocols developed by the pharmacist and an authorized prescriber who is
acting within his or her scope of practice.

(B) Standardized procedures or protocols developed and approved by both the board and the Medical Board of
California in consultation with the American Congress of Obstetricians and Gynecologists, the California
Pharmacists Association, and other appropriate entities. The board and the Medical Board of California are both
authorized to ensure compliance with this clause, and each board is specifically charged with the enforcement of
this provision with respect to its respective licensees. This subdivision does not expand the authority of a
pharmacist to prescribe any prescription medication.

(2) Prior to performing a procedure authorized under this subdivision, a pharmacist shall complete a training
program on emergency contraception that consists of at least one hour of approved continuing education on
emergency contraception drug therapy.

(3) A pharmacist, pharmacist’s employer, or pharmacist’s agent shall not directly charge a patient a separate
consultation fee for emergency contraception drug therapy services initiated pursuant to this subdivision, but
may charge an administrative fee not to exceed ten dollars ($10) above the retail cost of the drug. Upon an
oral, telephonic, electronic, or written request from a patient or customer, a pharmacist or pharmacist’s
employee shall disclose the total retail price that a consumer would pay for emergency contraception drug
therapy. As used in this paragraph, total retail price includes providing the consumer with specific information
regarding the price of the emergency contraception drugs and the price of the administrative fee charged. This
limitation is not intended to interfere with other contractually agreed-upon terms between a pharmacist, a
pharmacist’s employer, or a pharmacist’s agent, and a health care service plan or insurer. Patients who are
insured or covered and receive a pharmacy benefit that covers the cost of emergency contraception shall not be
required to pay an administrative fee. These patients shall be required to pay copayments pursuant to the
terms and conditions of their coverage. This paragraph shall become inoperative for dedicated emergency
contraception drugs if these drugs are reclassified as over-the-counter products by the federal Food and Drug
Administration.

(4) A pharmacist shall not require a patient to provide individually identifiable medical information that is not
specified in Section 1707.1 of Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations before initiating emergency
contraception drug therapy pursuant to this subdivision.
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(c) For each emergency contraception drug therapy or self-administered hormonal contraception initiated
pursuant to this section, the pharmacist shall provide the recipient of the drug with a standardized factsheet
that includes, but is not limited to, the indications and contraindications for use of the drug, the appropriate
method for using the drug, the need for medical followup, and other appropriate information. The board shall
develop this form in consultation with the State Department of Public Health, the American Congress of
Obstetricians and Gynecologists, the California Pharmacists Association, and other health care organizations.
This section does not preclude the use of existing publications developed by nationally recognized medical
organizations.

SEC. 8. Section 4052.6 is added to the Business and Professions Code, to read:

4052.6. (a) A pharmacist recognized by the board as an advanced practice pharmacist may do all of the
following:

(1) Perform patient assessments.
(2) Order and interpret drug therapy-related tests.
(3) Refer patients to other health care providers.

(4) Participate in the evaluation and management of diseases and health conditions in collaboration with other
health care providers.

(5) Initiate, adjust, or discontinue drug therapy in the manner specified in paragraph (4) of subdivision (a) of
Section 4052.2.

(b) A pharmacist who adjusts or discontinues drug therapy shall promptly transmit written notification to the
patient’s diagnosing prescriber or enter the appropriate information in a patient record system shared with the
prescriber, as permitted by that prescriber. A pharmacist who initiates drug therapy shall promptly transmit
written notification to, or enter the appropriate information into, a patient record system shared with the
patient’s primary care provider or diagnosing provider, as permitted by that provider.

(c) This section shall not interfere with a physician’s order to dispense a prescription drug as written, or other
order of similar meaning.

(d) Prior to initiating or adjusting a controlled substance therapy pursuant to this section, a pharmacist shall
personally register with the federal Drug Enforcement Administration.

(e) A pharmacist who orders and interprets tests pursuant to paragraph (2) of subdivision (a) shall ensure that
the ordering of those tests is done in coordination with the patient’s primary care provider or diagnosing
prescriber, as appropriate, including promptly transmitting written notification to the patient’s diagnosing
prescriber or entering the appropriate information in a patient record system shared with the prescriber, when
available and as permitted by that prescriber.

SEC. 9. Section 4052.8 is added to the Business and Professions Code, to read:

4052.8. (a) In addition to the authority provided in paragraph (11) of subdivision (a) of Section 4052, a
pharmacist may independently initiate and administer vaccines listed on the routine immunization schedules
recommended by the federal Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices (ACIP), in compliance with
individual ACIP vaccine recommendations, and published by the federal Centers for Disease Control and
Prevention (CDC) for persons three years of age and older.

(b) In order to initiate and administer an immunization described in subdivision (a), a pharmacist shall do all of
the following:

(1) Complete an immunization training program endorsed by the CDC or the Accreditation Council for Pharmacy
Education that, at a minimum, includes hands-on injection technique, clinical evaluation of indications and
contraindications of vaccines, and the recognition and treatment of emergency reactions to vaccines, and shall
maintain that training.

(2) Be certified in basic life support.

(3) Comply with all state and federal recordkeeping and reporting requirements, including providing
documentation to the patient’s primary care provider and entering information in the appropriate immunization
registry designated by the immunization branch of the State Department of Public Health.
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(c) A pharmacist administering immunizations pursuant to this section, or paragraph (11) of subdivision (a) of
Section 4052, may also initiate and administer epinephrine or diphenhydramine by injection for the treatment
of a severe allergic reaction.

SEC. 10. Section 4052.9 is added to the Business and Professions Code, to read:

4052.9. (a) A pharmacist may furnish nicotine replacement products approved by the federal Food and Drug
Administration for use by prescription only in accordance with standardized procedures and protocols developed
and approved by both the board and the Medical Board of California in consultation with other appropriate
entities and provide smoking cessation services if all of the following conditions are met:

(1) The pharmacist maintains records of all prescription drugs and devices furnished for a period of at least
three years for purposes of notifying other health care providers and monitoring the patient.

(2) The pharmacist notifies the patient’s primary care provider of any drugs or devices furnished to the patient,
or enters the appropriate information in a patient record system shared with the primary care provider, as
permitted by that primary care provider. If the patient does not have a primary care provider, the pharmacist
provides the patient with a written record of the drugs or devices furnished and advises the patient to consult a
physician of the patient’s choice.

(3) The pharmacist is certified in smoking cessation therapy by an organization recognized by the board.

(4) The pharmacist completes one hour of continuing education focused on smoking cessation therapy
biennially.

(b) The board and the Medical Board of California are both authorized to ensure compliance with this section,
and each board is specifically charged with the enforcement of this section with respect to their respective
licensees. Nothing in this section shall be construed to expand the authority of a pharmacist to prescribe any
other prescription medication.

SEC. 11. Section 4060 of the Business and Professions Code is amended to read:

4060. A person shall not possess any controlled substance, except that furnished to a person upon the
prescription of a physician, dentist, podiatrist, optometrist, veterinarian, or naturopathic doctor pursuant to
Section 3640.7, or furnished pursuant to a drug order issued by a certified nurse-midwife pursuant to Section
2746.51, a nurse practitioner pursuant to Section 2836.1, a physician assistant pursuant to Section 3502.1, a
naturopathic doctor pursuant to Section 3640.5, or a pharmacist pursuant to Section 4052.1, 4052.2, or
4052.6. This section does not apply to the possession of any controlled substance by a manufacturer,
wholesaler, pharmacy, pharmacist, physician, podiatrist, dentist, optometrist, veterinarian, naturopathic doctor,
certified nurse-midwife, nurse practitioner, or physician assistant, if in stock in containers correctly labeled with
the name and address of the supplier or producer.

This section does not authorize a certified nurse-midwife, a nurse practitioner, a physician assistant, or a
naturopathic doctor, to order his or her own stock of dangerous drugs and devices.

SEC. 12. Section 4076 of the Business and Professions Code is amended to read:

4076. (a) A pharmacist shall not dispense any prescription except in a container that meets the requirements of
state and federal law and is correctly labeled with all of the following:

(1) Except when the prescriber or the certified nurse-midwife who functions pursuant to a standardized
procedure or protocol described in Section 2746.51, the nurse practitioner who functions pursuant to a
standardized procedure described in Section 2836.1 or protocol, the physician assistant who functions pursuant
to Section 3502.1, the naturopathic doctor who functions pursuant to a standardized procedure or protocol
described in Section 3640.5, or the pharmacist who functions pursuant to a policy, procedure, or protocol
pursuant to Section 4052.1, 4052.2, or 4052.6 orders otherwise, either the manufacturer’s trade name of the
drug or the generic name and the name of the manufacturer. Commonly used abbreviations may be used.
Preparations containing two or more active ingredients may be identified by the manufacturer’s trade name or
the commonly used name or the principal active ingredients.

(2) The directions for the use of the drug.

(3) The name of the patient or patients.
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(4) The name of the prescriber or, if applicable, the name of the certified nurse-midwife who functions pursuant
to a standardized procedure or protocol described in Section 2746.51, the nurse practitioner who functions
pursuant to a standardized procedure described in Section 2836.1 or protocol, the physician assistant who
functions pursuant to Section 3502.1, the naturopathic doctor who functions pursuant to a standardized
procedure or protocol described in Section 3640.5, or the pharmacist who functions pursuant to a policy,
procedure, or protocol pursuant to Section 4052.1, 4052.2, or 4052.6.

(5) The date of issue.

(6) The name and address of the pharmacy, and prescription number or other means of identifying the
prescription.

(7) The strength of the drug or drugs dispensed.
(8) The quantity of the drug or drugs dispensed.
(9) The expiration date of the effectiveness of the drug dispensed.

(10) The condition or purpose for which the drug was prescribed if the condition or purpose is indicated on the
prescription.

(11) (A) Commencing January 1, 2006, the physical description of the dispensed medication, including its color,
shape, and any identification code that appears on the tablets or capsules, except as follows:

(i) Prescriptions dispensed by a veterinarian.

(ii) An exemption from the requirements of this paragraph shall be granted to a new drug for the first 120 days
that the drug is on the market and for the 90 days during which the national reference file has no description on
file.

(iii) Dispensed medications for which no physical description exists in any commercially available database.
(B) This paragraph applies to outpatient pharmacies only.

(C) The information required by this paragraph may be printed on an auxiliary label that is affixed to the
prescription container.

(D) This paragraph shall not become operative if the board, prior to January 1, 2006, adopts regulations that
mandate the same labeling requirements set forth in this paragraph.

(b) If a pharmacist dispenses a prescribed drug by means of a unit dose medication system, as defined by
administrative regulation, for a patient in a skilled nursing, intermediate care, or other health care facility, the
requirements of this section will be satisfied if the unit dose medication system contains the aforementioned
information or the information is otherwise readily available at the time of drug administration.

(c) If a pharmacist dispenses a dangerous drug or device in a facility licensed pursuant to Section 1250 of the
Health and Safety Code, it is not necessary to include on individual unit dose containers for a specific patient,
the name of the certified nurse-midwife who functions pursuant to a standardized procedure or protocol
described in Section 2746.51, the nurse practitioner who functions pursuant to a standardized procedure
described in Section 2836.1 or protocol, the physician assistant who functions pursuant to Section 3502.1, the
naturopathic doctor who functions pursuant to a standardized procedure or protocol described in Section
3640.5, or the pharmacist who functions pursuant to a policy, procedure, or protocol pursuant to Section
4052.1, 4052.2, or 4052.6.

(d) If a pharmacist dispenses a prescription drug for use in a facility licensed pursuant to Section 1250 of the
Health and Safety Code, it is not necessary to include the information required in paragraph (11) of subdivision
(a) when the prescription drug is administered to a patient by a person licensed under the Medical Practice Act
(Chapter 5 (commencing with Section 2000)), the Nursing Practice Act (Chapter 6 (commencing with Section
2700)), or the Vocational Nursing Practice Act (Chapter 6.5 (commencing with Section 2840)), who is acting
within his or her scope of practice.

SEC. 12.5. Section 4076 of the Business and Professions Code is amended to read:

4076. (a) A pharmacist shall not dispense any prescription except in a container that meets the requirements of
state and federal law and is correctly labeled with all of the following:
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(1) Except when the prescriber or the certified nurse-midwife who functions pursuant to a standardized
procedure or protocol described in Section 2746.51, the nurse practitioner who functions pursuant to a
standardized procedure described in Section 2836.1 or protocol, the physician assistant who functions pursuant
to Section 3502.1, the naturopathic doctor who functions pursuant to a standardized procedure or protocol
described in Section 3640.5, or the pharmacist who functions pursuant to a policy, procedure, or protocol
pursuant to Section 4052.1, 4052.2, or 4052.6 orders otherwise, either the manufacturer’s trade name of the
drug or the generic name and the name of the manufacturer. Commonly used abbreviations may be used.
Preparations containing two or more active ingredients may be identified by the manufacturer’s trade name or
the commonly used name or the principal active ingredients.

(2) The directions for the use of the drug.
(3) The name of the patient or patients.

(4) The name of the prescriber or, if applicable, the name of the certified nurse-midwife who functions pursuant
to a standardized procedure or protocol described in Section 2746.51, the nurse practitioner who functions
pursuant to a standardized procedure described in Section 2836.1 or protocol, the physician assistant who
functions pursuant to Section 3502.1, the naturopathic doctor who functions pursuant to a standardized
procedure or protocol described in Section 3640.5, or the pharmacist who functions pursuant to a policy,
procedure, or protocol pursuant to Section 4052.1, 4052.2, or 4052.6.

(5) The date of issue.

(6) The name and address of the pharmacy, and prescription number or other means of identifying the
prescription.

(7) The strength of the drug or drugs dispensed.
(8) The quantity of the drug or drugs dispensed.
(9) The expiration date of the effectiveness of the drug dispensed.

(10) The condition or purpose for which the drug was prescribed if the condition or purpose is indicated on the
prescription.

(11) (A) Commencing January 1, 2006, the physical description of the dispensed medication, including its color,
shape, and any identification code that appears on the tablets or capsules, except as follows:

(i) Prescriptions dispensed by a veterinarian.

(ii)) An exemption from the requirements of this paragraph shall be granted to a new drug for the first 120 days
that the drug is on the market and for the 90 days during which the national reference file has no description on
file.

(iii) Dispensed medications for which no physical description exists in any commercially available database.
(B) This paragraph applies to outpatient pharmacies only.

(C) The information required by this paragraph may be printed on an auxiliary label that is affixed to the
prescription container.

(D) This paragraph shall not become operative if the board, prior to January 1, 2006, adopts regulations that
mandate the same labeling requirements set forth in this paragraph.

(b) If a pharmacist dispenses a prescribed drug by means of a unit dose medication system, as defined by
administrative regulation, for a patient in a skilled nursing, intermediate care, or other health care facility, the
requirements of this section will be satisfied if the unit dose medication system contains the aforementioned
information or the information is otherwise readily available at the time of drug administration.

(c) If a pharmacist dispenses a dangerous drug or device in a health facility, as defined in Section 1250 of the
Health and Safety Code, it is not necessary to include on individual unit dose containers for a specific patient,
the name of the certified nurse-midwife who functions pursuant to a standardized procedure or protocol
described in Section 2746.51, the nurse practitioner who functions pursuant to a standardized procedure
described in Section 2836.1 or protocol, the physician assistant who functions pursuant to Section 3502.1, the
naturopathic doctor who functions pursuant to a standardized procedure or protocol described in Section
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3640.5, or the pharmacist who functions pursuant to a policy, procedure, or protocol pursuant to Section
4052.1, 4052.2, or 4052.6.

(d) If a pharmacist dispenses a prescription drug for use in a facility licensed pursuant to Section 1250 of the
Health and Safety Code, it is not necessary to include the information required in paragraph (11) of subdivision
(a) when the prescription drug is administered to a patient by a person licensed under the Medical Practice Act
(Chapter 5 (commencing with Section 2000)), the Nursing Practice Act (Chapter 6 (commencing with Section
2700)), or the Vocational Nursing Practice Act (Chapter 6.5 (commencing with Section 2840)), who is acting
within his or her scope of practice.

(e) This section shall remain in effect only until January 1, 2016, and as of that date is repealed, unless a later
enacted statute, that is enacted before January 1, 2016, deletes or extends that date.

SEC. 12.7. Section 4076 is added to the Business and Professions Code, to read:

4076. (a) A pharmacist shall not dispense any prescription except in a container that meets the requirements of
state and federal law and is correctly labeled with all of the following:

(1) Except when the prescriber or the certified nurse-midwife who functions pursuant to a standardized
procedure or protocol described in Section 2746.51, the nurse practitioner who functions pursuant to a
standardized procedure described in Section 2836.1 or protocol, the physician assistant who functions pursuant
to Section 3502.1, the naturopathic doctor who functions pursuant to a standardized procedure or protocol
described in Section 3640.5, or the pharmacist who functions pursuant to a policy, procedure, or protocol
pursuant to Section 4052.1, 4052.2, or 4052.6 orders otherwise, either the manufacturer’s trade name of the
drug or the generic name and the name of the manufacturer. Commonly used abbreviations may be used.
Preparations containing two or more active ingredients may be identified by the manufacturer’s trade name or
the commonly used name or the principal active ingredients.

(2) The directions for the use of the drug.
(3) The name of the patient or patients.

(4) The name of the prescriber or, if applicable, the name of the certified nurse-midwife who functions pursuant
to a standardized procedure or protocol described in Section 2746.51, the nurse practitioner who functions
pursuant to a standardized procedure described in Section 2836.1 or protocol, the physician assistant who
functions pursuant to Section 3502.1, the naturopathic doctor who functions pursuant to a standardized
procedure or protocol described in Section 3640.5, or the pharmacist who functions pursuant to a policy,
procedure, or protocol pursuant to Section 4052.1, 4052.2, or 4052.6.

(5) The date of issue.

(6) The name and address of the pharmacy, and prescription number or other means of identifying the
prescription.

(7) The strength of the drug or drugs dispensed.
(8) The quantity of the drug or drugs dispensed.
(9) The expiration date of the effectiveness of the drug dispensed.

(10) The condition or purpose for which the drug was prescribed if the condition or purpose is indicated on the
prescription.

(11) (A) Commencing January 1, 2006, the physical description of the dispensed medication, including its color,
shape, and any identification code that appears on the tablets or capsules, except as follows:

(i) Prescriptions dispensed by a veterinarian.

(ii) An exemption from the requirements of this paragraph shall be granted to a new drug for the first 120 days
that the drug is on the market and for the 90 days during which the national reference file has no description on
file.

(iii) Dispensed medications for which no physical description exists in any commercially available database.

(B) This paragraph applies to outpatient pharmacies only.
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(C) The information required by this paragraph may be printed on an auxiliary label that is affixed to the
prescription container.

(D) This paragraph shall not become operative if the board, prior to January 1, 2006, adopts regulations that
mandate the same labeling requirements set forth in this paragraph.

(b) The information required by paragraphs (1), (2), (3), (7), and (10) of subdivision (a) shall be printed in at
least a 12-point typeface.

(c) If a pharmacist dispenses a prescribed drug by means of a unit dose medication system, as defined by
administrative regulation, for a patient in a skilled nursing, intermediate care, or other health care facility, the
requirements of this section will be satisfied if the unit dose medication system contains the aforementioned
information or the information is otherwise readily available at the time of drug administration.

(d) If a pharmacist dispenses a dangerous drug or device in a health facility, as defined in Section 1250 of the
Health and Safety Code, it is not necessary to include on individual unit dose containers for a specific patient,
the name of the certified nurse-midwife who functions pursuant to a standardized procedure or protocol
described in Section 2746.51, the nurse practitioner who functions pursuant to a standardized procedure
described in Section 2836.1 or protocol, the physician assistant who functions pursuant to Section 3502.1, the
naturopathic doctor who functions pursuant to a standardized procedure or protocol described in Section
3640.5, or the pharmacist who functions pursuant to a policy, procedure, or protocol pursuant to Section
4052.1, 4052.2, or 4052.6.

(e) If a pharmacist dispenses a prescription drug for use in a facility licensed pursuant to Section 1250 of the
Health and Safety Code, it is not necessary to include the information required in paragraph (11) of subdivision
(a) when the prescription drug is administered to a patient by a person licensed under the Medical Practice Act
(Chapter 5 (commencing with Section 2000)), the Nursing Practice Act (Chapter 6 (commencing with Section
2700)), or the Vocational Nursing Practice Act (Chapter 6.5 (commencing with Section 2840)), who is acting
within his or her scope of practice.

(f) This section shall become operative on January 1, 2016.
SEC. 13. Section 4111 of the Business and Professions Code is amended to read:

4111. (a) Except as otherwise provided in subdivision (b), (d), or (e), the board shall not issue or renew a
license to conduct a pharmacy to any of the following:

(1) A person or persons authorized to prescribe or write a prescription, as specified in Section 4040, in the
State of California.

(2) A person or persons with whom a person or persons specified in paragraph (1) shares a community or other
financial interest in the permit sought.

(3) Any corporation that is controlled by, or in which 10 percent or more of the stock is owned by a person or
persons prohibited from pharmacy ownership by paragraph (1) or (2).

(b) Subdivision (a) shall not preclude the issuance of a permit for an inpatient hospital pharmacy to the owner
of the hospital in which it is located.

(c) The board may require any information the board deems is reasonably necessary for the enforcement of this
section.

(d) Subdivision (a) shall not preclude the issuance of a new or renewal license for a pharmacy to be owned or
owned and operated by a person licensed on or before August 1, 1981, under the Knox-Keene Health Care
Service Plan Act of 1975 (Chapter 2.2 (commencing with Section 1340) of Division 2 of the Health and Safety
Code) and qualified on or before August 1, 1981, under subsection (d) of Section 1310 of Title XIIl of the
federal Public Health Service Act, as amended, whose ownership includes persons defined pursuant to
paragraphs (1) and (2) of subdivision (a).

(e) Subdivision (a) shall not preclude the issuance of a new or renewal license for a pharmacy to be owned or
owned and operated by a pharmacist authorized to issue a drug order pursuant to Section 4052.1, 4052.2, or
4052.6.

SEC. 14. Section 4174 of the Business and Professions Code is amended to read:
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4174. Notwithstanding any other law, a pharmacist may dispense drugs or devices upon the drug order of a
nurse practitioner functioning pursuant to Section 2836.1 or a certified nurse-midwife functioning pursuant to
Section 2746.51, a drug order of a physician assistant functioning pursuant to Section 3502.1 or a naturopathic
doctor functioning pursuant to Section 3640.5, or the order of a pharmacist acting under Section 4052.1,
4052.2, 4052.3, or 4052.6.

SEC. 15. Section 4210 is added to the Business and Professions Code, to read:

4210. (a) A person who seeks recognition as an advanced practice pharmacist shall meet all of the following
requirements:

(1) Hold an active license to practice pharmacy issued pursuant to this chapter that is in good standing.
(2) Satisfy any two of the following criteria:

(A) Earn certification in a relevant area of practice, including, but not limited to, ambulatory care, critical care,
geriatric pharmacy, nuclear pharmacy, nutrition support pharmacy, oncology pharmacy, pediatric pharmacy,
pharmacotherapy, or psychiatric pharmacy, from an organization recognized by the Accreditation Council for
Pharmacy Education or another entity recognized by the board.

(B) Complete a postgraduate residency through an accredited postgraduate institution where at least 50
percent of the experience includes the provision of direct patient care services with interdisciplinary teams.

(C) Have provided clinical services to patients for at least one year under a collaborative practice agreement or
protocol with a physician, advanced practice pharmacist, pharmacist practicing collaborative drug therapy
management, or health system.

(3) File an application with the board for recognition as an advanced practice pharmacist.
(4) Pay the applicable fee to the board.

(b) An advanced practice pharmacist recognition issued pursuant to this section shall be valid for two years,
coterminous with the certificate holder’s license to practice pharmacy.

(c) The board shall adopt regulations establishing the means of documenting completion of the requirements in
this section.

(d) The board shall, by regulation, set the fee for the issuance and renewal of advanced practice pharmacist
recognition at the reasonable cost of regulating advanced practice pharmacists pursuant to this chapter. The fee
shall not exceed three hundred dollars ($300).

SEC. 16. Section 4233 is added to the Business and Professions Code, to read:

4233. A pharmacist who is recognized as an advanced practice pharmacist shall complete 10 hours of continuing
education each renewal cycle in addition to the requirements of Section 4231. The subject matter shall be in
one or more areas of practice relevant to the pharmacist’s clinical practice.

SEC. 17. Sections 12.5 and 12.7 of this bill incorporate amendments to Section 4076 of the Business and
Professions Code proposed by both this bill and Senate Bill 205. They shall only become operative if (1) both
bills are enacted and become effective on or before January 1, 2014, (2) each bill amends Section 4076 of the
Business and Professions Code, and (3) this bill is enacted after Senate Bill 205, in which case Section 12 of this
bill shall not become operative.

SEC. 18. No reimbursement is required by this act pursuant to Section 6 of Article XIl11B of the California
Constitution because the only costs that may be incurred by a local agency or school district will be incurred
because this act creates a new crime or infraction, eliminates a crime or infraction, or changes the penalty for a
crime or infraction, within the meaning of Section 17556 of the Government Code, or changes the definition of a
crime within the meaning of Section 6 of Article XII11B of the California Constitution.
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Senate Bill No. 294

CHAPTER 565

An act to amend the heading of Article 7.5 (commencing with Section 4127) of Chapter 9 of Division 2
of, and to amend, repeal, and add Sections 4127, 4127.1, 4127.2, and 4400 of, the Business and
Professions Code, relating to pharmacy.

[ Approved by Governor October 04, 2013. Filed with Secretary of State
October 04, 2013. ]

LEGISLATIVE COUNSEL'S DIGEST

SB 294, Emmerson. Sterile drug products.

(1) The Pharmacy Law provides for the licensure and regulation of pharmacists and pharmacy corporations in
this state by the California State Board of Pharmacy. Existing law requires the board to adopt regulations
establishing standards for compounding injectable sterile drug products in a pharmacy. Existing law requires
pharmacies to obtain a license from the board, subject to annual renewal, in order to compound injectable
sterile drug products. A similar licensing requirement applies to nonresident pharmacies compounding injectable
sterile drug products for shipment into California. A violation of the Pharmacy Law is a crime.

This bill, commencing July 1, 2014, would expand these provisions to prohibit a pharmacy from compounding or
dispensing, and a nonresident pharmacy from compounding for shipment into this state, sterile drug products
for injection, administration into the eye, or inhalation, unless the pharmacy has obtained a sterile
compounding pharmacy license from the board. The bill, commencing July 1, 2014, would specify requirements
for the board for the issuance or renewal of a license, and requirements for the pharmacy as a licensee. The bill
would require the board to adopt regulations to implement these provisions, and, on and after July 1, 2014, to
review formal revisions to specified national standards relating to the compounding of sterile preparations to
determine whether amendments to those regulations are necessary, as specified. By adding additional
requirements to the Pharmacy Law concerning sterile drug products, the violation of which is a crime, the bill
would impose a state-mandated local program.

(2) Existing law specifies the fee for issuance or renewal of a nongovernmental license to compound sterile drug
products.

This bill, commencing July 1, 2014, would establish the fee for the issuance or renewal of a nonresident sterile
compounding pharmacy license in the amount of $780 and would require the applicant to deposit a reasonable
amount, as determined by the board, necessary to cover the board’s estimated cost of performing an inspection
of the nonresident pharmacy location, as specified.

(3) The bill would also require the board to report to the Legislature, on or before January 1, 2018, regarding
the regulation of nonresident pharmacies, including, among other things, a detailed description of board
activities related to the inspection and licensure of nonresident pharmacies.

(4) The California Constitution requires the state to reimburse local agencies and school districts for certain
costs mandated by the state. Statutory provisions establish procedures for making that reimbursement.

This bill would provide that no reimbursement is required by this act for a specified reason.
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Vote: majority Appropriation: no Fiscal Committee: yes Local Program: yes

THE PEOPLE OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA DO ENACT AS FOLLOWS:

SECTION 1. The heading of Article 7.5 (commencing with Section 4127) of Chapter 9 of Division 2 of the
Business and Professions Code is amended to read:

Article 7.5. Sterile Drug Products
SEC. 2. Section 4127 of the Business and Professions Code is amended to read:

4127. (a) The board shall adopt regulations establishing standards for compounding injectable sterile drug
products in a pharmacy.

(b) The board shall adopt emergency regulations in accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act (Chapter
3.5 (commencing with Section 11340) of Part 1 of Division 3 of Title 2 of the Government Code) to establish
policies, guidelines, and procedures to initially implement the provisions of this article that become operative on
July 1, 2014. The initial adoption, amendment, or repeal of a regulation authorized by this section is deemed to
address an emergency for purposes of Sections 11346.1 and 11346.6 of the Government Code, and the board
is hereby exempted for that purpose from the requirements of subdivision (b) of Section 11346.1 of the
Government Code. After the initial adoption, amendment, or repeal of an emergency regulation pursuant to this
section, the board may request approval from the Office of Administrative Law to readopt the regulation as an
emergency regulation pursuant to Section 11346.1 of the Government Code.

(c) This section shall become inoperative on July 1, 2014, and, as of January 1, 2015, is repealed, unless a later
enacted statute, that becomes operative on or before January 1, 2015, deletes or extends the dates on which it
becomes inoperative and is repealed.

SEC. 3. Section 4127 is added to the Business and Professions Code, to read:

4127. (a) A pharmacy that compounds sterile drug products for injection, administration into the eye, or
inhalation shall possess a sterile compounding pharmacy license as provided in this article.

(b) The board shall adopt regulations in accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act (Chapter 3.5
(commencing with Section 11340) of Part 1 of Division 3 of Title 2 of the Government Code) to establish
policies, guidelines, and procedures to implement this article.

(c) The board shall review any formal revision to General Chapter 797 of the United States Pharmacopeia and
The National Formulary (USP—NF), relating to the compounding of sterile preparations, not later than 90 days
after the revision becomes official, to determine whether amendments are necessary for the regulations
adopted by the board pursuant to subdivision (b).

(d) This section shall become operative on July 1, 2014.
SEC. 4. Section 4127.1 of the Business and Professions Code is amended to read:

4127.1. (a) A pharmacy shall not compound injectable sterile drug products in this state unless the pharmacy
has obtained a license from the board pursuant to this section. The license shall be renewed annually and is not
transferable.

(b) A license to compound injectable sterile drug products may only be issued for a location that is licensed as a
pharmacy. Furthermore, the license to compound injectable sterile drug products may only be issued to the
owner of the pharmacy license at that location. A license to compound injectable sterile drug products may not
be issued until the location is inspected by the board and found in compliance with this article and regulations
adopted by the board.

(c) A license to compound injectable sterile drug products may not be renewed until the location has been
inspected by the board and found to be in compliance with this article and regulations adopted by the board.

(d) Pharmacies operated by entities that are licensed by either the board or the State Department of Public
Health and that have current accreditation from the Joint Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare
Organizations, or other private accreditation agencies approved by the board, are exempt from the requirement
to obtain a license pursuant to this section.
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(e) The reconstitution of a sterile powder shall not require a license pursuant to this section if both of the
following requirements are met:

(1) The sterile powder was obtained from a manufacturer.

(2) The drug is reconstituted for administration to patients by a health care professional licensed to administer
drugs by injection pursuant to this division.

(f) This section shall become inoperative on July 1, 2014, and, as of January 1, 2015, is repealed, unless a later
enacted statute, that becomes operative on or before January 1, 2015, deletes or extends the dates on which it
becomes inoperative and is repealed.

SEC. 5. Section 4127.1 is added to the Business and Professions Code, to read:

4127.1. (a) A pharmacy shall not compound sterile drug products unless the pharmacy has obtained a sterile
compounding pharmacy license from the board pursuant to this section. The license shall be renewed annually
and is not transferable.

(b) A license to compound sterile drug products shall be issued only to a location that is licensed as a pharmacy
and shall be issued only to the owner of the pharmacy licensed at that location.

(c) A license to compound sterile drug products shall not be issued or renewed until the location is inspected by
the board and found in compliance with this article and regulations adopted by the board.

(d) A license to compound sterile drug products shall not be issued or renewed until the board does all of the
following:

(1) Reviews a current copy of the pharmacy’s policies and procedures for sterile compounding.

(2) Reviews the pharmacy’s completed self-assessment form required by Section 1735.2 of Title 16 of the
California Code of Regulations.

(3) Is provided with copies of all inspection reports conducted of the pharmacy’s premises, and any reports
from a private accrediting agency, conducted in the prior 12 months documenting the pharmacy’s operations.

(4) Receives a list of all sterile medications compounded by the pharmacy since the last license renewal.
(e) A pharmacy licensed pursuant to this section shall do all of the following:

(1) Provide to the board a copy of any disciplinary or other action taken by another state within 10 days of the
action.

(2) Notify the board within 10 days of the suspension of any accreditation held by the pharmacy.

(3) Provide to the board, within 12 hours, any recall notice issued by the pharmacy for sterile drug products it
has compounded.

(f) Adverse effects reported or potentially attributable to a pharmacy’s sterile drug product shall be reported to
the board within 12 hours and immediately reported to the MedWatch program of the federal Food and Drug
Administration.

(9) The reconstitution of a sterile powder shall not require a license pursuant to this section if both of the
following requirements are met:

(1) The sterile powder was obtained from a manufacturer.

(2) The drug is reconstituted for administration to patients by a health care professional licensed to administer
drugs by injection pursuant to this division.

(h) This section shall become operative on July 1, 2014.
SEC. 6. Section 4127.2 of the Business and Professions Code is amended to read:
4127.2. (a) A nonresident pharmacy shall not compound injectable sterile drug products for shipment into the

State of California without a license issued by the board pursuant to this section. The license shall be renewed
annually and shall not be transferable.
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(b) A license to compound injectable sterile drug products may only be issued for a location that is licensed as a
nonresident pharmacy. Furthermore, the license to compound injectable sterile drug products may only be
issued to the owner of the nonresident pharmacy license at that location. A license to compound injectable
sterile drug products may not be issued or renewed until the board receives the following from the nonresident
pharmacy:

(1) A copy of an inspection report issued by the pharmacy’s licensing agency, or a report from a private
accrediting agency approved by the board, in the prior 12 months documenting the pharmacy’s compliance with
board regulations regarding the compounding of injectable sterile drug products.

(2) A copy of the nonresident pharmacy’s proposed policies and procedures for sterile compounding.

(c) Nonresident pharmacies operated by entities that are licensed as a hospital, home health agency, or a
skilled nursing facility and have current accreditation from the Joint Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare
Organizations, or other private accreditation agencies approved by the board, are exempt from the requirement
to obtain a license pursuant to this section.

(d) On or before January 1, 2018, the board shall provide a report to the Legislature regarding the regulation of
nonresident pharmacies. The report shall be submitted to the Legislature in the manner required pursuant to
Section 9795 of the Government Code. At a minimum, the report shall address all of the following:

(1) A detailed description of board activities related to the inspection and licensure of nonresident pharmacies.

(2) The status of proposed changes to federal law that are under serious consideration and that would govern
compounding pharmacies, including legislation pending before the United States Congress, administrative rules,
regulations, or orders under consideration by the federal Food and Drug Administration or other appropriate
federal agency, and cases pending before the courts.

(3) If applicable, recommended modifications to the board’s statutory duties related to nonresident pharmacies
as a result of changes to federal law or any additional modifications necessary to protect the health and safety
of the public.

(e) This section shall become inoperative on July 1, 2014, and, as of January 1, 2015, is repealed, unless a later
enacted statute, that becomes operative on or before January 1, 2015, deletes or extends the dates on which it
becomes inoperative and is repealed.

SEC. 7. Section 4127.2 is added to the Business and Professions Code, to read:

4127.2. (a) A nonresident pharmacy shall not compound sterile drug products for shipment into this state
without a sterile compounding pharmacy license issued by the board pursuant to this section. The license shall
be renewed annually and shall not be transferable.

(b) A license to compound sterile drug products shall be issued only to a location that is licensed as a
nonresident pharmacy and shall be issued only to the owner of the nonresident pharmacy licensed at that
location.

(c) A license to compound sterile drug products shall not be issued or renewed until the location is inspected by
the board and found in compliance with this article and any regulations adopted by the board. The nonresident
pharmacy shall reimburse the board for all actual and necessary costs incurred by the board in conducting an
inspection of the pharmacy at least once annually pursuant to subdivision (v) of Section 4400.

(d) A license to compound sterile drug products shall not be issued or renewed until the board does all of the
following:

(1) Reviews a current copy of the nonresident pharmacy’s policies and procedures for sterile compounding.

(2) Reviews the pharmacy’s completed self-assessment form required by Section 1735.2 of Title 16 of the
California Code of Regulations.

(3) Is provided with copies of all inspection reports conducted of the nonresident pharmacy’s premises, and any
reports from a private accrediting agency, conducted in the prior 12 months documenting the nonresident
pharmacy’s operations.

(4) Receives a list of all sterile drug products compounded by the pharmacy within the prior 12 months.

(e) A pharmacy licensed pursuant to this section shall do all of the following:
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(1) Provide to the board a copy of any disciplinary or other action taken by its state of residence or another
state within 10 days of the action.

(2) Notify the board within 10 days of the suspension of any accreditation held by the pharmacy.

(3) Provide to the board, within 12 hours, any recall notice issued by the pharmacy for sterile drug products it
has compounded that have been shipped into, or dispensed in, California.

(4) Advise the board of any complaint it receives from a provider, pharmacy, or patient in California.

(f) Adverse effects reported or potentially attributable to a nonresident pharmacy’s sterile compounded drug
product shall be reported to the board within 12 hours and immediately reported to the MedWatch program of
the federal Food and Drug Administration.

(g9) On or before January 1, 2018, the board shall provide a report to the Legislature regarding the regulation of
nonresident pharmacies. The report shall be submitted to the Legislature in the manner required pursuant to
Section 9795 of the Government Code. At a minimum, the report shall address all of the following:

(1) A detailed description of board activities related to the inspection and licensure of nonresident pharmacies.

(2) Whether fee revenue collected pursuant to subdivision (v) of Section 4400 and travel cost reimbursements
collected pursuant to subdivision (c) of this section provide revenue in an amount sufficient to support the
board’s activities related to the inspection and licensure of nonresident pharmacies.

(3) The status of proposed changes to federal law that are under serious consideration and that would govern
compounding pharmacies, including legislation pending before the United States Congress, administrative rules,
regulations, or orders under consideration by the federal Food and Drug Administration or other appropriate
federal agency, and cases pending before the courts.

(4) If applicable, recommended modifications to the board’s statutory duties related to nonresident pharmacies
as a result of changes to federal law or any additional modifications necessary to protect the health and safety
of the public.

(h) The requirement for submitting a report imposed under subdivision (g) is inoperative on January 1, 2022,
pursuant to Section 10231.5 of the Government Code.

(i) This section shall become operative on July 1, 2014.
SEC. 8. Section 4400 of the Business and Professions Code is amended to read:

4400. The amount of fees and penalties prescribed by this chapter, except as otherwise provided, is that fixed
by the board according to the following schedule:

(a) The fee for a nongovernmental pharmacy license shall be four hundred dollars ($400) and may be increased
to five hundred twenty dollars ($520). The fee for the issuance of a temporary nongovernmental pharmacy
permit shall be two hundred fifty dollars ($250) and may be increased to three hundred twenty-five dollars
($325).

(b) The fee for a nongovernmental pharmacy license annual renewal shall be two hundred fifty dollars ($250)
and may be increased to three hundred twenty-five dollars ($325).

(c) The fee for the pharmacist application and examination shall be two hundred dollars ($200) and may be
increased to two hundred sixty dollars ($260).

(d) The fee for regrading an examination shall be ninety dollars ($90) and may be increased to one hundred
fifteen dollars ($115). If an error in grading is found and the applicant passes the examination, the regrading
fee shall be refunded.

(e) The fee for a pharmacist license and biennial renewal shall be one hundred fifty dollars ($150) and may be
increased to one hundred ninety-five dollars ($195).

(f) The fee for a nongovernmental wholesaler license and annual renewal shall be six hundred dollars ($600),
and may be increased to seven hundred eighty dollars ($780). The application fee for any additional location
after licensure of the first 20 locations shall be two hundred twenty-five dollars ($225) and may be increased to
three hundred dollars ($300). A temporary license fee shall be five hundred fifty dollars ($550) and may be
increased to seven hundred fifteen dollars ($715).
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(g9) The fee for a hypodermic license and renewal shall be one hundred twenty-five dollars ($125) and may be
increased to one hundred sixty-five dollars ($165).

(h) (1) The fee for application, investigation, and issuance of license as a designated representative pursuant to
Section 4053 shall be two hundred fifty-five dollars ($255) and may be increased to three hundred thirty dollars
($330).

(2) The fee for the annual renewal of a license as a designated representative shall be one hundred fifty dollars
($150) and may be increased to one hundred ninety-five dollars ($195).

(i) (1) The fee for the application, investigation, and issuance of a license as a designated representative for a
veterinary food-animal drug retailer pursuant to Section 4053 shall be two hundred fifty-five dollars ($255) and
may be increased to three hundred thirty dollars ($330).

(2) The fee for the annual renewal of a license as a designated representative for a veterinary food-animal drug
retailer shall be one hundred fifty dollars ($150) and may be increased to one hundred ninety-five dollars
($195).

() (1) The application fee for a nonresident wholesaler’s license issued pursuant to Section 4161 shall be six
hundred dollars ($600) and may be increased to seven hundred eighty dollars ($780).

(2) For nonresident wholesalers who have 21 or more facilities operating nationwide the application fees for the
first 20 locations shall be six hundred dollars ($600) and may be increased to seven hundred eighty dollars
($780). The application fee for any additional location after licensure of the first 20 locations shall be two
hundred twenty-five dollars ($225) and may be increased to three hundred dollars ($300). A temporary license
fee shall be five hundred fifty dollars ($550) and may be increased to seven hundred fifteen dollars ($715).

(3) The annual renewal fee for a nonresident wholesaler’s license issued pursuant to Section 4161 shall be six
hundred dollars ($600) and may be increased to seven hundred eighty dollars ($780).

(k) The fee for evaluation of continuing education courses for accreditation shall be set by the board at an
amount not to exceed forty dollars ($40) per course hour.

(I) The fee for an intern pharmacist license shall be ninety dollars ($90) and may be increased to one hundred
fifteen dollars ($115). The fee for transfer of intern hours or verification of licensure to another state shall be
twenty-five dollars ($25) and may be increased to thirty dollars ($30).

(m) The board may waive or refund the additional fee for the issuance of a license where the license is issued
less than 45 days before the next regular renewal date.

(n) The fee for the reissuance of any license, or renewal thereof, that has been lost or destroyed or reissued
due to a name change shall be thirty-five dollars ($35) and may be increased to forty-five dollars ($45).

(0) The fee for the reissuance of any license, or renewal thereof, that must be reissued because of a change in
the information, shall be one hundred dollars ($100) and may be increased to one hundred thirty dollars
($130).

(p) It is the intent of the Legislature that, in setting fees pursuant to this section, the board shall seek to
maintain a reserve in the Pharmacy Board Contingent Fund equal to approximately one year’s operating
expenditures.

(q) The fee for any applicant for a nongovernmental clinic license shall be four hundred dollars ($400) and may
be increased to five hundred twenty dollars ($520) for each license. The annual fee for renewal of the license
shall be two hundred fifty dollars ($250) and may be increased to three hundred twenty-five dollars ($325) for
each license.

(r) The fee for the issuance of a pharmacy technician license shall be eighty dollars ($80) and may be increased
to one hundred five dollars ($105). The fee for renewal of a pharmacy technician license shall be one hundred
dollars ($100) and may be increased to one hundred thirty dollars ($130).

(s) The fee for a veterinary food-animal drug retailer license shall be four hundred five dollars ($405) and may
be increased to four hundred twenty-five dollars ($425). The annual renewal fee for a veterinary food-animal
drug retailer license shall be two hundred fifty dollars ($250) and may be increased to three hundred twenty-
five dollars ($325).
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(t) The fee for issuance of a retired license pursuant to Section 4200.5 shall be thirty-five dollars ($35) and may
be increased to forty-five dollars ($45).

(u) The fee for issuance or renewal of a nongovernmental license to compound sterile drug products shall be six
hundred dollars ($600) and may be increased to seven hundred eighty dollars ($780). The fee for a temporary
license shall be five hundred fifty dollars ($550) and may be increased to seven hundred fifteen dollars ($715).

(v) This section shall become inoperative on July 1, 2014, and, as of January 1, 2015, is repealed, unless a later
enacted statute, that becomes operative on or before January 1, 2015, deletes or extends the dates on which it
becomes inoperative and is repealed.

SEC. 9. Section 4400 is added to the Business and Professions Code, to read:

4400. The amount of fees and penalties prescribed by this chapter, except as otherwise provided, is that fixed
by the board according to the following schedule:

(a) The fee for a nongovernmental pharmacy license shall be four hundred dollars ($400) and may be increased
to five hundred twenty dollars ($520). The fee for the issuance of a temporary nongovernmental pharmacy
permit shall be two hundred fifty dollars ($250) and may be increased to three hundred twenty-five dollars
($325).

(b) The fee for a nongovernmental pharmacy license annual renewal shall be two hundred fifty dollars ($250)
and may be increased to three hundred twenty-five dollars ($325).

(c) The fee for the pharmacist application and examination shall be two hundred dollars ($200) and may be
increased to two hundred sixty dollars ($260).

(d) The fee for regrading an examination shall be ninety dollars ($90) and may be increased to one hundred
fifteen dollars ($115). If an error in grading is found and the applicant passes the examination, the regrading
fee shall be refunded.

(e) The fee for a pharmacist license and biennial renewal shall be one hundred fifty dollars ($150) and may be
increased to one hundred ninety-five dollars ($195).

(f) The fee for a nongovernmental wholesaler license and annual renewal shall be six hundred dollars ($600),
and may be increased to seven hundred eighty dollars ($780). The application fee for any additional location
after licensure of the first 20 locations shall be two hundred twenty-five dollars ($225) and may be increased to
three hundred dollars ($300). A temporary license fee shall be five hundred fifty dollars ($550) and may be
increased to seven hundred fifteen dollars ($715).

(g) The fee for a hypodermic license and renewal shall be one hundred twenty-five dollars ($125) and may be
increased to one hundred sixty-five dollars ($165).

(h) (1) The fee for application, investigation, and issuance of license as a designated representative pursuant to
Section 4053 shall be two hundred fifty-five dollars ($255) and may be increased to three hundred thirty dollars
($330).

(2) The fee for the annual renewal of a license as a designated representative shall be one hundred fifty dollars
($150) and may be increased to one hundred ninety-five dollars ($195).

(i) (1) The fee for the application, investigation, and issuance of a license as a designated representative for a
veterinary food-animal drug retailer pursuant to Section 4053 shall be two hundred fifty-five dollars ($255) and
may be increased to three hundred thirty dollars ($330).

(2) The fee for the annual renewal of a license as a designated representative for a veterinary food-animal drug
retailer shall be one hundred fifty dollars ($150) and may be increased to one hundred ninety-five dollars
($195).

(J) (1) The application fee for a nonresident wholesaler’s license issued pursuant to Section 4161 shall be six
hundred dollars ($600) and may be increased to seven hundred eighty dollars ($780).

(2) For nonresident wholesalers who have 21 or more facilities operating nationwide the application fees for the
first 20 locations shall be six hundred dollars ($600) and may be increased to seven hundred eighty dollars
($780). The application fee for any additional location after licensure of the first 20 locations shall be two
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hundred twenty-five dollars ($225) and may be increased to three hundred dollars ($300). A temporary license
fee shall be five hundred fifty dollars ($550) and may be increased to seven hundred fifteen dollars ($715).

(3) The annual renewal fee for a nonresident wholesaler’s license issued pursuant to Section 4161 shall be six
hundred dollars ($600) and may be increased to seven hundred eighty dollars ($780).

(k) The fee for evaluation of continuing education courses for accreditation shall be set by the board at an
amount not to exceed forty dollars ($40) per course hour.

(I) The fee for an intern pharmacist license shall be ninety dollars ($90) and may be increased to one hundred
fifteen dollars ($115). The fee for transfer of intern hours or verification of licensure to another state shall be
twenty-five dollars ($25) and may be increased to thirty dollars ($30).

(m) The board may waive or refund the additional fee for the issuance of a license where the license is issued
less than 45 days before the next regular renewal date.

(n) The fee for the reissuance of any license, or renewal thereof, that has been lost or destroyed or reissued
due to a name change shall be thirty-five dollars ($35) and may be increased to forty-five dollars ($45).

(0) The fee for the reissuance of any license, or renewal thereof, that must be reissued because of a change in
the information, shall be one hundred dollars ($100) and may be increased to one hundred thirty dollars
($130).

(p) It is the intent of the Legislature that, in setting fees pursuant to this section, the board shall seek to
maintain a reserve in the Pharmacy Board Contingent Fund equal to approximately one year’'s operating
expenditures.

(9) The fee for any applicant for a nongovernmental clinic license shall be four hundred dollars ($400) and may
be increased to five hundred twenty dollars ($520) for each license. The annual fee for renewal of the license
shall be two hundred fifty dollars ($250) and may be increased to three hundred twenty-five dollars ($325) for
each license.

(r) The fee for the issuance of a pharmacy technician license shall be eighty dollars ($80) and may be increased
to one hundred five dollars ($105). The fee for renewal of a pharmacy technician license shall be one hundred
dollars ($100) and may be increased to one hundred thirty dollars ($130).

(s) The fee for a veterinary food-animal drug retailer license shall be four hundred five dollars ($405) and may
be increased to four hundred twenty-five dollars ($425). The annual renewal fee for a veterinary food-animal
drug retailer license shall be two hundred fifty dollars ($250) and may be increased to three hundred twenty-
five dollars ($325).

(t) The fee for issuance of a retired license pursuant to Section 4200.5 shall be thirty-five dollars ($35) and may
be increased to forty-five dollars ($45).

(u) The fee for issuance or renewal of a nongovernmental sterile compounding pharmacy license shall be six
hundred dollars ($600) and may be increased to seven hundred eighty dollars ($780). The fee for a temporary
license shall be five hundred fifty dollars ($550) and may be increased to seven hundred fifteen dollars ($715).

(v) The fee for the issuance or renewal of a nonresident sterile compounding pharmacy license shall be seven
hundred eighty dollars ($780). In addition to paying that application fee, the nonresident sterile compounding
pharmacy shall deposit, when submitting the application, a reasonable amount, as determined by the board,
necessary to cover the board’s estimated cost of performing the inspection required by Section 4127.2. If the
required deposit is not submitted with the application, the application shall be deemed to be incomplete. If the
actual cost of the inspection exceeds the amount deposited, the board shall provide to the applicant a written
invoice for the remaining amount and shall not take action on the application until the full amount has been
paid to the board. If the amount deposited exceeds the amount of actual and necessary costs incurred, the
board shall remit the difference to the applicant.

(w) This section shall become operative on July 1, 2014.

SEC. 10. No reimbursement is required by this act pursuant to Section 6 of Article XIl11B of the California
Constitution because the only costs that may be incurred by a local agency or school district will be incurred
because this act creates a new crime or infraction, eliminates a crime or infraction, or changes the penalty for a

http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/bilINavClient.xhtml?bill 1d=201320140SB294&sear... 1/17/2014
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crime or infraction, within the meaning of Section 17556 of the Government Code, or changes the definition of a
crime within the meaning of Section 6 of Article XII11B of the California Constitution.

http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/bilINavClient.xhtml?bill 1d=201320140SB294&sear... 1/17/2014
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Board of Pharmacy Licensing Statistics - Fiscal Year 2013/14

l._APPLICATIONS

A. Received
Pharmacist (exam applications)
Pharmacist (initial licensing applications)
Intern pharmacist
Pharmacy technician
Pharmacy
Pharmacy Exempt
Pharmacy - Temp
Sterile Compounding
Sterile Compounding - Exempt
Sterile Compounding - Temp
Nonresident Sterile Compounding
Clinics
Clinics Exempt
Hospitals
Hospitals Exempt
Hospitals - Temp
Drug Room
Drug Room Exempt
Nonresident Pharmacy
Nonresident Pharmacy - Temp
Licensed Correctional Facility
Hypodermic Needle and Syringes
Hypodermic Needle and Syringes Exempt
Nonresident Wholesalers
Nonresident Wholesalers - Temp
Wholesalers
Wholesalers Exempt
Wholesalers - Temp
Veterinary Food-Animal Drug Retailer
Veterinary Food-Animal Drug Retailer - Temp
Designated Representatives
Designated Representatives Vet
Centralized Hospital Packaging
Total

JuL | AuG | sep | ocT | Nov | DEC [ JAN | FEB | MAR | APR [ MAY [ JuN | FYTD
190 155 137 140 79 107 808
290 521 251 198 142 105 1507
65 475 403 340 41 96 1420
854 763 743 663 471 792 4286
35 35 35 30 27 46 208
0 0 0 0 0 0 0
11 10 11 5 10 17 64
3 6 2 3 2 18 34
0 0 0 0 0 0 0
0 3 0 0 0 6 9
1 3 1 2 1 1 9
16 4 12 6 2 4 44
18 0 1 5 0 3 27
3 2 4 1 0 2 12
0 0 0 0 0 1 1
0 1 0 0 0 2 3
0 0 0 0 0 0 0
0 0 0 0 0 0 0
7 11 9 13 7 12 59
1 2 2 0 3 4 12
0 0 0 0 1 1
0 0 1 0 0 5 6
0 0 0 0 0 0 0
10 5 12 6 9 10 52
2 0 2 2 0 4 10
7 11 14 6 3 7 48
0 0 0 0 0 0 0
1 1 0 1 0 3 6
0 0 0 0 1 0 1
0 0 0 0 0 0 0
43 37 68 38 35 76 297
0 1 1 0 1 1 4
0 1 0 2 0 0 3
1557 2047 1709] 1461 835] 1322 0 0 0 0 0 8931




Board of Pharmacy Licensing Statistics - Fiscal Year 2013/14

I._APPLICATIONS (continued)

B. Issued
Pharmacist
Intern pharmacist
Pharmacy technician
Pharmacy
Pharmacy - Exempt
Pharmacy - Temp
Sterile Compounding
Sterile Compounding - Exempt
Sterile Compounding - Temp
Nonresident Sterile Compounding
Clinics
Clinics Exempt
Hospitals
Hospitals Exempt
Hospitals - Temp
Drug Room
Drug Room Exempt
Nonresident Pharmacy
Nonresident Pharmacy - Temp
Licensed Correctional Facility
Hypodermic Needle and Syringes
Hypodermic Needle and Syringes Exempt
Nonresident Wholesalers
Nonresident Wholesalers - Temp
Wholesalers
Wholesalers Exempt
Wholesalers - Temp
Veterinary Food-Animal Drug Retailer
Veterinary Food-Animal Drug Retailer - Temp
Designated Representatives
Designated Representatives Vet
Centralized Hospital Packaging
Total

JuL | AuG | sep | ocT | Nov | DEC [ JAN | FEB | MAR | APR [ MAY [ JuN | FYTD
307 541 155 295 139 119 1556
104 215 553 398 51 64 1385
620 681 475 813 655 637 3881
47 30 44 33 26 32 212
1 0 0 1 0 1 3
0 0 0 0 0 0 0
4 3 2 4 3 0 16
0 0 1 0 1 0 2
0 0 0 0 0 0 0
3 2 0 2 1 2 10
13 8 10 7 3 7 48
2 1 17 0 1 1 22
2 2 1 0 1 1 7
0 0 0 2 0 0 2
0 0 0 1 0 0 1
0 0 0 0 0 0 0
0 0 0 0 0 0 0
7 8 7 8 15 11 56
0 0 0 0 0 0 0
0 0 0 0 0 0 0
2 0 0 1 1 4 8
0 0 0 0 0 0
11 2 8 5 13 22 61
0 0 0 0 0 0 0
4 4 3 7 2 0 20
0 0 0 0 0 0 0
0 0 0 0 0 0 0
0 0 0 0 0 0 0
0 0 0 0 0 0 0
54 54 28 40 36 51 263
1 6 1 2 0 1 11
0 0 0 0 0 0 0
1182 1557 1305] 1619 948 953 0 0 0 0 0 7564




Board of Pharmacy Licensing Statistics - Fiscal Year 2013/14

I._APPLICATIONS (continued)

C. Pending
Pharmacist (exam applications)
Pharmacist (eligible)
Intern pharmacist
Pharmacy technician
Pharmacy
Pharmacy - Exempt
Pharmacy - Temp
Sterile Compounding
Sterile Compounding - Exempt
Sterile Compounding - Temp
Nonresident Sterile Compounding
Clinics
Clinics - Exempt
Hospitals
Hospitals - Exempt
Hospitals - Temp
Drug Room
Drug Room - Exempt
Nonresident Pharmacy
Nonresident Pharmacy - Temp
Licensed Correctional Facility
Hypodermic Needle and Syringes
Hypodermic Needle and Syringes - Exempt
Nonresident Wholesalers
Nonresident Wholesalers - Temp
Wholesalers
Wholesalers - Exempt
Wholesalers - Temp
Veterinary Food-Animal Drug Retailer
Veterinary Food-Animal Drug Retailer - Temp
Designated Representatives
Designated Representatives Vet
Centralized Hospital Packaging
Total

JUL AUG | sep | ocT [ Nov | DEC [ JAN [ FEB | MAR [ APR [ MAY [ JuN | FYTD
649 281 530 527 466 354 0
1441 268 1006 1069 812 785 0
157 373 192 147 153 139 0
2636 2362 2743]  2623]  2688] 2733 0
150 130 140 129 135 150 0

2 2 2 1 1 1 0
0 0 0 0 0 0 0
25 20 27 25 28 41 0
2 2 1 0 0 0 0
0 0 0 0 0 0 0
18 17 20 22 22 21 0
50 45 46 47 48 43 0
25 17 8 13 12 14 0
12 12 10 11 11 10 0
0 1 0 0 0 1 0
0 0 0 0 0 0 0
0 0 0 0 1 1 0
0 0 0 0 0 0 0
91 70 91 102 96 94 0
0 0 0 0 0 0
0 0 0 0 1 1 0
16 5 16 16 9 9 0
0 0 0 0 0 0 0
91 67 43 100 97 77 0
0 0 0 0 0 0
65 47 70 70 70 74 0
1 0 0 0 0 0 0
0 0 0 0 0 0 0
2 0 2 2 3 2 0
0 0 0 0 0 0 0
140 78 112 137 141 153 0
8 2 0 0 1 1 0
0 0 0 0 0 0 0
5581 3799 5059]  5041] 4795 4704 0 0 0 0 0 0




Board of Pharmacy Licensing Statistics - Fiscal Year 2013/14

l._APPLICATIONS (continued) [ JuL | Auc | Sep | ocT | Nov | DEC | JAN | FEB | MAR [ APR | MAY | JUN | FYTD
D. Withdrawn
Pharmacist (exam applications) 98 147 245
Pharmacist (eligible) 0 0
Intern pharmacist 17 20
Pharmacy technician 11 24

Pharmacy

Pharmacy - Exempt

Pharmacy - Temp

Sterile Compounding

Sterile Compounding - Exempt

Sterile Compounding - Temp

Nonresident Sterile Compounding

Clinics

Clinics - Exempt

Hospitals

Hospitals - Exempt

Hospitals - Temp

Drug Room

Drug Room - Exempt

Nonresident Pharmacy

Nonresident Pharmacy - Temp

Licensed Correctional Facility

Hypodermic Needle and Syringes

Hypodermic Needle and Syringes - Exempt

Nonresident Wholesalers

olo|o|r|o|olr|olololo|olololo|o|o|olo|o|olu]r|olo

=] ] [=]1] [=]li=] = k=]l (=]l i=]l (=]l =]l (=]l [=]l =]l (=]l =]l I K=l k=]l L\*]

Nonresident Wholesalers - Temp

O|O|O|O|O|O|O|O|O|W|O|N|O|O|O|O|O|O|O|O|0|O|0|O|0|O|0|O|~|N]O|O
olo|o|o|o|o|o|Nv]|olh~|ojo|olo|o|o|o|o|o|olo|o|o|o|o|r|o|o]lr

N|o|o|o|olo|olololo|ol|o|o|o|o|o|o|o|ol|o|o|o|ol|o|ol|o|ololololo|nv]|olo
=l =l =l =l = = = = = = = = = = k= = = = = = k= = k= k= k= k= k= k= k= k= k= k=l =1 i=]
= =l =l k=l =l k=l =l k=l =l = = = =l = =l = k=l k= k=l k= k=l k= =l k= k= k= k= k= k=l k=l = =l k=1 =]

Wholesalers 17 19
Wholesalers - Exempt 0 0
Wholesalers - Temp 0 0
Veterinary Food-Animal Drug Retailer 0 0
Veterinary Food-Animal Drug Retailer - Temp 0 0
Designated Representatives 22 22
Designated Representatives Vet 0 0
Centralized Hospital Packaging 0 0
Total 47 116 183 0 0 0 0 0 0 349




Board of Pharmacy Licensing Statistics - Fiscal Year 2013/14

I._APPLICATIONS (continued)

E. Denied
Pharmacist (exam applications)
Pharmacist (eligible)
Intern pharmacist
Pharmacy technician
Pharmacy
Pharmacy - Exempt
Pharmacy - Temp
Sterile Compounding
Sterile Compounding - Exempt
Sterile Compounding - Temp
Nonresident Sterile Compounding
Clinics
Clinics - Exempt
Hospitals
Hospitals - Exempt
Hospitals - Temp
Drug Room
Drug Room - Exempt
Nonresident Pharmacy
Nonresident Pharmacy - Temp
Licensed Correctional Facility
Hypodermic Needle and Syringes
Hypodermic Needle and Syringes - Exempt
Nonresident Wholesalers
Nonresident Wholesalers - Temp
Wholesalers
Wholesalers - Exempt
Wholesalers - Temp
Veterinary Food-Animal Drug Retailer
Veterinary Food-Animal Drug Retailer - Temp
Designated Representatives
Designated Representatives Vet
Centralized Hospital Packaging
Total

JuL | AuG | sep | ocT | Nov | DEC [ JAN | FEB | MAR | APR [ MAY [ JuN | FYTD
2 0 1 1 1 1 6
0 0 0 0 0 0 0
0 0 0 1 0 1 2
3 7 1 3 3 5 22
0 0 0 3 2 0 5
0 0 0 0 0 0 0
0 0 0 0 0 0 0
0 1 0 0 0 0 1
0 0 0 0 0 0 0
0 0 0 0 0 0 0
0 0 0 0 0 0 0
0 0 0 0 0 0 0
0 0 0 0 0 0 0
0 0 0 0 0 0 0
0 0 0 0 0 0 0
0 0 0 0 0 0 0
0 0 0 0 0 0 0
0 0 0 0 0 0 0
0 1 0 1 0 0 2
0 0 0 0 0 0 0
0 0 0 0 0 0 0
0 0 0 0 0 0 0
0 0 0 0 0 0 0
0 0 0 0 0 0 0
0 0 0 0 0 0 0
0 0 0 1 0 0 1
0 0 0 0 0 0 0
0 0 0 0 0 0 0
0 0 0 0 0 0 0
0 0 0 0 0 0 0
0 0 0 0 0 0 0
0 0 0 0 0 0 0
0 0 0 0 0 0 0
5 9 2 10 6 7 0 0 0 0 0 39




Board of Pharmacy Licensing Statistics - Fiscal Year 2013/14

Il. RESPOND TO STATUS REQUESTS

| auL | Auc | sep | oct | Nnov [ DEC | AN [ FEB | MAR | APR | MAY | JuNn | FYTD
A. E-mail status requests and inquiries
Pharmacist/Intern 568 389 286 200 153 153 1749
Pharmacy Technicians 523 601 436 534 395 542 3031
Site Licenses (pharmacy, clinic) 307 531 268 388 265 301 2060
Site Licenses (wholesalers) 248 375 247 264 207 250 1591
Pharmacist-in-Charge 215 242 353 326 279 403 1818
Renewals* 71 145 112 109 92 116 645
*denotes updates made January 2014
B. Telephone status requests and inquiries
Site Licenses (pharmacy, clinic) 146 194 137 162 203 148 990
Site Licenses (wholesalers) 142 195 163 212 134 104 950
Pharmacist-in-Charge 50 91 77 70 175 76 539
Renewals* 492 697 531 609 680 404 3413
*denotes updates made January 2014
lll. UPDATE LICENSING RECORDS
| auL | Aauc | sep | oct [ Nnov [ DEC | AN [ FEB | MAR | APR | mAY | Jun | FYTD
A. Change of Pharmacist-in-Charge***
Received 97 95 103 94 114 138 641
Processed 16 105 152 337 89 68 767
Pending 1023 1013 964 275 296 309 0
B. Change of Exemptee-in-Charge***
Received 13 10 19 14 9 14 79
Processed 0 7 23 13 12 10 65
Pending 249 252 248 37 43 49 0
C. Change of Permits
Received 46 45 50 39 64 124 368
Processed 54 54 48 93 78 176 503
Pending 450 441 443 389 320 161 0
D. Discontinuance of Business***
Received 31 27 22 5 19 22 126
Processed 16 9 43 12 18 18 116
Pending 253 271 250 149 153 153 0
E Requests processed
Address/Name Changes 1250]  1200] 1065]  1030] 891] 764 6200
Off-site storage 56 46 102
Transfer of intern hours 13 11 6 8 5 7 50
License verification 162 168 93 170 190 123 906




Board of Pharmacy Licensing Statistics - Fiscal Year 2013/14

IV. AVERAGE PROCESSING TIMES

| JuL | Auc | sep | oct | Nov | DEC | JAN | FEB | MAR | APR | MAY [ JuN |

A. Average days to process initial applications

Pharmacist (exam application) 25 23 20 23 17 12
Pharmacy Intern 9 4 4 6 4 4
Pharmacy Technician 31 41 30 46 36 24
Pharmacies 24 24 16 24 14 24
Non-Resident Pharmacies 24 24 16 24 14 24
Wholesaler 24 24 16 24 14 24
Veterinary Drug Retailers 24 24 16 24 14 24
Designated Representatives 24 24 16 24 9 24
Out-of-State Distributors 24 24 16 24 14 24
Clinics 24 24 16 24 14 24
Hypodermic Needle & Syringe Distributors 24 24 16 24 14 24
Sterile Compounding 24 24 16 24 14 24
Change of Permit 58 45 59 23 19 10
Change of Pharmacist-in-Charge 27 22 38 21 18 17
Change of Designated Representative-in-Charge 0 9 24 47 19 19
Discontinuance of Business 68 13 51 6 19 19
B. Average days to process deficiency documents

Pharmacist (exam application) 3 3 4 3 3 4
Pharmacy Intern 3 3 2 3 4 3
Pharmacy Technician 2 2 1 1 1 1
Pharmacies 5 5 5 6 8 4
Non-Resident Pharmacies 5 5 5 6 5 4
Wholesaler 5 5 5 6 8 4
Veterinary Drug Retailers 5 5 5 6 8 4
Designated Representatives 5 5 5 6 8 4
Out-of-State Distributors 5 5 5 6 8 4
Clinics 5 5 5 6 8 4
Hypodermic Needle & Syringe Distributors 5 5 5 6 8 4
Sterile Compounding 5 5 5 6 8 4




Board of Pharmacy Licensing Statistics - Fiscal Year 2013/14

IV. AVERAGE PROCESSING TIMES (cont.)

C. Average days to issue a license after all
deficiencies are corrected

Pharmacist (initial licensing)
Pharmacy Intern

Pharmacy Technician
Pharmacies

Non-Resident Pharmacies
Wholesaler

Veterinary Drug Retailers
Designated Representatives
Out-of-State Distributors
Clinics

Hypodermic Needle & Syringe Distributors
Sterile Compounding

JuL | AuG | sep | oct | Nnov | DEC | JAN | FEB | MAR | APR [ MAY [ JUN |
3 4 3 3 3 2
3 3 3 3 2 2
10 4 4 2 2 2
10 10 18 15 17 13
10 10 18 15 17 13
10 10 18 15 17 13
10 10 18 15 17 13
20 10 18 15 4 4
10 10 18 15 17 13
10 10 18 15 17 13
10 10 18 15 17 13
10 10 18 15 17 13




Board of Pharmacy Licensing Statistics - Fiscal Year 2013/14

B.

V. Revenue Received

A. Revenue Received*

Applications

Renewals

Cite and Fine

Probation/Cost Recovery

Request for Information/Lic. Verification
Fingerprint Fee

*denotes updates made November 2013

Renewals Received

Pharmacist

Pharmacy technician

Pharmacy

Pharmacy - Exempt

Sterile Compounding

Sterile Compounding - Exempt
Nonresident Sterile Compounding
Clinics

Clinics - Exempt

Hospitals

Hospitals - Exempt

Drug Room

Drug Room - Exempt
Nonresident Pharmacy

Licensed Correctional Facility
Hypodermic Needle and Syringes
Hypodermic Needle and Syringes - Exempt
Nonresident Wholesalers
Wholesalers

Wholesalers - Exempt

Veterinary Food-Animal Drug Retailer
Designated Representatives
Designated Representatives Vet
Total

JuL | AuG | sep | ocT | Nov | DEC [ JAN | FEB | MAR | APR [ MAY [ JuN | FYTD
203,413[ 274,216] 254,207] 188,092] 152,962[ 176,513 $1,249,403
923,118| 719,675 1,661,295 804,584 663,167| 737,826 $5,509,665
219,955 220,754 181,294] 144,169 129,166] 248,203 $1,143,541
37,575  9,853] 129,224 42,744] 10,126] 33,965 $263,487
3,020] 3,045 2,125] 2,965 3,950[ 2,175 $17,280
7,791 5684] 10,850] 8,330] 5,635 5,006 $43,296
1453 1751 1731] 1805] 1512 1569 9821
2443 2619 2745]  2770]  2350[ 2380 15307
201 311 617 467 200 625 2421
0 0 78 35 1 0 114
14 13 20 46 17 23 133
0 1 0 0 3 0 4
9 6 9 7 5 2 38
77 76 90 57 57 54 411
2 0 100 60 5 12 179
15 21 29 78 30 23 196
0 0 55 20 9 0 84
4 2 1 2 1 2 12
0 0 6 3 2 0 11
35 19 34 27 30 17 162
0 1 32 14 3 0 50
23 10 16 30 31 21 131
0 0 0 0 0 0 0
65 56 62 54 51 38 326
53 67 35 43 28 31 257
0 0 6 3 0 3 12
6 2 0 1 3 1 13
174 249 221 183 221 197 1245
9 10 5 4 3 1 32
4583 5214 5892| 5709 4562] 4999 0 0 0 0 30959




Board of Pharmacy Licensing Statistics - Fiscal Year 2013/14

VI. Current Licensees | JuL | Auc | sep | oct | Nov | DEC | JAN [ FEB | MAR [ APR [ MAY [ JuN
Pharmacist 42808 43335 43559| 43713| 43811| 43911
Intern 5760 5474 5792 6016 4752 5858
Pharmacy technician 74206 74111 74278| T74447| 74409 74464
Pharmacy 6295 6312 6405 6337 6346 6350
Pharmacy - Exempt 122 122 122 123 121 119
Sterile Compounding 242 243 243 247 245 242
Sterile Compounding - Exempt 24 24 25 26 26 85
Nonresident Sterile Compounding 95 96 96 96 97 95
Clinics 1145 1153 1160 1165 1167 1174
Clinics - Exempt 233 234 251 251 252 254
Hospitals 403 405 405 406 405 404
Hospitals - Exempt 89 89 90 90 90 90
Drug Room 27 27 27 27 27 27
Drug Room - Exempt 16 16 16 16 16 16
Nonresident Pharmacy 497 499 502 507 518 519
Licensed Correctional Facility 52 52 52 52 52 53
Hypodermic Needle and Syringes 349 349 350 271 351 355
Hypodermic Needle and Syringes - Exempt 1 1 1 1 1 1
Nonresident Wholesalers 822 810 831 831 830 849
Wholesalers 630 621 634 633 621 619
Wholesalers - Exempt 14 14 14 14 14 14
Veterinary Food-Animal Drug Retailer 27 27 27 26 26 25
Designated Representatives 3179 3232 3276 3302 3337 3382
Designated Representatives Vet 66 72 73 75 75 76
Total 137102| 137318 138229| 138672| 137589| 138982 0 0 0 0 0
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Strategic Planning: Licensing

. Related Acceptance Pefcc;:?; e Average
Success Indicators Performance Parameters Graen Ligght Processing Explanation
Measures - Time
O 90%
. : *93% cashiered within 5 days or less.
2A Cash_lttre]r. ag revekr? ue (rjecelved [EF] O 86% 63% 3.28 * 82% cashiered within 4 days or less.
within' s working days. *Staff vacancy at the initial application
. 85% cashiering desk.
(O 90%
Review intial applications within 0 0 *87% reviewed with 45 days or less.
2B 30 working days. [PC, EF] O 86% 36% 30 *Staff training at the TCH processing desk
@ 8%
Review received deficiency . 90%
items to determine application 0
2C completeness within 5 working [PC, EF, RC] O 86% 94% 1.96
days of receipt. O 85%
O 90% *93% issued within 5 days or less.
Issue licenses within 3 working 0 0 *90% issued within 4 days or less.
2b days of completed application. [PC, EF] O 86% 81% 3.30 *Staff Vacancy at the Site Analyst desk
. 85% responsible for issuing licenses.
- @ oo%
Update information changes to
2E licensing records within 5 [EF] O 86% 99.7% 1.71
working days. ' '
O 85%




2A. Cashier all revenue received three three working days.
(Reported with number of items cashiered.)

4.5 +

4 -
3.5 -

3 M All Revenue
2.5 -

2 4 M Initial Application

Revenue

1.5 -

1 - H License Renewal
05 Revenue

0 -

QTR 2-FY 12/13 QTR 3-FY 12/13 QTR 4 -FY 12/13 QTR 1-FY13/14 QTR 2-FY 13/14
6,509 3,965 5,833 5,737 4279

All Revenue - Includes all revenue reported in License Renewal Revenue and Initial Application Revenue as well as the following revenue categories: citations
and fines, pharmacist scholarship fund, fingerprint fees, dishonored checks. change of permits, license verifications, change of ownerships, change of
pharmacist-in-charge, change of designated representative-in-charge, retired licenses, regrades for examinations, and temporary permits.

Initial Application Revenue - Includes initial applications for all license types.

License Renewal Revenue - Includes all licensee renewal applications.

Notes:
Averages reported in working days excluding holidays.



2B. Review initial applications within 30 days.
(Reported with Number of All Application Types, Pharmacist Applications and Pharmacy Technician Applications Received)

60
50
40 - -
m All Applications
30 BRPH
TCH
20
uINT
10 = Sites
0 4
QTR 2 - FY 12/13 QTR 3 - FY 12/13 QTR 4 - FY 12/13 QTR 1-FY 13/14 QTR 2 - FY 13/14
3,469 3,556 5,053 *5312 3616
Notes:
Averages reported in working days excluding holidays.
Data does not include applicants where their application fee was paid by another entity. * Total

number updated to include Exempt site applications received.



2C. Review deficiency items to determine a complete application within five working days of receipt.
(Reported with number of applications received)

10
8 a
6 a
u All Applications
4 - u RPH
2 uTCH
mINT
0 m Sites
QTR 2-FY 12/13 QTR3-FY 12/13 QTR4-FY 12/13 QTR1-FY 13/14 QTR 2-FY 13/14
3,469 3,556 5,053 *5312 3616
Notes:

Averages reported in working days excluding holidays.
Data does not include applicants where their application fee was paid by another entity.
Average issue time for site applications determined without inspection time.



2D. Issue license within three working days of a complete application.
(Reported with number of licenses issued)

20
15 A
10 S
u All Applications
= RPH
5 a
TCH
mINT
0 = Sites
QTR 2 - FY 12/13 QTR 3-FY 12/13 QTR 4 - FY 12/13 QTR 1-FY 13/14 QTR 2-FY 13/14
3,806 2,804 2,291 4044 3520
Notes:

Averages reported in working days excluding holidays.

Data does not include applicants where their application fee was paid by another entity.

Average issue time for site applications determined without inspection time.

Site applications that have been determined to meet licensing requirements but have future opening dates that will impact
average processing times as they are issued closer to the opening date.



2E. Update information changes to licensing records within five working days

(Reported by number of changes made)

7

6 .

5 .

4

3 .

mAverage Days

2 .

1 .

0 .

QTR 2-FY 12/13 QTR 3-FY 12/13 QTR 4 -FY 12/13 QTR 1-FY 13/14 QTR 2-FY 13/14
2,732 3,255 3,112 3515 2685

Notes:

Averages reported in working days.
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California State Board of Pharmacy BUSINESS, CONSUMER SERVICES AND HOUSING AGENCY
1625 N. Market Blvd, N219, Sacramento, CA 95834 DEPARTMENT OF CONSUMER AFFAIRS
Phone: (916) 574-7900 GOVERNOR EDMUND G. BROWN JR.
Fax: (916) 574-8618

www.pharmacy.ca.gov

STATE BOARD OF PHARMACY
DEPARTMENT OF CONSUMER AFFAIRS
LICENSING COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES

DATE: December 11, 2013

LOCATION: Department of Consumer Affairs
First Floor Hearing Room
1625 N. Market Boulevard
Sacramento, CA 95834

COMMITTEE MEMBERS
PRESENT: Deborah Veale, RPh, Chair
Victor Law, RPh
Lavanza Butler, PharmD
Stanley C. Weisser, RPh, Board President

COMMITTEE MEMBERS
NOT PRESENT: Greg Lippe, Public Member
Albert C.M. Wong, PharmD

STAFF
PRESENT: Virginia Herold, Executive Officer
Anne Sodergren, Assistant Executive Officer
Carolyn Klein, Manager
Kristy Shellans, DCA Staff Counsel
Michael Santiago, DCA Staff Counsel
Debbie Damoth, Administration and Regulation Manager
Amber Dillon, Licensing Manager
Laura Hendricks, Associate Analyst

Call to Order
Chair Veale called the meeting to order at 10:01 a.m.

Chair Veale provided instructions for meeting attendees interested in receiving continuing education credit
to sign in at the sign in sheet at the back of the room.

Chair Veale conducted a roll call. Committee Members Lavanza Butler and Victor Law were present.
President Weisser attended and participated in the meeting.



Licensing Committee Meeting Minutes
December 11, 2013

1. Text for Criminal Conviction Questions on Board Applications

Background
The board’s applications for individual licenses (e.g., pharmacists, pharmacy technicians) ask:

“Have you ever been convicted of any crime in any state, the USA and its territories, military court or
foreign country?

Check the box next to “YES” if you have ever been convicted or plead guilty to any crime.
“Conviction” includes a plea of no contest and any conviction that has been set aside or deferred
pursuant to Sections 1000 or 1203.4 of the Penal Code, including infractions, misdemeanor, and
felonies. You do not need to report a conviction for an infraction with a fine of less than $300 unless
the infraction involved alcohol or controlled substances. You must, however, disclose any
convictions in which you entered a plea of no contest and any convictions that were subsequently
set aside pursuant or deferred pursuant to sections 1000 or 1203.4 of the Penal Code.

Check the box next to “NO” if you have not been convicted of a crime.

You may wish to provide the following information in order to assist in the process of your
application: 1) certified copies of the arresting agency report; 2) certified copies of the court
documents; 3) and a descriptive explanation of the circumstances surrounding the conviction (i.e.
dates and location of incident and all circumstances surrounding the incident.) If documents were
purged by the arresting agency and/or court, a letter of explanation from these agencies is required.
Failure to disclose a disciplinary action or conviction may result in the license being denied or
revoked for falsifying the application. Attach additional sheets if necessary.”

The Legal Office requested the committee review these questions and modify the verbiage to conform to
the format used by other boards and bureaus in the department.

Discussion

Chair Veale reviewed and referenced the language provided in the meeting materials and asked committee
members for comments.

Department of Consumer Affairs (DCA) Staff Counsel Kristy Shellans further explained a letter was sent to
DCA clients regarding the conviction related questions. There was some concern with the scope and
breadth of the questions used. Specifically, the questions do not identify the questions that the board
cannot consider when making a licensing decision. The committee discussed concerns of ensuring the
language is clear and easy for all applicants to read and understand.

Board staff indicated it would be beneficial to work with both DCA counsel and Attorney General (AG)
counsel as the later would be defending board licensing decisions when an appeal of an application denial
occurred.
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Chair Veale requested board staff continue to work with counsel to bring a draft back to the committee.

Chair Veal asked for public comment. No public comment was provided.

Agenda Items 2 and 3 Combined

2. Pharmacist Intern Hours Requirements from Business and Professions Code Section 4209 and 16
California Code of Regulations Section 1728

3. Pharmacy Intern Hours Affidavit Form 17A-29

Relevant Statutes and Regulations
Business and Professions Code section 4209:
(a) (1) An intern pharmacist shall complete 1,500 hours of pharmacy practice before applying for the
pharmacist licensure examination.
(2) This pharmacy practice shall comply with the Standards of Curriculum established by the
Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education or with regulations adopted by the board.

(b) An intern pharmacist shall submit proof of his or her experience on board-approved affidavits, or
another form specified by the board, which shall be certified under penalty of perjury by a
pharmacist under whose supervision such experience was obtained or by the pharmacist-in-charge
at the pharmacy while the pharmacist intern obtained the experience. Intern hours earned in
another state may be certified by the licensing agency of that state to document proof of those
hours.

(c) An applicant for the examination who has been licensed as a pharmacist in any state for at least one
year, as certified by the licensing agency of that state, may submit this certification to satisfy the
required 1,500 hours of intern experience, provided that the applicant has obtained a minimum of
900 hours of pharmacy practice experience in a pharmacy as a pharmacist. Certification of an
applicant's licensure in another state shall be submitted in writing and signed, under oath, by a duly
authorized official of the state in which the license is held.

Board regulations at 16 California Code of Regulations Section 1728 then goes on to specify:

1728. Requirements for Examination
(a) Prior to receiving authorization from the board to take the pharmacist licensure examinations

required by section 4200 of the Business and Professions Code, applicants shall submit to the board
the following:

(1) Proof of 1500 hours of pharmacy practice experience that meets the following requirements:

(A) A minimum of 900 hours of pharmacy practice experience obtained in a pharmacy.

(B) A maximum of 600 hours of pharmacy practice experience may be granted at the discretion of the
board for other experience substantially related to the practice of pharmacy.

(C) Experience in both community pharmacy and institutional pharmacy practice settings.

(D) Pharmacy practice experience that satisfies the requirements for both introductory and advanced
pharmacy practice experiences established by the Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education.
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(2) Satisfactory proof that the applicant graduated from a recognized school of pharmacy.

(3) Fingerprints to obtain criminal history information from both the Department of Justice and the
United States Federal Bureau of Investigation pursuant to Business and Professions Code section
144,

(4) A signed copy of the examination security acknowledgment.

(b) Applicants who hold or held a pharmacist license in another state shall provide a current license
verification from each state in which the applicant holds or held a pharmacist license prior to being
authorized by the boar to take the examinations.

(c) Applicants who graduated from a foreign school of pharmacy shall provide the board with
satisfactory proof of certification by the Foreign Pharmacy Graduate Examination

Background
Periodically, usually in response to inquiries from the public, the board has scheduled discussions on the

number of intern hours earned and reported to the board as a requirement for admission to the California
pharmacist licensure examination. At October 2013 Board Meeting, President Weisser requested that
intern hours be added to the agenda of the Licensing Committee at the request of Board Member Victor
Law.

The Pharmacy Intern Hours Affidavit (form 17A-29) has two areas where the intern hours earned can be
recorded:
1) Number of hours of pharmacy practice experience obtained in a pharmacy, and
2) Number of hours of pharmacy practice experience substantially related to the practice of
Pharmacy. NOTE: A maximum of 600 hours may be granted at the discretion of the board.

The board requests that the hours earned by a pharmacist intern while in school that are not obtained in a
pharmacy but substantially related to pharmacy be recorded on line two of the Pharmacy Intern Hour
Affidavit form. The board will also accept a letter from the School of Pharmacy on school letterhead
“certifying that the student has accumulated 600 hours of internship through the experiential activities of
the Doctor of Pharmacy curriculum in the School of Pharmacy” signed by the dean.

California Northstate University has expressed concern to the board’s licensing staff about the
appropriateness of the forms being completed by the colleges in California. However, there is no written
statement from the school.

Discussion
Chair Veale referenced the language provided in the meeting materials and suggested that item 2 and 3 be
discussed together then asked if committee members or the public had any questions or concerns.

Mr. Victor Law stated that the concern was brought forth by California Northstate University. Committee
members discussed the issue. Some members of the committee indicated that changes to the current
requirements are not required and indicated that the intent of the requirements are to protect the
consumers and pharmacy students need real life experience such as consultation with the patients.
Executive Officer Virginia Herold indicated she would like to hear from the California schools of pharmacy.
Ms. Herold also reminded the committee of the requirement for the foreign graduates to complete 1500
hours of intern experience.
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Chair Veale asked for public comment.

Dennis McAllister, representing the Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education (ACPE), provided the
committee with the intern requirements for accredited pharmacy degree programs and shared that as part
of their process the ACPE also requires that the preceptors obtain annual training.

Chief Executive Officer John Roth for California Pharmacist Association (CPhA) expressed concern of the
requirement for the intern hour affidavit and asked that the form be rescinded for all the hours required by
the board.

Chair Veale recommended that the board place the topic on the agenda for the next meeting and invite the

California schools of pharmacy to discuss the regulation and affidavit requirements. Board staff was
directed to contact the NABP and survey intern hour requirements for other states.

4. Implementation Schedule for SB 809 (DeSaulnier, Chapter 400, Statutes of 2013)

Relevant Statutes

Health and Safety Code Sections 11165 — 11165.3 establish and define the parameters and use of the CURES
Program within the California Department of Justice. For a number of years, prescribers and pharmacies
have been required to report each week to DOJ every Schedule I, Ill, and IV prescription dispensed.

Background
In 2013, the CURES Program received additional funding through SB 809 to rebuild and replace its aging

computer system and provide minimal but essential staffing to support the program in the future. This
support was needed because CURES had been housed in the Department of Justice’s (DOJ) Bureau of
Narcotic Enforcement, a unit that was totally defunded several years ago in response to General Fund
budget cuts made by Governor Brown in response to the state’s fiscal crisis.

The new CURES funding source is now the regulatory boards in the Department of Consumer Affairs that
license prescribers and dispensers. Beginning in April 2014, every practitioner eligible to prescribe (e.g.,
physicians, nurse practitioners, optometrists, veterinarians, dentists) or dispense (pharmacists, pharmacies),
wholesalers and clinics will pay an ongoing fee of $6 per year fee as part of their renewal. Additionally
before January 1, 2016, every pharmacist (and each of the prescriber classifications) will be required to
submit an application to obtain approval to access CURES data as part of the renewal process. This process
is intended to ensure widespread eligibility for prescribers and pharmacists to access CURES data on an
individual patient -- when the practitioners so choose -- at the time of prescribing or dispensing.

Additionally, due to a trailer bill to the 2013/14 California State Budget, the board is funding for two years
(2013/14 and 2014/15) an additional $215,000 (in addition to ongoing annual funding of $92,000 that we
have been providing for approximately 10 years) that will be used to replace the aging CURES computer and
replace it with a more robust system, capable of providing better access to the state’s prescribers and
dispensers who are checking the controlled substances dispensed to specific patients as part of the
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prescription drug monitoring program (PDMP). The dispenser boards are also contributing sizeable
amounts to secure a new computer system.

Specifically, SB 809 provides the following goals for this computer system:

(1) Upgrading the CURES PDMP so that it is capable of accepting real-time updates and is accessible in real-
time, 24 hours a day, seven days a week.

(2) Upgrading the CURES PDMP in California so that it is capable of operating in conjunction with all national
prescription drug monitoring programs.

(3) Providing subscribers to prescription drug monitoring programs access to information relating to
controlled substances dispensed in California, including those dispensed through the United States
Department of Veterans Affairs, the Indian Health Service, the Department of Defense, and any other entity
with authority to dispense controlled substances in California.

(4) Upgrading the CURES PDMP so that it is capable of accepting the reporting of electronic prescription
data, thereby enabling more reliable, complete, and timely prescription monitoring.

Board staff is participating in development of the parameters for the new CURES computer system. They
are also involved in establishing a simplified mechanism by which pharmacists will be able to sign up for
CURES without having to have documents certified by notary publics as part of the approval process.

Discussion
Chair Veale reviewed and referenced the language provided in the meeting materials.

Virginia Herold stated the intent is to make a more user friendly Prescription Drug Monitoring Program and
advised the committee that the board will start collecting fees April 2014 consistent with the legislation.
Ms. Herold noted that an upgraded system is necessary to fully implement the provisions of SB 809.

Mr. Law underscored the need for the new system to be user friendly and was advised that board staff is
participating in the development along with the Department of Justice. Ms. Herold also noted that the DO)J
will also be seeking input from stakeholders on system requirements as part of the development effort for
the new system.

Chair Veale asked for public comment.
Darlene Fujimoto with the American Society of Consultant Pharmacists questioned whether the provisions

of SB 809 apply to nurses as well. Ms. Herold recommended that Dr. Fujimoto consult with the Board of
Registered Nursing.

5. Implementation Schedule for SB 493 (Hernandez, Chapter 469, Statutes of 2013)

Background
Senate Bill 493 establishes an “advanced practice pharmacist” category of licensure, allowing such

pharmacists to perform advanced patient care functions, such as to perform physical assessments; order
and interpret medication-related tests; refer patients to other providers; initiate, adjust, and discontinue
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medications under physician protocol or as part of an integrated system such as an ACO; and participate in
the evaluation and management of health conditions in collaboration with other providers.

Specifically: SB 493:
e Creates a new license category of Advanced Practice Pharmacist who may practice advanced
practice pharmacy within or outside a pharmacy (CA B&P 4016.5)
e Allows an APP to write or issue a prescription in specific settings under 4052.2(a)
(CA B&P 4040, 4051, 4076)
e Allows an APP to issue an order for controlled substances in specific settings (CA B&P 4060)
e Also, an APP may:
— Perform patient assessments
— Order and interpret drug therapy related tests
— Refer patients to other health care providers
— Participate in the evaluation and management of diseases and health conditions in
collaboration with other health care providers
— Initiate, adjust or discontinue drug therapy; must provide notification back to diagnosing
prescriber or enter info into patient record shared with the prescriber
— require registration with DEA for prescribing APP
— tests ordered by APP in coordination with and notification to patient’s diagnosing physician
(CA B&P Code section 4052.6 )

e APP Requirements:
— Hold an active CA pharmacist license — in good standing -- as a pharmacist
— File an application with the board & pay fee (5300 max)
— License good for 2 years, and will be linked to RPh renewal
— An additional 10 units of CE each renewal cycle is required in an area of practice relevant to
the pharmacist’s clinical practice (CA B&P 4210, 4233)

Regulations will be needed to implement multiple provisions in SB 493: for example

To qualify as an APP, a licensed pharmacist must possess 2 of the 3 below:

1. Earn certification in relevant area of practice (ambulatory care, critical care, geriatric, nuclear,
nutrition support, oncology, pediatric, pharmacotherapy, psychiatric practice recognized by ACPE or
another entity recognized by the board)

2. Complete postgraduate residency in accredited postgraduate institution where 50 percent of
experience includes direct patient care with interdisciplinary teams

3. Have provided clinical services to patients for at least one year under a collaborative practice
agreement or protocol with a physician, APP, a pharmacist practicing collaborative drug therapy
management, or health system (CA B&P 4210)

Additional provisions of the bill affect all pharmacists, including those who do not become licensed as APPs.
Some of these provisions will also require the board to implement regulations. Senate Bill 493:
e Allows a pharmacist to administer drugs and biological products that have been ordered by a
prescriber (CA B&P Code section 4052)
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e Allows a pharmacist to independently initiate and administer vaccines listed on routine
immunization schedules of the CDC for persons three years of age or older. To initiate
immunizations, a pharmacist must:

— complete an immunization training program endorsed by the CDC

— be certified in basic life support

— comply with all state and federal recordkeeping requirements, provide info to patient’s
primary care physician and into the CDPH’s immunization registry.

— Be able to initiate and administer epinephrine or diphenhydramine by injection (CA B&P
4052.8)

e Permits a pharmacist to furnish nicotine replacement products in accordance with a state treatment
protocol to be developed jointly by the Board and Medical Board, provided:

— Records are retained of drugs and devices furnished for at least 3 years so as to notify health
provides or monitoring of the patient

— The pharmacist notifies the patients primary care provider of drugs and devices furnished or
into a patient record -- the pharmacist must complete 1 hour of CE on smoking cessation
therapy biennially
(CA B&P sections 4052 and 4052.9)

e Permits a pharmacist to furnish self-administered hormonal contraceptives in accordance with a
state protocol developed by the Board and the Medical Board of California pursuant to the
guidelines of the CDC. (CA B&P Section 4052, 4052.3)

e Also a pharmacist may furnish prescription medications not requiring a diagnosis recommended by
the CDC for individuals traveling outside the US (travel medications) (CA B&P section 4052)

The California Pharmacists Association and California Society of Health System Pharmacists have joined
together with some of their members and multiple California schools of pharmacy to develop components
to comply with some of the provisions in SB 493. The board was not involved in this process.

Discussion

Chair Veale reviewed the agenda item. Ms. Veale iterated that the board will work with the public and
stakeholders. Ms. Herold advised the committee that the Medical Board will also have a designee to assist
with the development of some protocols required by this legislation. Ms. Herold suggested that a draft
protocol could be provided for the Medical Board for consideration during is May 2014 Board Meeting if the
draft is ready.

Ms. Veale suggested that the board identified existing protocols and programs that may already exist, to
leverage that information and identified the Centers for Disease Control as one possible source.

The committee also heard a brief presentation by representatives of CPhA and CSHP. The presentation
discussed a collaborative effort being undertaken by the two associations to develop a certificate program
that would comply with the requirements of SB 493. The representatives also expressed interest in working
with the board to develop the necessary elements to achieve full implementation of SB 493.

Several meeting attendees also expressed interest in working with the board.
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Chair Debbie Veale requests that the committee reconvene early February 2014 to allow groups the
opportunity to bring forward protocols for committee review as well as allow board staff to complete
research.

6. Implementation Schedule for SB 294 (Emmerson, Chapter 565, Statutes 2013)

Background
SB 294 is the board’s sponsored legislation to strengthen the board’s ability to regulate specialized

pharmacies within and outside California that compound sterile drug products — that is, those that are
compounded for injection, administration to the eye or for inhalation. The provisions provide for
implementation of the requirements beginning 7/1/2014.

Discussion

Chair Veale provided an overview of the agenda item. Virginia Herold informed the committee that the
board has a go live date of July 1, 2014. The board is not authorized to hire staff or have the funds to
implement SB 294. The board is working with legal for implementing. Board inspectors have undergone
training for at least 53 hours. The board is still completing inspections as this continues to be a public health
issue. The board would like to have the hospitals licensed as soon as possible or they will not be able to
compound as of 7/1/14 without a board license for sterile compounding. If they are licensed as outsourcing,
they will still need to be licensed with the board.

Chair Veale asked for public comment.

Public comment on this item included an inquiry about the board’s ability to inspect nonresident sterile
compounding pharmacies that are shipping products in to California. Ms. Herold advised all present that the
board will be inspecting such facilities.

7. New Pharmacy Technician Accreditation Commission

Relevant Statutes
4202. Pharmacy Technician: License Requirements for Education, Experience; Board Regulations;
Criminal Background Check; Discipline
(a) The board may issue a pharmacy technician license to an individual if he or she is a high school
graduate or possesses a general educational development certificate equivalent, and meets any
one of the following requirements:
(1) Has obtained an associate's degree in pharmacy technology.
(2) Has completed a course of training specified by the board.
(3) Has graduated from a school of pharmacy recognized by the board.
(4) Is certified by the Pharmacy Technician Certification Board.
(b) The board shall adopt regulations pursuant to this section for the licensure of pharmacy
technicians and for the specification of training courses as set out in paragraph (2) of subdivision (a).
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Proof of the qualifications of any applicant for licensure as a pharmacy technician shall be made to
the satisfaction of the board and shall be substantiated by any evidence required by the board.

(c) The board shall conduct a criminal background check of the applicant to determine if an
applicant has committed acts that would constitute grounds for denial of licensure, pursuant to this
chapter or Chapter 2 (commencing with Section 480) of Division 1.5.

(d) The board may suspend or revoke a license issued pursuant to this section on any ground
specified in Section 4301.

(e) Once licensed as a pharmacist, the pharmacy technician registration is no longer valid and the
pharmacy technician license shall be returned to the board within 15 days.

1793.6. Training Courses Specified by the Board.

A course of training that meets the requirements of Business and Professions Code section 4202 (a)(2) is:
(a) Any pharmacy technician training program accredited by the American Society of Health-
System Pharmacists,

(b) Any pharmacy technician training program provided by a branch of the federal armed services
for which the applicant possesses a certificate of completion, or
(c) Any other course that provides a training period of at least 240 hours of instruction covering at
least the following:
(1) Knowledge and understanding of different pharmacy practice settings.
(2) Knowledge and understanding of the duties and responsibilities of a pharmacy
technician in relationship to other pharmacy personnel and knowledge of standards and
ethics, laws and regulations governing the practice of pharmacy.
(3) Knowledge and ability to identify and employ pharmaceutical and medical terms,
abbreviations and symbols commonly used in prescribing, dispensing and record keeping of
medications.
(4) Knowledge of and the ability to carry out calculations required for common dosage
determination, employing both the metric and apothecary systems.
(5) Knowledge and understanding of the identification of drugs, drug dosages, routes of
administration, dosage forms and storage requirements.
(6) Knowledge of and ability to perform the manipulative and record-keeping functions
involved in and related to dispensing prescriptions.
(7) Knowledge of and ability to perform procedures and techniques relating to
manufacturing, packaging, and labeling of drug products.

Authority cited: Sections 4005, 4007, 4038, 4115 and 4202, Business and Professions Code. Reference:
Sections 4005, 4007, 4038, 4115 and 4202, Business and Professions Code.

Background
The board has learned from an outside source that the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists

(ASHP) and the Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education (ACPE) have announced their collaboration to
accredit pharmacy technician education and training programs, beginning in late 2014. The collaboration
will result in the creation of the Pharmacy Technician Accreditation Commission (PTAC), which will be tasked
with assuring and advancing the quality of pharmacy technician education and training programs.

The PTAC will conduct document reviews and site surveys and advise the ASHP/ ACPE boards of directors,
which will then agree on final accreditation actions. The establishment of the PTAC expands upon ASHP’s 31-

10



Licensing Committee Meeting Minutes
December 11, 2013

year history as a national accrediting body for pharmacy technician training programs. The ACPE also
accredits educational programs involving pharmacy — specifically all schools of pharmacy in the US are
accredited by ACPE.

According to information provided to the board, there are currently 258 programs in the ASHP accreditation
process. Through the work of its Commission on Credentialing, ASHP will continue to accredit pharmacy
technician programs until the PTAC officially begins its work in the fall of 2014. ASHP will also provide
ongoing accreditation support for the PTAC.

The formation of the new review structure will require the need for the board to reevaluate and possibly
modify its regulation at 16 California Code of Regulation section 1793.6 regarding approved courses of
training for pharmacy.

Discussion
Chair Veale provided an overview of the agenda item.

No public comment was provided.
Chair Veale requested that this item be placed on a future meeting agenda of this committee for staff to

provide more information on the new ASHP technician program approval process so the committee can
make a decision about how to proceed.

8. Pharmacy Compounding Accreditation Board (PCAB) Pharmacy Technician Certification
Requirement Changes

Background
The board has been advised by the Pharmacy Compounding Accreditation Board that as a result of concerns

raised by their applicants regarding technician certification, the PCAB’s Standards Committee reviewed the
interpretation of PCAB Standard 1.20.

After review the Standards Committee recommended no change in Standard 1.20 to the PCAB Board of
Directors. Instead the recommendation was to continue with the current interpretation of Standard 1.20
and cancel the pending January 1, 2015, recommended change.

Consequently, a proposed requirement for pharmacy technician certification that had been slated to begin
on January 1, 2015, has been eliminated. Thus PCAB will continue with their current interpretation of
Standard 1.20 directing that pharmacy technicians will be certified or otherwise credentialed by an
appropriate certifying agency only when required by the state(s) in which they practice.

Discussion
Chair Veale provided an overview of the agenda item and determined that the proposed changes have been

eliminated.

No committee or public comment was provided.
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9. Competency Committee Report

California Practice Standards and Jurisprudence Examination for Pharmacists (CPJE)

Effective December 1, 2013, the board instituted a quality assurance review of the California Practice
Standards and Jurisprudence Examination for Pharmacists (CPJE). This means there will be a delay in the
release of all CPJE examination scores. This process is done periodically to ensure the reliability of the
examination. The board expects to release the scores in February 2014.

Examination Development
The Competency Committee workgroups continued to meet throughout 2013 for examination development.
Both Competency Committee workgroups met once during the fall to discuss examination development.

No additional committee or public comment was provided.

10. Licensing Statistics

Chair Veale provided a summary of some of the licensing statistics for July 2013-October 2013. During the
first four months of fiscal year, the board has received over 6,700 applications and issued over 5,600
licenses. The number of applications received has increased when compared to the same period last year by
about 7.6 percent. Additionally, there is a slight increase (0.8 percent) in the number of licenses issued.

No additional committee or public comment was provided.

11. Public Comment for Items Not on the Agenda

No public comment was provided.

Chair Veale adjourned the meeting at 1:02 p.m.
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