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To: Board Members

Subject: Consideration and Possible Adoption of Proposed Regulations to Add Title 16 CCR
sections 1730, 1730.1 and 1749 related to Advanced Practice Pharmacists

Attachment 2
Background:
In July 2015, staff initiated a formal rulemaking to add Title 16 CCR sections 1730, 1730.1, and
amend section 1749 related to the licensing requirements for advanced practice pharmacist. At
the February 2016 board meeting, the board adopted the final regulation text. The final
rulemaking file was submitted to the Office of Administrative Law (OAL) for final review on June
3, 2016.

At the July 2016 board meeting, DCA Staff Counsel Laura Freedman explained OAL found
problems and disapproved the regulation due to a lack of clarify and ambiguity in the language.
OAL’s main issue was with the language that prohibits experiential hours earned under a
collaborative practice agreement to also be used to fulfill the criteria for the residency program.

OAL also raised two minor concerns regarding the rulemaking file. The first issue was the
board’s requirement that the application be submitted under penalty of perjury. The second
issue OAL raised was the board defining one-year as 1,500 hours. Each of the requirements will
be easily explained to OAL, and would be remedied by supplementing the Initial Statement of
Reasons (ISR) to explain the board’s rational behind each of the two requirements.

Ms. Freedman drafted modified language to address the clarity issue raised and reviewed the
text with the board. The board approved the “Draft Third Modified Text” as provided at the July
2016 board meeting. The board approved board staff to initiate a 15-day comment period. The
board initiated a 15-day comment period for the addition of documents to the rulemaking file
and third modified text. The 15-day comment period began August 12, 2016, and will end
August 27, 2016. Board staff will bring to the board meeting comments with staff
recommendations.

At this Meeting
The board will have the opportunity to discuss the regulation, the comment(s) received and

determine what course of action it wishes to pursue. Among its options:
1. Adopt the regulation as approved at the July 2016 Board meeting
2. Amend the regulation to address the concerns expressed by stakeholders and notice the
modified text for a 15 day comment period.

The Attachment 2 contains the Draft Third Modified Text that was noticed on August 12, 2016.
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Title 16. BOARD OF PHARMACY
Third Modified Text

Changes made to the originally proposed language in the first modified text are shown by

language. (Additionally, the modified text is listed in red for color printers.)

Changes made to the proposed Ianguage in the second modified text are shown by deuble
for deleted language and bold and double underline for
added Ianguage (Addltlonally the modified text is listed in blue for color printers.)

Changes made to the proposed Ianguage in this third modified text are shown by geuble-
for deleted language and hold wavy underline for
added Ianguage (Add|t|onaIIy, the modified text is listed in purple for color printers.)

Proposal to add new Article 3.5 of Division 17 of Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations and
a new Article title as follows:

Article 3.5. Advanced Practice Pharmacist

Proposal to add §1730 of Article 3.5 of Division 17 of Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations
as follows:

§1730 Acceptable Certification Programs

The board recognizes the pharmacy patient care certification programs that are accredited by the
National Commission for Certifying Agencies for purposes of satisfying the requirements in
Business and Professions Code section 4210, subdivision_(a)(2)(A).

Note: Authority cited: Sections 4005 and: 4210 ane—4409 Business and Professions Code.
Reference: Sections48526-4210-a56-4409 Business and Professions Code.

Proposal to add §1730.1 of Article 3.5 of Division 17 of Title 16 of the California Code of
Regulations as follows:

1730.1 Application Requirements for Advanced Practice Pharmacist Licensure

Dractlce pharmacist licensure must satisfy two of the following SubseCtIOné#l%heﬁs

£ (1) Demonstrate Dossessmn ofa current certification as sDec1f1ed in Business and
by providinge

either:

£5 (A).A copy of the certification award that includes the name of the
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applicant pharmacist, the area of specialty and date of completion, or

£2+-(B) A letter from the certification program confirming the award of the
certification that includes the name of the applicant pharmacist, the area of
specialty and the date of completion.

£} (2) Demonstrate completion of a postgraduate residency earned in the United States

through an accredited postgraduate institution as specified in Business and Professions
Code section 4210 ivisi oo by providinge either:

£5 (A)A copy of the residency certificate awarded by the postgraduate institution

that includes the name of the applicant pharmacist, the area of specialty, and

dates of participation and completion, or

£2-(B)_A letter of completion of a postgraduate residency, signed by the dean or
residency program director of the postgraduate institution and sent directly
to the board from the postgraduate institution, that lists the name of the

applicant pharmacist, the area of specialty, and_the dates of participation

£e3-(3) Demonstrate that experience earned under a collaborative practice agreement or
rotocol requir Busin nd Professions Code section 4210, subdivision
(a)(2)(C), has been earned within 10 years of the time of application for advanced practice
pharmacist licensure. Additionally, the one year of experience must se-cempesed-oft
includeno fewer than 1,500 hours of experience providing clinical services to patients=ase

I
mustbeearnedwithinfour consecutivo wears The experience earned under a collaborative

practice agreement or protocol must include initiating, adjusting, modifying or and
discontinuing drug therapy of patients as authorized by law. An applicant shall
demonstrate possession of experience by providing both of the following:

£ (A).A written statement from the applicant attesting under penalty of
perjury that he or she has:
£A3 (i) Earned the clinical experience within the required time
frame; an
£B5 (ii)_Completed the required number of hours of experience providing

clinical services to patients, as specified in Hais-sgbdivsiaon subsection
) - - ) -

SAL G I SEI I J RS APE BRI LI SE NI I,

£ (NThe applicant shall provide a copy of the collaborative practice

agreement or protocol.
i(]1)If a copy of the collaborative practice agreement or protocol
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is not available, the applicant shall provide a description of the
collaborative practice agreement or protocol, including
examples of the clinical services the applicant provided to
patients.
£2 (B)_A written statement from the supervising practitioner, program director or
health facility administrator attesting under penalty of perjury that the
applicant has completed atleast ege=ear=1,500 hours of experience
providing clinical services to patients. For an applicant whotaat cannot

(b). The experience an applicant offers to demonstrate compliance with one of the three
criteria in subsection (a) above may not also be used to satisfy another of the criteria.

Note: Authority cited: Sections 4005; and 4210 , Business and Professions Code.
Reference: Sections 4052.1, 4052.2- and=48526- 4210 ane-4409, Business and Professions
Code.

Proposal to amend §1749 of Article 6 of Division 17 of Title 16 of the California Code of
Regulations to read as follows:

§1749 (Fee Schedule)

The fees for the issuance and renewal of licenses, certificates, and permits, and the penalties to be
and 4400 of the Business and Professions Code are hereby fixed as follows:

(a) The fee for the issuance of a pharmacy license is five hundred twenty dollars ($520). The fee for
the annual renewal of pharmacy license is three hundred twenty-five dollars ($325). The penalty
for failure to renew is one hundred fifty dollars ($150).

(b) The fee for the issuance of a temporary license is three hundred twenty-five dollars ($325).
(c) The fee for the issuance of a pharmacy technician license shall be one hundred five dollars
($105). The fee for the biennial renewal of a pharmacy technician license shall be one hundred
thirty dollars ($130). The penalty for failure to renew a pharmacy technician license is sixty-five
dollars ($65).

(d) The fee for application and examination as a pharmacist is two hundred sixty dollars ($260).
(e) The fee for regrading an examination is one hundred fifteen dollars ($115).

(f)(1) The fee for the issuance of an original pharmacist license is one hundred ninety-five dollars
($195).

(2) The fee for application of an advanced practice pharmacist license is three hundred dollars
($300). Ifgranted, there is no fee for the initial license issued, which will expire at the same time

the pharmacist’s license expires.
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(2) The fee for the biennial renewal of an advanced practice pharmacist license is three

hundred dollars ($300). The penalty fee for failure to renew is one hundred fifty dollars

($150). The fees in this paragraph are in addition to the fees required to renew the

pharmacist’s license as specified in paragraph 1.

(h) The fee for the issuance or renewal of a wholesaler’s license is seven hundred eighty dollars
($780). The penalty for failure to renew is one hundred fifty dollars ($150).

(i) The fee for the issuance or renewal of a hypodermic license is one hundred sixty five dollars
($165). The penalty for failure to renew is eighty two dollars fifty cents ($82.50).

(j) The fee for the issuance of a license as a designated representative pursuant to Section 4053 of
the Business and Professions Code shall be three hundred thirty dollars ($330). The fee for the
annual renewal of a license as a designated representative shall be one hundred ninety-five dollars
($195). The penalty for failure to renew is ninety seven dollars and fifty cents ($97.50).

(k) The fee for the issuance or renewal of a license as a nonresident wholesaler is seven hundred
eighty dollars ($780). The penalty for failure to renew is one hundred fifty dollars ($150).

(1) The fee for an intern pharmacist license is one hundred fifteen dollars ($115). The fee for
transfer of intern hours or verification of licensure to another state is thirty dollars ($30).

(m) The fee for the reissuance of any permit, license, or certificate, or renewal thereof, which must

be reissued because of change in the information, other than name change, is one hundred dollars
($100).

(n) The fee for evaluation of continuing education courses for accreditation is forty dollars ($40) for
each hour of accreditation requested.

(o) The fee for the issuance of a clinic license is five hundred twenty dollars ($520). The fee for the
annual renewal of a clinic license is three hundred twenty-five dollars ($325) . The penalty for
failure to renew is one hundred fifty dollars ($150).

(p) The fee for the issuance of a nongovernmental license, or renewal of a license, to compound
sterile drug products is seven hundred eighty dollars ($780). The penalty for failure to renew is one
hundred fifty dollars ($150).

(q) The fee for the issuance of a license as a designated representative for a veterinary food-animal
drug retailer shall be three hundred thirty dollars ($330). The fee for the annual renewal of a
license as a designated representative shall be one hundred and ninety-five dollars ($195). The
penalty for failure to renew is ninety-seven dollars and fifty cents ($97.50).

(r) The fee for a veterinary food-animal drug retailer license is four hundred twenty-five dollars
($425). The annual renewal fee for a veterinary food-animal drug retailer is three hundred twenty-
five dollars ($325). The fee for the issuance of a temporary license is two hundred and fifty dollars
($250). The penalty for failure to renew is one hundred twenty-five dollars ($125).

(s) The fee for the issuance of a retired pharmacist license shall be forty-five dollars ($45).

(t) The fee for the issuance of a centralized hospital packaging pharmacy license shall be $800. The
annual renewal fee for a centralized hospital packaging pharmacy license shall be $800. The penalty
for failure to renew is one hundred fifty dollars.

Note: Authority cited: Sections 163.5 and 4005, Business and Professions Code. Reference: Sections
163.5,4005,4110,4112(h), 4120, 4128.2,4196, 4200, 4210, 4400, 4401 and 4403, Business and
Professions Code.
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