DEPARTMENT OF CONSUMER AFFAIRS Title 16. Board of Pharmacy

Order of Adoption Continuing Education

Amend Section 1732.5 to Article 4 of Division 17 of Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations to read as follows:

§ 1732.5. Renewal Requirements for Pharmacists.

- (a) Except as provided in <u>Ssection 4234</u> of the Business and Professions Code and <u>Ssection 1732.6</u> of this Division, each applicant for renewal of a pharmacist license shall submit proof satisfactory to the <u>bB</u>oard, that the applicant has completed 30 hours of continuing education (CE) in the prior 24 months.
- (b) At least two (2) of the thirty (30) hours required for pharmacist license renewal ("required CE hours") shall be completed by participation in a Board provided CE course in Law and Ethics. At least one (1) hour of the required CE hours shall be completed by participating in a cultural competency course from an accreditation agency approved by the Board pursuant to section 1732.05, covering the specified content areas as required by section 4231 of the Business and Professions Code. Pharmacists renewing their licenses which expire on or after July 1, 2019, shall be subject to the requirements of this subdivision.
- (c) Pharmacists providing specialized patient-care services, as identified in subsections (c)(1)-(4) below, shall complete specialized CE (as part of the required CE hours) as follows:
 - (1) At least one (1) hour of approved CE specific to smoking cessation therapy, as required by section 4052.9 of the Business and Professions Code, if applicable.
 - (2) At least two (2) hours of approved CE specific to travel medicine, as set forth in section 1746.5 of this Article, if applicable.
 - (3) At least one (1) hour of approved CE specific to emergency contraception drug therapy, as required by Business and Professions section 4052.3, if applicable.
 - (4) At least one (1) hour of approved CE specific to immunizations and vaccinations, as set forth in section 1746.4 of this Article, if applicable.
- (d) Pharmacists who prescribe any Schedule II controlled substances (as defined in Health and Safety Code section 11055) shall complete at least one (1) hour of the required CE hours by participating in a Board approved CE course once every four (4) years on the risks of addiction associated with the use of Schedule II drugs, as required by section 4232.5 of the Business and Professions Code.
- (ee) All pharmacists shall retain their certificates of completion for four (4) years following completion of a continuing education course to <u>demonstrate compliance</u> with the provisions of this section.
- (f) "Board approved CE course" shall mean coursework from a provider meeting the requirements of section 1732.1.

NOTE: Authority cited: Section 4005, Business and Professions Code. Reference: Sections 4052.3, 4052.8, 4052.9, 4231, and 4232, and 4232.5, Business and Professions Code.

Add Section 1732.8 of Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations, to read as follows:

§ 1732.8. Renewal Requirements for Pharmacy Technicians.

- (a) As a condition of license renewal, a pharmacy technician licensee shall submit proof satisfactory to the Board that the applicant has completed at least one (1) hour of continuing education (CE) in a cultural competency course covering the specified content areas, from an accreditation agency approved by the Board pursuant to section 1732.05, during the two years preceding the application for renewal, as required by section 4202 of the Business and Professions Code. All pharmacy technicians shall retain their certificate of completion for four (4) years from the date of completion of the cultural competency course to demonstrate compliance with the provisions of this section.
- (b) If an applicant for renewal of a pharmacy technician license submits the renewal application and payment of the renewal fee but does not submit proof satisfactory to the Board that the licensee has completed the cultural competency course as required, the Board shall not renew the license and shall issue the applicant an inactive pharmacy technician license.
- (c) If, as part of an investigation or audit conducted by the Board, a pharmacy technician fails to provide documentation substantiating the completion of CE as required in subsection (a), the Board shall cancel the active pharmacy technician license and issue an inactive pharmacy technician license in its place. A licensee with an inactive pharmacy technician license issued pursuant to this section may obtain an active pharmacy technician license by submitting renewal fees due and submitting proof satisfactory to the Board that the pharmacy technician has completed the required CE.

NOTE: Authority cited: Sections 462 and 4005, Business and Professions Code. Reference: Sections 462 and 4202, Business and Professions Code.