Welcome to the California State Board of Pharmacy
The Board of Pharmacy protects and promotes the health and safety of Californians by pursuing the highest quality of pharmacist’s care and the appropriate use of pharmaceuticals through education, communication, licensing, legislation, regulation, and enforcement.
Alert: E-prescribing Laws Take Effect January 1, 2022
Licensees of the California State Board of Pharmacy are subject to the e-prescribing requirements established by Assembly Bill (AB) 2789 (Wood, 2018). Beginning January 1, 2022, all prescriptions issued by a licensed healthcare practitioner to a California pharmacy must be submitted electronically. In addition, all California pharmacies must have the capability to receive prescriptions electronically. For more information on this law, please see the AB 2789 Bulletin. Pharmacies can get answers to questions about complying with the law at Electronic Data Transmission Prescriptions (E-Prescriptions) – Frequently Asked Questions.
Important Information for Consumers
Important Information for Licensees
- Prescribers with Restricted Authority to Prescribe Controlled Substances
- CURES – New Requirements
- Frequently Asked Questions
- Health Services Registry – Licensee Sign-Up
- Scam Calls Alert (PDF)
- Declared States of Emergency
- Congratulations to California’s 40-Year Pharmacists!
- More Important Information for Licensees
ALERT: EFFECTIVE APRIL 1, 2021 – CURES Fee Increase
Effective April 1, 2021, the Controlled Substance Utilization Review and Evaluation System (CURES) fee will increase from $6 to $11 annually for a period of two years. The increase will be applied to licenses expiring on or after July 1, 2021, and is assessed at the time of license renewal on specified licensees of the California State Board of Pharmacy that prescribe, order, administer, furnish, or dispense Schedule II, Schedule III, Schedule IV, or Schedule V controlled substances.
Most licensees will see a $22 CURES fee due to the biennial renewal cycle. The fee covers the reasonable regulatory costs of the Department of Justice for operating and maintaining CURES, a critical element in the state’s effort to address the growing danger of opioid addiction stemming from prescription drug abuse.
For more information about CURES, visit https://oag.ca.gov/cures.
- Ask an Inspector
- Change of Address/Name
- Continuing Education
- Enforcement Actions
- Laws and Regulations
- License Renewal by Mail
- License Renewal Online
- License Search
- Publications and Reports
- Recall Notices
- The Script - Archive
- Security Prescription Forms Reported Stolen or Fraudulent
- Subscriber Alerts - Sign Up for Email Notifications